We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost eerie!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Albany Wind Farm

Albany Wind Farm
Sand Patch Road | Great Southern Region, Albany, Western Australia 6330, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 54 things to do in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Almost eerie!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

You get quite close to the wind turbines and it is amazing just how big they are up close! There is a walk up to a beautiful lookout from where you can see all of the turbines and a great view along the coast. We also saw para gliders making the most of the wind currents. There are informative posters on the turbines and the local environment.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    92
    14
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
at sea
Level Contributor
159 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Wind turbines ... Up close and personal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

18 turbines that provide up to 80% of the city's electricity usage. You can get up close to the turbines and hear the whir of blades. There are several scenic walkways that meander through the bush providing great outlooks on the Southern Ocean.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooroolbark, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Palce to see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

If you've ever wanted to get close to a wind turbine, then this is for you. You dont get just close, you walk right up to one of the amazing 12. What a buzz :)

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Spectacular board walk along the cliff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

The towers are majestic and the view is amazing, definitely worth a walk along the timber board walk with a view off the cliffs in the distance

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wind farms can be attractive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

I like the wind farm because to me it is an attractive sort of sculpture and yet it is helping the area
as it gives us electricity. When it was first built a lot of people did not like it but I must admit I was fascinated, whether the were humming busily or just still, they looked majestic. Go and see for yourself - I hope you love them

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Albany Wind Farm also viewed

 
Albany, Western Australia
Albany, Western Australia
 

Been to Albany Wind Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albany Wind Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.