We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but a fair bit of traffic noise” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sanctuary Park Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sanctuary Park Motel to your Saves list
Sanctuary Park Motel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   11 - 13 High Street, Wodonga, Victoria 3690, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Wodonga
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
1,487 reviews
348 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3,367 helpful votes
“Clean but a fair bit of traffic noise”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This presumably late 1960s motel is on the Hume Highway that was once the main Melbourne to Sydney road until bypassed by an incredibly ugly freeway through the centre of Albury - Wodonga.

Accordingly with the twin city's growth to 107,000 people there is a fair bit of car traffic, particularly during peak hours. This can be heard inside the rooms if one has the airconditioner switched off.

I arrived late with the key placed under the mat as arranged through a credit card reservation,.

The room was clean. The carpet was a different blue colour immediately upon entry to the rest of the room which was odd. There was an overhead fluorescent light along with two bedside lights positioned above where one slept. The curtains were effective at blocking light.

It was hot in the room when I arrived because the proprietors are only available from 0800 to 2030 but had not done the nice thing and turned on the aircon. for my late arrival. The room was cool in about 25 minutes.

The Chinese made flat screen TV was impossible to switch on: perhaps the battery in the remote had expired.

The single bed (there were two) was not particularly comfortable but at least the sheets were crisp and clean. There was a blanket as well that I did not need.

The room had a round table and two chairs. A generous amount of tea and coffee sachets plus a 150ml Tetrapak of Devondale fresh milk was provided. There was a microwave that got its power from a four outlet plug, the latter unusual in an Australian motel.

There was a wardrobe but no iron or ironing board, while the television was on top of a roomy chest of drawers.

The bathroom had late 1960s tiling but hot water was adequate. Only one full roll of toilet paper was provided: a spare should be in the room. Bath towels were white and fluffy; smaller hand towels were coloured and a bit older but still acceptable. Lighting in the bathroom was basic but OK.

I did not avail of the expensive continental or other breakfast, being cheaper to go to an IGA or Woolworths supermarket and bring yoghurt with me.

There is a smallish pool (presumably unheated) and a pleasant barbeque area.

The male proprietor was also pleasant to deal with.

This was a reasonable but outdated Australian motel. There are so many of these dotted around the countryside, relics of an age 40 years ago when more people drove between the capitals. Now a lot of teh patronage seems to be contractors in industries like telecommunications and building.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
4
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shepparton, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Great place to stay. Very clean and has all mod cons. Jeff & Alma great hosts. Pool was a great spot after a long hot drive. Convenient location just off highway. Very reasonably priced. Will stay again. Would recommend to anyone for a comfortable stay with friendly service.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Provided a good stop to break up a long road trip. Clean and friendly. Pool was welcome in the warm temperatures and it has a good location next to a lake and a the largest children's playground I've seen

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

On a trip away with my daughter and mother, I booked a family room. It had 1 queen and 2 single beds (which could be closed off by curtains). It had also had a large screen tv. The pool was a good size and the garden and bbq area was just lovely. Our room had fly screens on both the windows and the door. It great to be able to have the door and windows open, while sitting outside our room with a cup of tea. Although the motel is on a main road, we had no problems with noise from traffic. The staff were very friendly. My mother and I have both said we would be more than happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
49 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

For $110 for a family room over Easter, this motel was reasonable value. The room had a bunk over one of the double beds as well as the usual double debt with a table and a microwave. Booking a family room, I was hoping for a separate bedroom which it did not have. The other 2 issues were that the motel internet was not free (or as far as I could work out as the wifizone asked for a credit card) and if you are a light sleeper you can hear the traffic on the Freeway. Pool area looked nice and a free 300ml carton of milk on arrival is always appreciated.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wodonga
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hovell Tree Inn
1.9 mi away
Albury Paddlesteamer
Albury Paddlesteamer
#21 of 31 in Albury
3.5 of 5 stars 87 reviews
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Stagecoach Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Murray Valley Motel
Murray Valley Motel
#3 of 8 in Wodonga
4.5 of 5 stars 22 reviews
2.0 mi away
Belvoir Village Motel & Apartments
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Blazing Stump
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Park Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Park Motel

Address: 11 - 13 High Street, Wodonga, Victoria 3690, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Wodonga
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Wodonga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sanctuary Park Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable, Clean and Affordable The Sanctuary Park Motel is conveniently located at 11 High Street Wodonga, with the main entrance fronting Wodonga's main street, High Street. The rear of Sanctuary Park overlooks the magnificent Sumsion Gardens, with its beautiful lake and Island Rotunda. The side entrance makes the motel extremely bus and coach friendly and also offers coaches off street parking. There is a complete assortment of room combinations, including single, double, twin and family rooms. Breakfast may be brought to your rooms in the mornings, and the Sanctuary Park has a Licensed Reception at Hotel Prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere and Despegar.com so you can book your Sanctuary Park Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanctuary Park Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.