We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy and quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Norman House

Norman House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Albany
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Norman House
Save
You added Norman House to your Saves list
28 Stirling Terrace,, Albany, Western Australia 6330, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 22 Albany B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Cosy and quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

At first we found the welcome a little cool. Bert greeted me at the door and just asked my name and showed me to my room. I asked his and introduced myself... I thought it seemed a little 'over it'. However, we found the room comfortable and the beds had electric blankets which was much appreciated as its was a little cool.

I managed to start up a conversation with Bert after breakfast and found a common thread - then Bert was very helpful and chatty.

Breakfast is great. My only niggle was the welcome book in your room promises afternoon tea - this was not available so suggest Bert and Shiela just update their information. A TV in the room was kind of expected but we didnt miss it, as the cosy lounge has one and we chatted to other guests.

Room Tip: we had room number one which was spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    17
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
18
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

This accommodation was booked 'sight unseen' for a work trip. But what an excellent choice! Do you like B&Bs? Albany? Being warm, comfortable and an opportunity to enjoy a fantastic freshly prepared/cooked brekky? You want to stay here! One night wasn't long enough and I am planning a return trip soon.

Majestic old building - furnished with love. Comfy beds with the best linen EVER, new en-suites and the most beautiful garden. This place is a real gem.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Norman House is a warm, homely B & B in the heart of Albany within walking distance to the harbour, shops and restaurants. Bert & Sheila (the owners) are exceptionally friendly & welcoming. The rooms are very comfortable with all the amenities of a hotel but without the coldness you might experience at a franchised establishment. Sheila provided good tips for where to eat and we came back later in the night to a nice wood fire in the reading room. Bert is a great cook and provided a hearty hot breakfast to order. You would pay $20 for a 'big breakfast' equivalent at a Perth Cafe. Overall, we had a lovely stay and strongly recommend Norman House to anyone who is looking for homely accommodation close to all the action in Albany.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Norman House was a treat to stay. Its an old house built in the Victorian Style and a B&B worth every penny for our stay. Its right in the heart of Albany town with close access to the Albany Port and the Royal Princess Fortress. Had initially scheduled to stay for two nights, but extended for one more night and was absolutely humbled by the hospitality shown by BERT & SHEILA (Caretakers of Norman House). Definitely recommend this B&B which has a cozy atmosphere inside with a library, games room, separate lounge room to relax. Rooms are pretty big with cleanliness next to nothing. Bert's Breakfast was the highlight of our stay and we were treated to some wonderful English Style cooking.
Wish to go back to the same place again.

Highly impressed!!!!!!!!
Thanks to BERT & SHEILA.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

Have returned to Norman House annually since discovering it four years ago whilst on a golfing trip to Albany.
Conveniently located, within walking distance to the central shopping district , bars and restaurants Norman House is ideal for those who enjoy a glass of wine with their evening me.al without having to worry about the hazards of driving home.
Charming rooms, generous in size and spotlessly clean, wonderful hosts in Shiela and Bert who go out of their way to make your stay a pleasant one and who provide a breakfast to die for
I have no hesitation in recommending Norman House and would award it the highest rating

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

Its an old historical house with a really nice atmosphere, We have travelled a fair bit & our 18 & 16 year old kids are more accustomed to the resort/hotel type thing & its pretty hard to get them to go anywhere because everything is "boring".
Norman house was an interesting change to their expectations, our family was actually interested in the place & had fun without a tv or pc. We sat together at sunset upstairs and talked! before walking to a nearby restaurant, after which we broused the bookshelves, went our own ways & soaked up the quiet peacefull mood of the house, there are plenty of little spots for some alone time. Our son commented on how comfortable he felt. The kids even read in bed, the wife was relaxed all was good (happy wife happy life). & Bert is a real wiz in the kitchen breakfast was the icing on the cake.

Room Tip: If your wife has just climbed Bluff knoll get a downstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

A BNB to remember run by a careing couple who have the guest in mind . great tucker and so comfortable ,close to everything by foot or car . When you can remember the good old days a visit to Norman House will show that service and comfort are the way to go . I,m sure they get many return visitors . We will be back. Tell them Doug sent you..

Douglas C

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Norman House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norman House

Address: 28 Stirling Terrace,, Albany, Western Australia 6330, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Albany
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Albany
Number of rooms: 20

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Norman House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.