We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My kids would like to live here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Gaol and Museum

The Old Gaol and Museum
267 Stirling Terrace | Great Southern Region, Albany, Western Australia 6330, Australia
(08) 9841 5403
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 54 things to do in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“My kids would like to live here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Everytime we come to Albany we spend quite a lot of time at the museum. In the school holidays they have fantastic craft activities for the children, and everything is so reasonably priced, 50c for a plaster cast of a kiwi bird to paint, $2.50 to make a stained glass (paint) thingy.... and they are quite happy for you to stay as long as you like. Last winter when we came the theme was pirates, this year it was New Zealand culture. The staff obviously have a lot of fun coming up with the activities!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    33
    1
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Albany, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great for scare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

took childen night tour great laugh scarring them out of thair pants

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth WA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic view of history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Our family really enjoyed our visit here. We all learnt a heap and it didn't cost the earth! Gaol was exciting for the kids and our little girl absolutely loved the it's a small world doll house collection. Museum contained a huge amount of artifacts and photos of the early days in Albany. A must see!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It was closed 15 minutes early”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

We met the lady as she closed the door decided to leave 15 mins early as she hadn't had visitors for the last hour. She decided that 15mins wasn't long enough to see anything so she closed up.
Trouble is we weren't the only people who arrived after it closed so clearly if you have a few minutes left at the end of the day, sometimes you may want to just have a little look.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Interesting couple of hours”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Very well done. Interesting and many authentic artefacts. I could feel the desperation of the prisoners in some of the tiny cells.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Gaol and Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Old Gaol and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Gaol and Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.