We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special experience - not to be missed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albany Whale Tours

Albany Whale Tours
5D Toll Place | Albany Waterfront Marina, Albany, Western Australia 6330, Australia
+61 8 9845 1068
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 22 Activities in Albany
Type: Boat Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Its not what you see when you are out on the water, it's what you feel during the experience...At Albany Whale Tours, we care about your needs and that your voyage with us is an experience that you will remember forever, whether you are on Sail-A-Way, our motor sailing catamaran or on Waverider, our high-speed fun ride vessel!
Perth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Special experience - not to be missed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had such a great trip with John and lovely lady whose name we have forgotten. I was nervous about getting sea sick and John taught us tricks to stay well- it worked! He commended me on how well I was doing while my partner ran around taking photos.
Had a very interesting and educational talk to begin with. Loved John's enthusiasm and humour. We saw a family of whales and they seemed at ease with us so close. What amazing creatures! Loved the fact that the boat used sails as well as motors to reduce noise and unsettling the whales (plus better for the environment).
The catamaran boat is also the best for rough seas and seasickness- we left the bay to chase whales and to see seals so I was grateful for this.
Great homemade scones and snacks!
What an experience! HIGHLY recommended.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forrest W, Owner at Albany Whale Tours, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
So glad to hear you beat the seasickness - I know John's tricks work, as my hubby used to get sick too and since doing as John said he is fine :-)
John is indeed not just a skipper of a boat, but an educator and entertainer with a passion for wildlife and it is always good to hear people enjoy and appreciate our passion and care for the whales and the environment.
Thanks so much for taking the time to write this review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    4
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
South Gippsland
1 review
“Excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

John has a passion for these beautiful creatures. He is so knowledgable and can communicate with the whales in a way that is almost unbelievable. Thank you for a great day. I would recommend it to all.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forrest W, Owner at Albany Whale Tours, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review of our whale tour. We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us and doubly delighted you have taken the time to let us know. We wish you happy travels and hope we see you again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whakatane, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wow, breathtaking and enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We were met by John (skipper) and directed on board. After a wee chat about do's and don'ts on board John spoke about his passion of the sea, whales in particular. We set off into the bay and didn't have to go far at all. What a privilege to share the bay with these magnificent creatures. John kept a running commentary about the whales in this bay, what they were more than likely up to, why they were doing what they were doing, and how to be in their space without being a threat to them.
So filled to the brim with good food i.e the locally made jam topped scones which kept coming, hot savouries, whale antics, anecdotes from John and great weather I can honestly say what a fantastic morning.
This trip was made all the more special because of John and his crew because of their personal
ethics about what is important in our environment, how we effect it, how we should care for it and how we should respond.
Another wee gem about this trip - upon booking we were asked about any dietary requirements, as it turned out being GF I was specially catered for. Thanks guys.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Windswept and Interesting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Thankyou John and Sunny for taking an extremely windy day (Friday 30th August) and turning it into a beautiful day to remember. Your knowledge of and passion for the whales is inspiring. We loved that you manage to balance respect for your passengers with respect for the whales in their natural environment. When a southern right swims up to, alongside and under the boat because it has chosen to interact, it truly creates a breathtaking experience. We saw and interacted with a huge number of whales. Thank you!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forrest W, Owner at Albany Whale Tours, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Wasn't it an incredibly energetic day!!! Wind, waves and whales. John returned quite exhilarated by his experience and excitedly showed the video footage to those landlubbers who did not venture out. Thank you for your review, and your wonderful company. Cheers Forrest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Close encounters with gentle giants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Another amazing morning on the water with John and crew aboard 'Sail Away'. I'm lucky enough to live close by, so have been out on numerous occasions over the past few years. Every trip is different and I've never failed to be moved, impressed and satisfied! The catamaran is wonderfully stable and comfortable, John's skills as skipper and his passion for what he does are legendary and of course the environment is just stunning! But to have whales approach the boat, check us out and swim alongside or go about their business of courting a mate or putting on a display of breaching and tail flicking - it is mesmerising! I'll be back!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forrest W, Owner at Albany Whale Tours, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Irene, thank you! Cheers, John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Albany Whale Tours also viewed

 
Albany, Western Australia
 

Been to Albany Whale Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albany Whale Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.