We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Breakfast!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nelson's

Nelson's
231 Nelson Pl, Williamstown, Hobsons Bay, Victoria 3016, Australia
(03) 9397 2377
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 86 Restaurants in Williamstown
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Best Breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Nelson's have a sheltered balcony in the morning sun with THE Best Breakfasts and service, thank you.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    11
    2
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food, fantastic service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We eat at Nelsons at least once every week, and it never fails to impress. The menu changes with the seasons and there are always interesting specials available. The wine list is extensive and the cellar well stocked. The nicest thing is the way we are greeted, but that greeting isn't just reserved for regulars - everyone is welcomed in the same way. Sitting on the balcony or the front veranda on a summers evening is what living in Williamstown is all about.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airlie Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
430 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
“In typical "Old Williamstown" style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

There are heaps of restaurants in Williamstown and Nelsons is one step above the usual cafe style we see. I's decor is traditional "Old Williamstown" and the food was clean and tasty

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“One of the Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Unplanned and without a reservation, my partner and I enjoyed an evening meal last night, having parked right outisde The Nelson. Living close by we are spoilt for choice of eatery but had been here a few years ago and enjoyed the food and were not let down last night. The hot cob loaf with garlic butter, oil and balsamic was a terrific starter. Half a dozen oysters kilpatrick went down well although they weren't very hot and my partner's Fish n Chips was so big he couldn't eat it all, delicious as it was. I had ordered the smoked chicken salad but was told it had been removed from the menu, but was offered an alternative where the lamb salad was used as the base with the chicken taking the place of the lamb and the original dressing being served on the side. It was delicious also, although I palmed off all the olives to my partner's plate. Moscato was served by the glass (2), scotch and coke (2) was somewhat less strong than partner was used to, but the service was spot on as we enjoyed a table by the fire. Just under $100 for the night. I think it's a great place for a special occasion, or just to feel special, a first date or group gathering. Check out their website. It's a terrific old building with lot's of charm and beautiful food. We'll certainly be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great personal service and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Always a great expreience with good food, wine and service

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nelson's also viewed

Williamstown, Hobsons Bay
Williamstown, Hobsons Bay
 
Williamstown, Hobsons Bay
Williamstown, Hobsons Bay
 

Been to Nelson's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nelson's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.