We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Western certainly enhanced our visit to Albany” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Best Western Albany Motel & Apartments

Save Saved
You added Best Western Albany Motel & Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Albany Motel & Apartments
Cnr Frederick and Spencer Streets, Albany, Western Australia 6330, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 13 hotels in Albany
Greater Manchester,U.K
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Best Western certainly enhanced our visit to Albany”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We found the motel to be bright and welcoming on our 2 day visit.. The Charlottes restaurant was
good, regarding both the food and the service, with a reasonable choice range.
The motel staff were extremely helpful and also friendly. The accomodation ( ground floor room ) was comfortable, spacious and clean, with a good bathroom.
We believe refurbishment is planned -- the motel has a quaintness of atmosphere which I hope is'nt lost in the re-furb plan.
Very good location.
Joe D ( Manchester, U.K )

Room Tip: Ground floor room was very convenient and no noticeable noise to speak of.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbanyMotel, General Manager at Best Western Albany Motel & Apartments, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and positive review.

I think you have summed up our rooms very well as comfortable, spacious and clean.

We are continuing our renovations this year after renovating all the bathrooms in both our Harbour View and Executive rooms. We have used classic materials such as glass, stone and aluminium to create a modern and ageless style. We hope as you suggest that we don't lose any atmosphere and create a more comfortable and welcoming feel. So for the feedback has been very good.

I look forward to welcoming you again if you travel this way again.

Kind Regards,
Ubik Freeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    62
    30
    11
    4
See reviews for
17
54
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Menai, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

This motel is a bit dated, although quite comfy. We had the top floor overlooking the wind farm. I think you would have to be on the top floor to see any water views. The restaurant was very pleasant with lovely staff who were very friendly. There is a gate to walk through to a pub which is a better option. Not much to see in Albany, except for beautiful views from some lookouts. The whale museum was worth looking at also.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Reception staff and restaurant very good, cheerful and friendly. Food was quite good breakfast (price very reasonable) and dinner (bit expensive). The pub through the back gate is a better option for dinner cheaper and much more variety and quality is very good too.
Parking seemed plenty to easy to manoeuvre in the lower section of the motel.
Now the downside soap and shampoo not replaced daily, sometimes no bathmat or garbage bin emptied, debris from previous guest still in bin on arrival. Bathrooms are very very dated although a reasonable size, shower curtains still used. Carpets show signs of wear and frayed leading into bathroom.
I spent five nights here the bed was a bit hard however the place seemed noiseless even though it seemed the motel was quite full, a couple of mozzies were a nuisance think they leave the door open when they clean the rooms.
TV was disappointing no Foxtel just a couple of movie channels that repeat the same movies,
Internet was free was a reasonable speed my laptop had to be connected to a power board that was screwed to the wall behind the TV as there were not enough power points which was a bit arkward.
Furniture in the room was so dated, the small table was sufficient however the church hall chair needs to go to the tip.

If you do stay here get a first floor room or you will have to walk up a few steps as there are three levels to lug your bags up and down. Place in my mind does not meet the Best Western criteria for a three star motel. Sure must be better than this in Albany. Cleaning staff obviously need a big wake up call.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Good location, closed to restaurant and shops. Plenty space for storage and luggage. Clean and bright. We were on the ground floor next to the car park but did not have any noise issue. Staff is helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Over priced and old fashioned. Bathroom was updated and quite good but there were security lights on the rear balcony and at the front door both of which put a great deal of light into the room and made sleeping very very difficult. Our king sized bed was two beds pushed together and so a little uncomfortable.
Couldn't get TV to work and so contacted reception but it just goes to a message taker after 8 pm so we paid top dollar for a room with no TV and next day found the message hadn't been passed on. So service was dissappointing.
I wouldn't stay there again if visiting Albany, I would consider Middleton beach or Emu point - much better outlook.
We had a slight view of the harbour from our outside balcony which overlooked the carpark.
Overall it was very dissappointing

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Grace
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stay one night room was great - clean and modern. Staff very friendly good value for money.
Breakfast was fantastic & cheap. People coming in off the street for breakfast is usually a good indication that it will be good.
Mini Bar prices, very reasonable, I don't usually purchase from mini bar because they are way overpriced - not here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australind, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in Albany for work 3 nights, stayed here 1 night. Front desk reception was terrible, wanted us to pay upfront even though we were staying for their breakfast ( which I didn't do) after this episode. For $122 was told I was now staying in an economy room!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbanyMotel, General Manager at Best Western Albany Motel & Apartments, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our motel.

I am sorry that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We know that our front desk team is an extremely important part of our overall service delivery and we strive for excellence. The team is friendly, welcoming and informative and often gets very high praise in reviews.

With regard to payment, we do take payment for accommodation up front. We find that this is a simpler financial arrangement with our guests and we are happy to put meals and breakfast on a tab for you to pay on check-out.

I would like to personally invite you to try us again and please let me know if there is anything I can do for you.

Kind Regards,
Ubik

Ubik Freeman
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Albany Motel & Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Best Western Albany Motel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Albany Motel & Apartments

Address: Cnr Frederick and Spencer Streets, Albany, Western Australia 6330, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Albany
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 hotels in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Albany Motel & Apartments is located in the centre of Albany, a scenic coastal regional town 400km south of Perth in the Great Southern of WA. This Albany accommodation features 3.5 star AAA-rated rooms which cater for families, couples and the business travelers alike. It boasts of being the only motel situated in town with rooms on the top level and apartments with views overlooking the Princess Royal Harbour and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Best Western Albany Motel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Western Albany Motel & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.