We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and modern” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Albany Motel & Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Albany Motel & Apartments to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Albany Motel & Apartments
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   Cnr Frederick and Spencer Streets, Albany, Western Australia 6330, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Albany
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Clean and modern”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We stayed there yesterday for the first time. Our room was on the first floor and had a little balcony with a tiny view of the new entertainment centre and the beach. The room had a modern, light decor and a modern bathroom. The bed was very comfortable (king size) and the room quiet. I would stay there again. The price tag with the senior's discount was still $163 per night. I can recommend it. Cheaper rooms are available but are a bit outdated regarding decor, etc. Book ahead as they were fully booked.

Room Tip: Restaurant was closed, reception did not mention anything what might be available within the complex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbanyMotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Albany Motel & Apartments, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing our motel. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.

I am very happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Our Executive rooms are very popular and have the deluxe pillow-top king beds, modern renovated bathrooms and a small balcony.

I am sorry that reception did not assist you with selecting a good restaurant. We are normally very good at assisting our guests with local information. There are 7 good quality restaurants within a short walk on the same block.

I hope we can welcome you to Albany again soon.

Kind Regards,
Ubik Freeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    87
    39
    14
    4
See reviews for
26
70
10
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Geelong
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Stayed here recently and the room was everything we required. We booked an apartment, which are located separate to the hotel rooms, further up the street on a hill. The apartments were obviously older than the hotel rooms, but as we didn't spend a lot of time in the room, it didn't matter. The room was clean, with a comfortable bed and great views overlooking the Albany harbour. The bathroom wasn't big, but that wasn't a major issue.
It's located a few blocks from the main street but still well within walking distance. There is a larger shopping complex a few minutes drive from the main town but everything you need is close enough if you don't have a car.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

The best western offered good value for money & easy access into the town centre. I was surprised by some of the comments here. My room was modern, clean & serviced every day. For the price you pay it seems reasonable enough & quiet too. If I had 1 complaint it would be that the floors where not hoovered during my stay.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

The place looked a mess from the outside and we didn't get a good first impression of the place. Full of young families, bikers revving motorbikes, children squawking on balconies. Noisy wasn't the word. The rooms are very drab, at least they were clean. The shower area was good. The front door opened directly onto a busy car park, this added to the noise with cars coming and going at all times. Would I stay here again? I'm sorry but I wouldn't

Room Tip: Take care, this place seems busy and full of noisy residents.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Nice people, close walking distance to shops. Comfortable room with king bed, nice newly renovated bathroom. We paid $189/ night, which was an overcharge for what we received, considering no restaurant/room service. Picture makes it look much better than it was. Clothes line was right below our balcony room which desperately needed oiling. Parking needs to be allocated to rooms in sections.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stayed in 2 rooms apartment for 2 nights. The room is a bit outdated but clean and functional. When we arrived, everything is clean and comfy for us to take a rest. But on our 2nd day, I could see that our bathroom had not been cleaned. They just changed the towels and the rubbish bags and also made the bed. I was too tired on that day from our trip, so I didn't call to Reception to ask. There was a free wifi, too. The location is great, just walking distance to the town. Overall, Albany is a nice town to visit.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaikoura
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Fortunately, we were staying for one night. The motel was built in 1984. And it looked it! The walls had been spot painted, the tiles in the bathroom were very dated although clean. The advertised restaurant was no longer, closed. There was no available breakfast and the alternative were close by restaurants that they had 5-10% discounts for. Whoopee!! And all this for an economy rate of $157/night. Not good value.

Room Tip: Don't choose this hotel until they upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
1.8 mi away
Ace Motor Inn
Ace Motor Inn
#6 of 13 in Albany
4.0 of 5 stars 145 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Albany
Comfort Inn Albany
#10 of 13 in Albany
3.5 of 5 stars 65 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dog Rock Motel
Dog Rock Motel
#8 of 13 in Albany
4.0 of 5 stars 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Park Avenue Holiday Units
3.5 mi away
Emu Point Motel & Apartments
1.4 mi away
Country Comfort Amity Motel Albany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Albany Motel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Albany Motel & Apartments

Address: Cnr Frederick and Spencer Streets, Albany, Western Australia 6330, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Albany
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Albany Motel & Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Albany Motel & Apartments is located in the centre of Albany, a scenic coastal regional town 400km south of Perth in the Great Southern of WA. This Albany accommodation features 3.5 star AAA-rated rooms which cater for families, couples and the business travelers alike. It boasts of being the only motel situated in town with rooms on the top level and apartments with views overlooking the Princess Royal Harbour and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Albany Motel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Albany Motel & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.