We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Harbour View” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Best Western Albany Motel & Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Best Western Albany Motel & Apartments to your Saves list
Best Western Albany Motel & Apartments
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   Cnr Frederick and Spencer Streets, Albany, Western Australia 6330, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Albany
Perth, Australia
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Harbour View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Thank you Best Western Albany, and the lovely lady Jan on reception. We had two rooms both were very clean, newly decorated plus comfortable beds. For convenience cereal bowls and toaster. The whole building was fresh and tidy in good maintenance. Easy Walking distance into town. This accommodation exceeded my expectation. We will stay again when we return to Albany.

Room Tip: King Room with Balcony and Harbour View. Don't let the third floor put you off, you only have to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    81
    37
    14
    4
See reviews for
23
67
9
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Exmouth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

This hotel is ok and has many plus points to start with. The furnitures are modern and clean, the rooms are bright and the carpet was fluffy and felt like just freshly carpet cleaned! The check in by the Manager was fantastic and very informative.

A few minus points were that the kitchenette in the room didn't have a stove to cook, and when we booked we must have not realised that as we thought it comes with a kitchenette! We actually wanted to cook something at home, rather than going out for dinner and we also don't like microwave food!

On day of check out the housekeeping lady knocked first time on our door at 9.30 am and as we are usually leaving our room as clean as possible (washing our dishes after breakfast, tidying up bedroom and rubbish etc.- so we don't leave more work behind for the cleaners than necessary) we were still on time to check out at 10 am and all our bags were already packed and we just wanted to do a final check to make sure we didn't leave anything behind. Unfortunately the housekeeping lady knocked again at 9.55 am to let us know that check out is at 10 am and when we looked outside the door more than 3 other cleaning ladies were already staying in front of our door with all the cleaning equipment! They then said that we should not feel rushed, but we unfortunately felt rushed and as a result we didn't do the last final check and so we left my partners new sport trouser behind! Anyhow we found the girls to be very nice and felt that this wasn't the initial intention, and also being busy on that day with many check outs and probably being under pressure with check ins. (Maybe the girls time of watch was 10 or 15 minutes ahead than our clock in the kitchen) So all good with us, but it could become a huger minus point for other guests! Another few minor things left us believe that the eye for detail was missing, and so we are left with mixed feelings (not very positive, but also not very negative) For the future we probably would look for alternative accommodation!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We stayed there yesterday for the first time. Our room was on the first floor and had a little balcony with a tiny view of the new entertainment centre and the beach. The room had a modern, light decor and a modern bathroom. The bed was very comfortable (king size) and the room quiet. I would stay there again. The price tag with the senior's discount was still $163 per night. I can recommend it. Cheaper rooms are available but are a bit outdated regarding decor, etc. Book ahead as they were fully booked.

Room Tip: Restaurant was closed, reception did not mention anything what might be available within the complex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbanyMotel, General Manager at Best Western Albany Motel & Apartments, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing our motel. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.

I am very happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Our Executive rooms are very popular and have the deluxe pillow-top king beds, modern renovated bathrooms and a small balcony.

I am sorry that reception did not assist you with selecting a good restaurant. We are normally very good at assisting our guests with local information. There are 7 good quality restaurants within a short walk on the same block.

I hope we can welcome you to Albany again soon.

Kind Regards,
Ubik Freeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Stayed here recently and the room was everything we required. We booked an apartment, which are located separate to the hotel rooms, further up the street on a hill. The apartments were obviously older than the hotel rooms, but as we didn't spend a lot of time in the room, it didn't matter. The room was clean, with a comfortable bed and great views overlooking the Albany harbour. The bathroom wasn't big, but that wasn't a major issue.
It's located a few blocks from the main street but still well within walking distance. There is a larger shopping complex a few minutes drive from the main town but everything you need is close enough if you don't have a car.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

The best western offered good value for money & easy access into the town centre. I was surprised by some of the comments here. My room was modern, clean & serviced every day. For the price you pay it seems reasonable enough & quiet too. If I had 1 complaint it would be that the floors where not hoovered during my stay.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

The place looked a mess from the outside and we didn't get a good first impression of the place. Full of young families, bikers revving motorbikes, children squawking on balconies. Noisy wasn't the word. The rooms are very drab, at least they were clean. The shower area was good. The front door opened directly onto a busy car park, this added to the noise with cars coming and going at all times. Would I stay here again? I'm sorry but I wouldn't

Room Tip: Take care, this place seems busy and full of noisy residents.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Nice people, close walking distance to shops. Comfortable room with king bed, nice newly renovated bathroom. We paid $189/ night, which was an overcharge for what we received, considering no restaurant/room service. Picture makes it look much better than it was. Clothes line was right below our balcony room which desperately needed oiling. Parking needs to be allocated to rooms in sections.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Best Western Albany Motel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Albany Motel & Apartments

Address: Cnr Frederick and Spencer Streets, Albany, Western Australia 6330, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Albany
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Albany Motel & Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Albany Motel & Apartments is located in the centre of Albany, a scenic coastal regional town 400km south of Perth in the Great Southern of WA. This Albany accommodation features 3.5 star AAA-rated rooms which cater for families, couples and the business travelers alike. It boasts of being the only motel situated in town with rooms on the top level and apartments with views overlooking the Princess Royal Harbour and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Best Western Albany Motel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Western Albany Motel & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.