We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding service but butter chicken too bland for us” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Origin Indian Tandoori Restaurant

Origin Indian Tandoori Restaurant
75 Frederick Street, Albany, Western Australia, Australia
089 841 1088
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 86 Restaurants in Albany
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Baulkham Hills, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Outstanding service but butter chicken too bland for us”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

Service here was fantastic - very friendly, happy to squeeze us in, great guidance on ordering. Butter chicken is normally a mild dish, but wait staff suggested we might want to spice it up as previous customers rated it pretty bland. Great suggestion as it needed more, even after lifting it to medium - we ended up mixing one of the dips in there too! Beef madras was excellent and entrees, dessert etc all fine and enjoyable.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    27
    7
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“great indian restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

great indian restaurant with buzz environment More upmarket than the other Indian restaurant in town However the food is excellent and service is good. We have returned several times

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth - Western Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Indian Food but the service.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We called into this restaurant on a Thursday evening around 8.30pm with the view that if it was booked for a dine in meal, we would get a takeaway. The waitress informed us that there was only a table for four available and as we were only two, they could not accommodate us. We were a bit taken back, however, we asked if we could order a take a way, this she said was not possible. We have dined here before, being locals and the food has always been great, however we will not go there again due to how we were treated.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Surprising service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We wanted to try this restaurant as we'd heard good things about it, but unfortunately when we entered the restaurant the front of house staff member said "I'm not taking any more bookings tonight." I suppose it was the equivalent of saying "we're fully booked" but it was 8pm and didn't seem busy, and without a sorry, or giving a reason or wait time, or even so much as looking at us, this blunt dismissal left us feeling a little unwelcome. I'm sure they'd just had a hard day and perhaps they didn't mean it badly but I can't say it's still on my bucket list.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Big menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Great selection of food on menu and staff who are very helpful. Food was delicious and we will definitely be going back next time we're in albany

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Origin Indian Tandoori Restaurant also viewed

Albany, Western Australia
Albany, Western Australia
 
Albany, Western Australia
Albany, Western Australia
 

Been to Origin Indian Tandoori Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Origin Indian Tandoori Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.