We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Motel Le Grande

Motel Le Grande
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Albany
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Motel Le Grande
Save
You added Motel Le Grande to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   479 Albany Hwy, Albany, Western Australia 6330, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great for families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed here for a week over Christmas with our 2 children. I know this place is popular with corporate travellers but I think it was well suited for families also. We stayed in a 2 bedroom executive room which was very spacious, even with a portacot in our bedroom. Even the bathroom was roomy with a full tub plus separate shower and the small kitchenette had everything we needed to keep a few snacks / baby food on hand and to rustle up brekky before heading out. Yes, it's a little out of the town centre but if you have a car that's hardly a problem and we're only talking about a 10 minute drive. Room was serviced every day, even Christmas Day which I wasn't expecting. I think this place was great value, would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    19
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
18
Solo
0
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Because we've had a great time at this motel before, we stayed there again last weekend.We were upgraded to the spa suite which really was fantastic. The room has a massive tv, huge spa and then you get the little touches like bikkies, milk (as with all the rooms), air con/heating etc. As usual, it was exceptionally clean, comfortable and friendly. Nothing is too much trouble and it is worth every cent! Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: All rooms are really good, but pay the extra for the spa! If you are seeing the REAL Albany, you wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed 2 nights in a 2 bed room. Rooms were very generous in size, one queen bed seperated by door with own wardrobe and desk with the bathroom located inbetween so gave us the feeling of space more so. The other queen bed was located as you entered the room and was equipped with flat screen tv, small chairs and table and sink with bar fridge. They kindly provided us also with a microwave, basic crockery, toaster and kettle although we couldn't use the kettle due to it's shedding of bits in the water( we couldn't clean it as it had a fixed lid). I'm sure if we asked they would of brought us in a replacement as they were extremely helpful but we had a portable stove and kettle so used that instead.
The beds were very comfortable and the electric blankets worked well. The room was cleaned every day with fresh linen and soaps and coffee/tea/milk provided. The bathroom was large but could of done with an extra towel rack, there was certainly room for one, and a bit more bench space would of been handy. The hot water was a bit tricky, it was hard to get it just right.
Apparently there are rooms of the same sort as we stayed in but with a lounge area but when we tried to book they had been taken. We stayed with another couple so this would of been an advantage. We ate at their restaurant and the food was really enjoyable, I wish I had room for desert, the pork belly is recommended and we would eat there again on our next visit to Albany. We had two car bays allocated to our room which I found to be very generous and unusual in our travels as both couples had there own cars. The suggestion I would like to make to the motel is that they add another flat screen TV to the other room so that all guests staying there could watch when they wanted too.
We would stay here again.....

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the highway side if possible and if staying in a two bedroom room try and g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We have just stayed again at Le Grande and found it as brilliant as the first time! This time we upgraded to the spa suite and it is well worth it. Spotlessly clean, large, warm rooms with electric blankets and comfy bed-it has everything you could want. The room service breakfast is fantastic and HUGE! It's worth staying here and driving into town-it's only a few minutes. Good luck to the owners-they are so lovely and helpful-old fashioned service!

Room Tip: They're all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights in a 2 bedroom room. Rooms were a generous size with a sink, fridge and queen size beds. Had a great nights sleep in a comfy bed. It is a bit out of the main town but only a short drive away on the road in/out of town. Reception staff were very friendly and accommodating. Drinks are very reasonable from the bar for a night cap. Great value for a two bedroom room. Colleagues also stayed in a 3 bedroom room which was very convenient. All rooms were clean and I would stay here again.

Stayed February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

We had an enjoyable overnight stay in a superior room for $125p/n. The room was well appointed for this price, a good size and a high standard of cleanliness.

Upon booking we requested a room in a quiet location away from reception and the Albany Highway. Reception was very efficient in that they acknowledged upon check in our special request and allowed us to check out the room and if it wasn’t quiet enough they would relocate us… nice! When checking out they also asked was the room ok and quiet enough. We also noticed that this hotel did not seem to book everyone into the same block of rooms and room by room, they spread people out as it wasn’t full. This is great for people like me as I am a light sleeper and hear all the noises from adjoining rooms. I wish more hotels would do this!

When checking in they gave us a small carton of full cream fresh milk. The room had one packet of biscuits (2), the normal supplies of tea, coffee, kettle, wine glasses, fat screen TV mounted on the wall, small bar fridge, small dining setting and 2 chairs, a couple of arm chairs and a small coffee table, storage cupboard and shelves, pen and writing paper, parking out the front of your room. The bathroom is also quite big and the bedroom was very spacious.

Our stay would have been perfect and very quiet if it wasn’t for inconsiderate nearby neighbors who thought it was ok for the surrounding car park to be used as a play ground at 8am for their kids to drive motorised toys around.

Couple of things that could be improved, bed wasn’t very comfortable and some of the towels could do with replacing as they were not white. It is also odd to go into a motel and the toilet roll holder is like sheets of paper like you would find in a public toilet.

Reception staff are very efficient and friendly, we will stay here again.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper ask for a room away from the Albany Highway and Reception. Locals also u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Oz
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

Whether I need to visit Albany for work or pleasure, this is a great spot. Between the airport and the town it's convenient for trips to Mt Barker, Porongurups, Two People Bay and Denmark. Great spot to base yourself to explore the Great Southern area and the restaurant food is always brilliant.

Room Tip: Away from reception and the highway is safest in case of late arrivals or road trains overnight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
1.2 mi away
Ace Motor Inn
Ace Motor Inn
#6 of 13 in Albany
4.0 of 5 stars 145 reviews
4.0 mi away
Park Avenue Holiday Units
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Albany Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Emu Point Motel & Apartments
1.7 mi away
Country Comfort Amity Motel Albany
1.8 mi away
Banksia Gardens Resort Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Le Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Le Grande

Address: 479 Albany Hwy, Albany, Western Australia 6330, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Albany
Hotel Class:4 star — Motel Le Grande 4*
Number of rooms: 53

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel Le Grande, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.