We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ Disappointed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Nippers Cafe

Nippers Cafe
304 Two Peoples Bay Rd, Albany, Western Australia, Australia (Formerly The Old Marron Farm)
0898464239
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 84 Restaurants in Albany
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“ Disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Waited so long and we ve been expecting too much.. and it taste like prawn.. no special and expensive.. and not enough grrrrr...

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albanymarronfarm, Manager at Nippers Cafe, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thats a first for us, you must not be a crustacean lover, hope you find some grrr further on in your trip
All the best the Old Marron Farm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    8
    1
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Worth the drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

We've been here a few times, as it's a must do when we're in Albany. This time we visited the animal/bird park and then we just had coffee and cake, which were both delicious. Previously we've had lunch here, and it's always been fresh and tasty and outstanding. The cake was so good this time, that a couple of days later we considered going back just for more but decided that not going into the animal/bird park as well would be unfair on our 8 year old.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The place to stop after being at the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stopped off at Nippers after visiting Two Peoples Bay. Although we only had coffee and cake, it was so nice to sit outside in the shade and watch the kangaroos and the emu (who really wanted to join us :-) Cake was so nice and fresh and the coffee was great.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Place to spent the afternoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Visited Nippers Cafe with 3 other adults and we had a brilliant time. We paid to feed the animals which I would recommend even if you don't have children with you as long as you like animals, we came across a whole variety including various breeds of chickens and other birds, kangaroos, emus, a horse, donkey and llama, a large pig and of course marrow and yabbies. Our time with the animals passed very quickly though you can stay as long as you like.

We had lunch after and went for the famous Farmhouse platter with yabbies, marron, a whole smoked trout, salad, fresh poppy-seed bread and crackers with feta, marinated octopus and fruit. Everything tasted like it was freshly cooked and made with care. We also ordered a vegetarian pizza and the potato wedges with sour cream and sweet sauce which was so-o good, probably one of the best I ever had. We ended on a very good note with flat whites and a sticky-date pudding and chocolate and beetroot cake with cream - all home-made, large servings and very tasty.

The cafe has indoor and outdoor seating in a relaxed environment and we ended up spending around 2 and a half hours on site. I would also recommend that you allow about 30 mins for the food to arrive after ordering, it's a very minor negative for very good food and otherwise excellent service.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trafford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Try something new-Marron and Yabbies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Marron is served here in various guises grilled, bbq'ed, in a pizza and with salad to name but a few. Dining area is shielded with mesh to keep out the flies and food is nicely presented and served. Cafe set in pleasant garden surroundings, beside a bird park. No Wifi - which is proving usual for this trip. Come on WA join the rest of the world.
Marron and Yabbies taster dish 25$.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nippers Cafe also viewed

Albany, Western Australia
Albany, Western Australia
 
Albany, Western Australia
 

Been to Nippers Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nippers Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.