We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Best Accommodation on our Western Australian Holiday !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of HideAway Haven

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added HideAway Haven to your Saves list
HideAway Haven
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   21 Yokanup Road | Bayonet Head, Albany, Western Australia 6330, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 21 Albany B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Our Best Accommodation on our Western Australian Holiday !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

Maggie & Becki have purpose built this B & B accommodation and WOW what a fantastic job they have done. There is a wonderful balance between practicalities and aesthetics .The common areas are extremely well equipped and a pleasure to use. My husband & I bought seafood at the markets and the equipment provided was more than adequate to cook ourselves a lovely meal.The 3 rooms have lovely outlooks & to be able to watch the exquisite native birdlife from the B & B's large windows and balconies was a treat. There is a discreet, well thought out laundry , and the place is kept spotless. Maggie & Becki are superb hosts and I was spoilt on Mother's Day with a beautiful breakfast cooked by Maggie. Becki was extremely helpful with advice on the local area and places to eat out. If staying in the Albany area I would strongly recommend this to be your accommodation---you will be warmly welcomed and thoroughly spoilt by Maggie & Beckie.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hideaway_haven, Owner at HideAway Haven, responded to this review, September 24, 2011
Thank you so much for your awesome review on our HideAway. I enjoyed making a special Mother's Day breakfast for you and purchasing fresh flowers from our Farmers Market for your tray. We love it when guests appreciate and make full use of all our facilities. It was lovely meeting you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    6
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
135
1
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

My partner and I recently had the pleasure of staying at Hideaway Haven. Regularly frequenting holiday accommodation we have become used to a very high standard of service. Hideaway Haven excelled in all facets and expectations.
The accommodation was magnificent, the views second to none. This home was spotlessly clean and so inviting with its homeliness and rustic charm. Becki and Maggie were the perfect hostesses making us feel welcomed and so well taken care of. Despite advising they are not chefs the food was exceptional.
Our work commitments had been extremely hectic prior to our holiday and we had been advised that it would take at least three weeks to unwind from all the tension and stresses of the previous twelve months, well whoever said that had never been to Hideaway Haven!!
We will certainly be visiting Hideaway Haven again and intend to do this regularly and hope more people get the opportunity to do the same and relax and be spoilt in such a beautiful location by people who obviously love what they do, to be able to do it so brilliantly!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hideaway_haven, Owner at HideAway Haven, responded to this review, September 24, 2011
Thank you for your special review on our HideAway. We are thrilled that the love and passion we have for our Haven helped you relax and unwind from all the tension of your work commitments. We love it when our guests are reluctant to leave and anxious to return :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warnbro, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

Myself and my husband spent two awesome days at Hideaway Haven for our 5th Wedding Anniversary. Wow is all I can say!

Maggi and Becki were wonderful wonderful hosts and their gorgeous hideaway Haven was just beautiful. From the instant we were shown to our rooms we started to relax in the gorgeous surrounds. Our room had a balcony with beautiful views overlooking Oyster Harbour and beautiful bush and farm land and to be woken up in the morning to hear the birds chirping and the cow's mooing it feels like you are in the middle of no where.

Hideaway Haven provided everything and more what we were looking for in our romantic getaway for our Wedding Anniversary - The accomodation was top top class and the breakfast that we received the two mornings was outstanding - just sooooo yummy and beautifully presented - the hosts have put a lot of thought into their breakfast menu and it shows because it tasted amazing!

Oh and the jacuzzi on a cold wintery rainy night topped off an awesome experience - it was raining, it was cold but with a glass of wine - the jacuzzi was amazing - a great way to relax after a day exploring Albany!

Maggie and Becki - thanks from the bottom of our hearts for giving us such an amazing weekend away - one that we will remember for a long time - hopefully not too long because I know when we need to get away again you will be getting a call from us - you should both be very proud of all that you have achieved in this gorgeous B&B!

Ryan and Erica xx

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Busselton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

Friendly, informative hosts without being intrusive.
A great Breakfast menu and not the usual fare. Lots of planning in an unique way . Very Healthy and enough to sustain until dinner.
Great tree-top vista towards Oyster Bay. Early morning chorus of a variety of birds and other animals ie mooing cows.
7minute drive from the Albany CBD.
Rooms cosy,clean and a comfortable King size bed.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
205 reviews
180 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

Only stayed one night so maybe didn't get enough experience. The hosts live in a 'pole house' - a house on a hillside supported on poles. They have constructed this 3-roomed b&b in the space under their home. The building itself is nicely done but there aren't any views, from window or balcony you look into not over the surrounding trees.
It was dark when we arrived and we missed the sign saying we should go to the owners house and proceeded downstairs and disturbed the other guests with our 'hello'ing. First thing I was told when we found our hosts was that there had been a problem with my credit card - yes, they had details of a card that had been cancelled due to fraud and I produced a new card that worked, but it was a bit brusque.
The room was well equipped and comfortable and we didn't need air-con which was a relief.
Both the hosts have jobs in town so breakfast was left ready for us. It was substantial and tasty (though the 'hot' dishes had to be given time in the microwave) - but one felt rather abandoned. They were, though, happy to make the hot-tub available outside the normal hours for our use.
As with everything else in Australia - it was expensive for what it was.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hideaway_haven, Owner at HideAway Haven, responded to this review, June 24, 2011
I am so sorry your experience with us was less than perfect. We did not intend to be brusque but thought we would get the business side of things settled before you settled in for the night, as you were only here for one night. Unfortunately we do have jobs to go to and our breakfast menu does explain that your breakfast needs to be zapped in the microwave. Am glad you enjoyed the Jacuzzi in the morning...guests don't normally get that opportunity!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

We stayed here for our honeymoon, and had a lovely time. The property is just beautiful, and has a wonderful view of Oyster Harbour. It is a little out of town, but we were looking for seclusion so was perfect for us. The owners are welcoming and helpful, and cook a delicious breakfast. Overall a great stay in Albany.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hideaway_haven, Manager at HideAway Haven, responded to this review, March 23, 2011
So glad you could spend the first few days of your honeymoon here. We wish you all the best in your new life as newly weds and hope to have you back for an anniversary :-). We are working on some couple packages..stay tuned!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

Thank you very much for creating a warm, imaginative and well executed B&B. I would have no hesitation recommending this place as it exceeds expectation. Your welcome was great and your breakfasts superb. Thanks again!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
1.4 mi away
Beach House at Bayside
Beach House at Bayside
#1 of 21 in Albany
5.0 of 5 stars 247 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Rocks Albany
The Rocks Albany
#4 of 21 in Albany
4.5 of 5 stars 60 reviews
2.7 mi away
Park Avenue Holiday Units
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Albany Motel & Apartments
3.8 mi away
Albany Harbourside Apartments and Houses
3.5 mi away
Dunmoylen House
Dunmoylen House
#5 of 21 in Albany
4.5 of 5 stars 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HideAway Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HideAway Haven

Address: 21 Yokanup Road | Bayonet Head, Albany, Western Australia 6330, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Albany
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — HideAway Haven 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA 5 Star Hosted Accommodation Located just a short drive from central Albany, HideAway Haven is the ideal getaway and hosted accommodation for couples. What does being a hosted accommodation mean to us? It means we ensure our guests not only receive a warm welcome, a clean room with facilities to ensure a comfortable stay, but we guarantee our guests experience a comprehensive and highly personalised service from their hostesses. Walk down the stairway of H(e)aven and be insulated from the rest of the world and the stresses of everyday life with unspoiled scenery, fresh air and abundant wildlife. Everyone loves to see wildlife, and what better place to observe wild birds and mammals than on your own private deck. Watching birds, interacting with them and listening to their songs can help relieve stress and promote well-being. With over 45 different varieties of birds, bandicoots, kangaroos, skinks, and butterflies keep our guests entertained for hours. Our guests go to sleep watching the glistening light of the moon on the water and listening to the soothing sounds of the calming waves in the distance. Research shows that the sound of waves alters wave patterns in the brain lulling you into a deeply relaxed state. Sea air is charged with healthy negative ions that accelerate our ability to absorb oxygen which is why our guests sleep so soundly. Listening to the sound of chirping birds, enjoying a spectacular sunrise before feeling the warm soft sun on a beautiful morning is just one of the many happy indulgences for our guests. Then it's time for coffee and breakfast and the guests know it is going to be a great day. With beautiful wood furnishings and the lush greenery of the surrounding countryside, HideAway Haven has a tranquil ambience that will let you forget your troubles and relax in style. Pamper yourself with a delicious meal prepared by the Haven's hostess, recently returned from a cooking experience in Italy or cook your own in the fully-equipped kitchen in the common room. HideAway Haven prides itself on superior service for all, and can cater meals for any dietary requirements. Providing supreme comfort and luxury, the Hide Away Haven is the ultimate relaxation destination. Treat yourself to the holiday you deserve, and enjoy a memorable stay like no other in Albany. HideAway Haven is also ideal for travellers seeking self contained accommodation to self cater their needs while away from home. If you are tired of eating out in restaurants, stay awhile. With a full kitchen and BBQ facilities, you can enjoy some home cooking. Jacuzzi is available from 5:30pm and closes at 9:30pm by booking only. 12 Hour notice is required to allow time to heat and recharge Ozone. The Jacuzzi is a communal facility; please follow the instructions to ensure a safe and memorable experience for yourself and our other guests. HideAway Haven is an adult retreat and not suitable for children. HideAway Haven does not have wheelchair access ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your HideAway Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HideAway Haven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.