We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Francais” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lavender Cottage

Lavender Cottage
55 Peels Place, Albany, Western Australia, Australia
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 81 restaurants in Albany
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Superb small restaurant open for lunches and Friday evening
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“True Francais”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

We had a really good meal here. Scallops for entree were superb and the rabbit main course was extremely satisfying. BYO is nice. Service was prompt and gracious. In general a sublime evening in Albany. Be sure and book

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    30
    5
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mt barker
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic service & the food was amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

We had our first experience at this homely little restaurant last weekend for dinner. The food was amazing and the service very friendly. We felt very welcome here. The pâté was the best we have ever tried. And our two course meal delicious. There is a long wait between meals but we took a nice bottle of bubbly and enjoyed the ambience of the "cottage"
Highly recommended

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Delicious coffee and muffins”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We met a friend here for coffee and muffins which were delicious. The staff are friendly and the setting cosy.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Aussie 'old world' dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Lavender cottage is a traditional old style house converted into an intimate restaurant. The rooms are small and the tables quite close, however this only adds to the atmosphere, complemented by very good food and efficient French waiters and waitresses. We ate there as a present from our daughter who lives in Albany, enjoyed it greatly, and would recommend it to anyone staying in that area.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“What a Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Only open for dinner on a Friday night so if you're coming to the area book in advance (or get your hotel to). Also open for lunch everyday I believe but I've only been there for dinner.

A small menu, but everything is made on premise and made to order. So yes if you're expecting to get your meal in 10 minutes, don't come. If you're happy to enjoy the atmosphere (a beautiful fire in winter) and want amazing food. THEN COME HERE!

A beautiful little cottage which has been turned into a little restaurant with a lovely French couple I believe. The food was amazing and its a great menu where you can order either 2 or 3 courses.

Loved every minute of it, and will definitely go back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lavender Cottage also viewed

Albany, Western Australia
Albany, Western Australia
 
Albany, Western Australia
Albany, Western Australia
 

Been to Lavender Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lavender Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.