We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Great Southern Distilling Company

Great Southern Distilling Company
252 Frenchman Bay Road, Albany, Western Australia 6330, Australia
08 9842 5363
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 54 things to do in Albany
Attraction details
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Damn good way to spend an afternoon. We started with tastings, had a great tasting plate for lunch, and then did the tour which was very interesting.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    13
    4
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yokine
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Western Australian Whisky”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Locally produced just out of Albany. The tasting area was well presented with the range of whiskeys, other spirits and some amazing products available for purchase. The whiskey (Limeburners) is winning prizes and is well worth the taste. Tastes attract a small charge and well worth it. Bring a driver there is plenty that you will like to try.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
50 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“the only whisky distillery in WA”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Not much to see since it is a very small outfit. It offers a good opportunity to purchase a bottle of Single Malt Whisky which is otherwise hard to find because if the small quantity output.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Whiskey with a wow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

What a very interesting experience this was. The young woman who guided us throughout was very knowledgable with lots of interesting little side stories that lifted the experience. And the whiskey,whew....don't be the driver. We also had a very enjoyable lunch before we set off.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quindalup, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“If you like a Quality whiskey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Let me start by saying that all the whiskeys on offer here for sale or tasting are of excellent quality, hand crafted limited batch. We also had a tasting plate which was really nice, nice location across from the water and the staff were really nice. One thing that did bother me though was that all the glasses were very dirty, they looked like they had been dried with toilet paper and there was plenty of what ever it was still stuck to the glasses... i pointed this out when i found a fairly large piece of it in my glass but it didnt seem to bother the lady... (who i think may have been the owner) besides this and it is a small issue that could be easily remedied with a little care... nice novel idea and something which the town of Albany could really do with more of..

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Southern Distilling Company also viewed

Albany, Western Australia
 
Albany, Western Australia
 

Been to Great Southern Distilling Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Southern Distilling Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.