We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value. Very friendly owners” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albany Discovery Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Albany Discovery Inn to your Saves list
Albany Discovery Inn
9 Middleton Rd, Albany, Western Australia, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 21 Albany B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value. Very friendly owners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Amenities very clean. Nice cafe outdoor setting very peaceful. Owners make you no 1 priority, very good to see. Clean and cosy rooms. Have to pay for heater though :( big hearty breakfast included in accomodation. Each room has a tv with big dvd variety (free) nice short walk to cafe and main beach. <5min drive to city centre. Would come back every time if floors and beds werent so creaky

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
discoveryinn6330, Owner at Albany Discovery Inn, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you so much for your review, we are very glad that you liked what we have to offer. Thankyou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    5
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
2
10
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bunbury, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Had 4 nights with a good friend there. Very clean, lovely old fashioned family-style service and hospitality. Pat and John's home cooking for breakfast (included in the tariff) and dinner was fantastic: try her home cooked cakes and desserts!! And beautiful Middleton Beach is just across the road. You can't beat this place for great value!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
discoveryinn6330, Owner at Albany Discovery Inn, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thank you for taking time to give us a review we are so glad you enjoyed your time here with us.
You are right we have Beautiful Middleton Beach only 100 meters from us.
We are still coming up with new Cake recipes this week Advocate Apple Cake
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

I found this to be good value for anyone just needing their basic needs attended.
Our room was clean and comfortable, the breakfast was generous and quickly made to order.
The little lunch room is well set up, and there are interesting curios around the walls and in the lounge.
However, the hostess was distinctly grumpy on almost every contact we had with her, leaving me to wonder what keeps her in the hospitality industry. The host was similarly humourless.
I do think it wouldn't hurt to refine their manner, and they would find the rewards are great in terms of recommendation.
I'd pay extra for a more welcoming reception.

Room Tip: Room Number 2 has a good location away from the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
discoveryinn6330, Owner at Albany Discovery Inn, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for giving us a review , we are really sorry that you found us to be grumpy and humorless, we love what we do otherwise we would not do it.It is very hard to keep Happy, Smiling and Cheerful for the 330 days we work a year and on show to everyone from 6am until late in the evening . But your comments have been taken on board and we will try harder next time.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Limited cooking facilities.
Has computer room that works OK but not set up to well.
Reasonable prices.
Food OK.
Beach within 100 metres.
I stayed 5 nights and found it perfectly acceptable. It wasnt great but given the location and price I was more then happy.

Room Tip: you need to get a room thats not next to the resteraunt/cafe if you need the sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
discoveryinn6330, Owner at Albany Discovery Inn, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, we do appreciate it.
We do not offer cooking facilitates, the little room we have set up just gives our guests an option of doing some simple things.
Once again Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sentani
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed at the guesthouse for four nights. The guest house was well kept and the decor was great providing a lovely atmosphere. I enjoyed Pat (the owners) and other staff's helpfulness. The breakfasts were great and good value for money. With the availability of inhouse guest use of a range of small appliances, we were able to do some of the extra food ourselves. The fact that the amenities were separate from the rooms was okay. We have four kids so we needed two rooms, a family room and another room. While I found the price of an ordinary room quite reasonable for this sort of accommodation, the cost of an additional family room made it as expensive as a 4 star hotel rather than a guesthouse.

Room Tip: Be wary of room located right behind the restaurant as it can get noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
discoveryinn6330, Owner at Albany Discovery Inn, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you for your feed back we are glad you enjoyed your stay, we were concerned however with the comment that could be as pricey as a 4 star hotel, as we endeavor to keep our prices competitive.So we took it upon our selves to look at our pricing structure and we found that at $45.00 per person per night, with complimentary breakfast and Tea Coffee Sugar and Milk on hand 24 hrs a day along with Internet and Wifi and DVD's we consider this to be good value. We did look at a 4 Star and the price would have been at least $1k more and breakfast for only 6 persons. As your group was 9 in total. Thank you again for your feed back it helps to keep us on our toes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights and found the place to be a lovely quaint guest house with plenty of atmosphere. Pat and John the owners and managers were a very lovely couple who were extremely helpful and gave some very good tourist tips. The food here is delicious and the type of good homestyle cooking that you need when away from home - you must have their Irish breakfast it's the best way to start the day. Overall very happy with service, price and location can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
discoveryinn6330, Owner at Albany Discovery Inn, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you Steve for your comments we were glad to have you stay with us.
We look forward to seeing you again if you come our way. We are always working on New Food Ideas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

A friend recommended it to me. When I arrived I was surprise by the level of service you get. Nice friendly owner new Manager (she was really helpful) very clean little guesthouse for very very reasonable prices. Initially I was going for one night but end up staying for two nights food was amazingly good. I would love to stay there for longer and enjoy some warm hospitality and some amazing food but sadly I did have to come back. But will love to go again soon

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
discoveryinn6330, Owner at Albany Discovery Inn, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are so glad that you enjoyed what we have to offer.
Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Avenue Holiday Units
0.2 mi away
BIG4 Middleton Beach Holiday Park
1.6 mi away
Dog Rock Motel
Dog Rock Motel
#8 of 13 in Albany
4.0 of 5 stars 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Emu Point Motel & Apartments
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Albany Motel & Apartments
2.1 mi away
BIG4 Emu Beach Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albany Discovery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albany Discovery Inn

Address: 9 Middleton Rd, Albany, Western Australia, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Albany
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Albany
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers and Agoda so you can book your Albany Discovery Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albany Discovery Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.