We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointing for a local cafe.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Emu Point Cafe

Emu Point Cafe
1 Mermaid Ave, Emu Point, Albany, Western Australia 6330, Australia
08 98447207
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 84 Restaurants in Albany
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Albany, Australia
1 review
“Dissapointing for a local cafe.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

I have been to Emu Point Café on many occasions. I lunch there frequently, and have morning and afternoon teas there often. For large groups, the service is poor. Today they totally forgot two lunch servings at a table of 14 persons. One overseas visitor, one Perth family. The waitress' were asked twice about the missing food, and twice the answer was "but we brought out the food". Our visitor decided to leave with no lunch, no apology, no visit from the chef. Not good enough. On another occasion we were there late, ordered coffee, and then were physically pushed and knocked as the staff tried to stack tables around us. I will go to Emu point again for the view and the lovely beach, but bring my own take away coffee and picnic. No more Emu Point café for me,..... a local from Albany. Please take note of these comments staff.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emupointmanagement, Manager at Emu Point Cafe, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for your feedback 'Albanyite', we are very sorry you did not enjoy your experience at Emu Point Cafe and we will continue to work hard so this never happens again.
Hope you have a wonderful day, Kind regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    45
    13
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Top lunch spot great views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Now here's a place to enjoy great inlet coastal views while enjoying the best cafe style food. The chicken and pumpkin salad was fantastic. The service was good which simply made it an enjoyable lunch. Would go back here again when visiting Albany.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emupointmanagement, Manager at Emu Point Cafe, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Hi Ian,
Thank you so much for your review, we appreciate hearing positive attributes about the cafe. We hope you enjoyed your stay in Albany and will visit us again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Busselton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely food, service minimal, kids still hungry!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

3 adults and 4 kids. Ordered the kids (6,6,8 & 9yrs) the only kids option on the menu being half serve pancakes for $8. They were delicious but all of them were still hungry and it would have cost $14 for a single piece of toast for each of them (ie $3.50 a slice). The full serves were great and we enjoyed our meals. Service lacklustre. Location exquisite!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emupointmanagement, Manager at Emu Point Cafe, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Hi Jamela,
Thanks for your review, we appreciate any feedback.
Hope you have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katanning
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“super!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

amazing place for breakfast, lunch or coffee with an amazing view. if you are lucky you may even get to watch the dolphins swim by!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emupointmanagement, Manager at Emu Point Cafe, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Hi Tahlz,
Thank you so much for our feedback, we really appreciate your positive review.
Hope you have a wonderful day.
Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Girona, Spain
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Great spot and food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

It's a charming cafe, just in front of the beach, in a quite area 5km from York street.
The place is very cute, with a great and elaborated menu, even to take away. We should wait for more than 30 minutes to get our food but they told us in advance and it was not a problem, you can just been around and once they bring us the food it worth it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emupointmanagement, Manager at Emu Point Cafe, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Hi Xaviur,
Thanks so much for your review, we hope you enjoy your time in Australia and visit us again at EPC.
Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emu Point Cafe also viewed

Albany, Western Australia
Albany, Western Australia
 
Albany, Western Australia
 

Been to Emu Point Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emu Point Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.