We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome food and atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 14 Peels Place

14 Peels Place
14 Peels Place, Albany, Western Australia, Australia
08 9847 4224
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 81 restaurants in Albany
Price range: $10 - $21
Cuisines: Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: At 14 Peels Place we serve hearty food made with local ingredients where possible. We try to give you value for money.We are the second cafe in WA to get the National Baking Industry's Baking Seal of Excellence. All our food is prepared on the premises by knowledgeable staff. We have a large range of Gluten Free cake and food. We serve a mild locally roasted coffee expertly made on our retro Bezzera Galatea coffee machine. Free WiFi is available. Over 350 cook books to browse. Handmade tea cozies for sale. Catering available. Picnics, platters or canapes. Daily specials and great breakfast and lunch menu. We are situated in a lovely heritage building and we have harbor views. We are child and wheelchair friendly.
albany
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“awesome food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

lovely fresh home made food, friendly staff and a great atmosphere. there are lots of crafts and curiositys to look at also.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    45
    20
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Love this cafe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Amazing food, great prices, friendly staff and service, and homely, relaxing atmosphere! We'll make this a choice place to go. 14 peels place has a wonderful reputation and never ceases to impress!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Came based on good reviews but underwhelmed.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

We were keen to come along for brunch based on the favorable reviews here on TA but found it all pretty average. That's not to say the food wasn't good, I just expected better after reading others comments.

We ordered a couple of bacon and egg rolls, coffees, milkshakes and cakes. All tasty but no better than any decent cafe.

Maybe I'm being a little harsh with my average rating, if I could pick somewhere between average and very good that's where this place would sit.

If you're passing by all means go in, but I wouldn't go out of my way to rush back.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“MY ABSOLUTE FAVE GLUTEN FREE CAFE IN ALBANY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

"Meals and memories are made here." My favorite with many gluten free options.
Gorgeous gluten free cakes too and not just many a Cafe's "go to" the predictable Orange and Almond Cake. Although Jeanne does that beautifully as well! Thank you Karin ( you are both real gems girls ) for a great cafe. Yummy menu. With the best burger in town and soup du jour just to mention a couple. Locally sourced produce.
A comfortable, chic place. Loads interesting books and magazines.
Love those quirky chandeliers. I love pretty things and this a pretty place. Karin also supports local artists, cottage craft and "Blessed Bikkies". Delightful staff. Always friendly. Especially my fave Alex. A lovely young man.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Yummo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Have been to several events where the food was provided by 14 Peels Place, has been Yummo every time!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 14 Peels Place also viewed

Albany, Western Australia
Albany, Western Australia
 
Albany, Western Australia
Albany, Western Australia
 

Been to 14 Peels Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 14 Peels Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.