We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jazz fingers happy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shanghai Moon Restaurant

Shanghai Moon Restaurant
90 Frederick Steet, Albany, Western Australia 6330, Australia
+(61)08 9847 4764
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 84 Restaurants in Albany
Price range: $5 - $26
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Vegetarian, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Jazz fingers happy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Omg fantastic place highly recommend it for a night out.
Food is defiantly value for money had to take extras home it was that good.
Friendly staff which have great sense of humor,welcoming personality. Kid friendly, and felt like I wasn't getting rushed out the door! Defenantly coming back for more, this time bringing my mates.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    10
    2
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“2 minute noodles?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We purchased take away beef and black bean and beef singapore noodles on the long weekend. It was it was all so flavorless and had such a lack of ingredients, The beef and black bean actually made me involuntarily wince a few times, and the noodles tasted like 2 minute noodles, we tried adding salt but it all ended up in the bin.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Absolutely the Best Chinese ever!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We dined at this newly re-furbished restaurant for the first time when the other place closed for a week. Well, all we can say is "STUNNING CHINESE!"
Atmosphere: 10/10... The baby Grand is a nice touch.
Service: 10/10... Non intrusive, polite and the girl seemed well versed in the menu.
Food: 11/10... Fresh "Asian" vegies, great contrast in flavors (esp the Sichuan Beef!!)
Value: 10/10... Speaks for itself, and they have Yum Cha too!!

Overall, an outstanding experience that we all will definately return for, again & again!!
Thank you Shanghai Moon!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wodonga
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“W.A. visitors dining for 1st time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Suggested by our accommodation we found the food quite good and well priced. Service was somewhat up and down.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don't bother!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

No idea how to steam a dumpling or warm up pancakes to serve with the duck! One of our all time favourite dishes, Szechuan beef, doesn't exist here. What we ordered was anything but Szechuan and the "beef" was dry, tough and coated in "something" and then doused with sesame seeds! Disgusting!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shanghai Moon Restaurant also viewed

Albany, Western Australia
Albany, Western Australia
 
Albany, Western Australia
Albany, Western Australia
 

Been to Shanghai Moon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shanghai Moon Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.