We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Value for a Family and what a location! Definately coming back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Havana Villas

Save Saved
You added Havana Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Havana Villas
Firth Street, Emu Point, Albany, Western Australia 6330, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
One night FREE
Ranked #26 of 35 Specialty lodging in Albany
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Value for a Family and what a location! Definately coming back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

As a family with 2 young kids, it can be hard to find somewhere nice to stay that doesn't cost the earth. The off peak rate for our chalet was $130 per night for 4 of us and gave us the most comfortable queen bed and 4 single bunks. The kitchen/dining/lounge area is clean and has heaps of plates, cups, glasses etc, not just the 4 of each we have been given at other places. A good sized fridge/freezer, full oven and microwave allowed us to cook some of our meals instead of having to eat out all the time. The bathroom was spotless. Although the chalets are getting on a bit, they don't feel dingy and old and for $130 per night, were better than we were expecting! There were LOTS of blankets and pillows so we weren't having to ask for more when the temperature dropped and the heating took the chill off too.

The hosts were just fantastic and made us feel right at home. Nothing was too much bother and they made sure we had everything we needed. There were lots of bbqs and laundry facilities too.

The location is just stunning. We had great views from our chalet of the bay and have been told that you can see whales from the shore during whale watching season. Just magic. Only a 5 min trip into the town centre and the list of things to do including the prices was an added bonus and helped us with planning our days.

We were all very impressed with Havana Villas and will definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the chalets with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    15
    6
    5
    2
See reviews for
19
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

For what we paid, it is an excellent accommodation.
We paid pricier self contained in Fremantle/Perth with mediocre facilities.

The front desk manager was very friendly and helpful, made us feel welcome after a long drive.
The place was very clean. Location is very quiet (that was what we are looking for), and the atmosphere was really cool, magnificent south coast. Coming from the tropical country, we wanted something different from what we have back home, and we found it here. So peaceful. Perth and Fremantle were good, but far too commercial.

2 night stay was not enough. Hope to be back again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2010

HV is in a great location, its near the beach and good for fishing and swimming outdoors type leisure. If you wanted to stay closer to Albany City this isnt the right accom for you, it is a good 10 - 15 mins away from the City Centre. The rooms are pretty basic, a couple of bunk style beds and 1 queen bed. The decor is dated but it isnt too bad. This is great if you are going in a group of 6+ people as the company is most important! Finally, bathrooms are adequate but nothing fantastic.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

Emu Point is 3km from the Albany CBD Quiet spot overlooking Middleton Beach Whales came in close to shore in the evenings and hung around - better than doing a whale tour !

Cabin was roomy & comfortable (nothing flash) & staff friendly

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
styrx
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2010

We stayed for 2 nights and we were delighted that the place was nice, although it is dated but the owner took effort to make it as comfortable as possible. The place was very clean and we were very impress with the kitchen utensils, everything you need is provided and new.
The location was also very good, easily accessible to everything including the town and sights. There is a parking area for the car right in front of the chalet. In terms of the price, i think its very good value for what you are getting.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

Recently I took my partner and myself on my first trip to Albany. We chose Havana Villas not only for the excellent location but also for the scenic views and serenity, it turned out it was also very central to tourist spots as well. The cabins were immaculately clean and everything you have at home was provided or was available for the asking. The managers/caretakers were more than helpful in providing any information we inquired about. I have been on many trips around the country and have stayed in many hotels along the way but I found our stay would have to have been one of the most enjoyable and relaxing times I have ever had. I would thoroughly recommend Havana Villas to anyone. It affordable, clean and would serve families who are on a tight budget but need a holiday excellently. I cannot praise the managers enough they certainly run the villas with the utmost care and consideration to their patrons. I work in a mining industry and to have a little piece of paradise not so far from Perth to escape to is wonderful.....We will definately return and stay there again .

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

Stayed for 3 nights and didn't want to leave. Comfortable accomodation with everything you need. Great view of the ocean from the cabin we were in, Fantastic people, very friendly and helpful. Would definately stay again

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Havana Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Havana Villas

Address: Firth Street, Emu Point, Albany, Western Australia 6330, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Albany
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 35 Specialty lodging in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kevan & Julie Wallis, along with Diane and Ben, invite you to stay in one of our 17 fully self-contained chalets. Escape the noisy traffic on the highway and come and fall asleep to the sounds of the ocean rolling in - we are only 80m from the beach. Situated in a peaceful garden setting, just 80m from magnificent Emu Beach and a comfortable stroll from the world-class Middleton Bay. The beautiful beachside cycle/walking path starts almost at our doorstep. A large range of bicycles are available for hire on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Havana Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Havana Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.