We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful setting, food good, service faulty towers esque” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Anchorage Restaurant

Anchorage Restaurant
34 the Strand, Williamstown, Hobsons Bay, Victoria 3016, Australia
(03) 9397 7799
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 72 Restaurants in Williamstown
Price range: $12 - $62
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Set in an historic Williamstown boat shed with bay views of Melbourne, experience our serene location on the marina and authentic nautical feel. Anchorage Restaurant is the perfect location for a delicious, award winning dining experience with the freshest seafood and fine dining options. If you're planning a lovely private dinner, a function or a truly memorable wedding, our experienced staff will ensure your occasion is one to remember.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Wonderful setting, food good, service faulty towers esque”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

This is a really scenic place to eat, looking out over the boats towards the CBD, with the ships and other water traffic going by. Seats are comfortable, and the decor interesting. The food was nice, but mixed reports on whether it was just average or very good. Bread really good. I had the fish and chips (good, lots of chips and salad), and a DIY lemon merang pie - this latter was a great concept, the lemon curd was excellent but the shortbread was too sweet and overpowered the lemon. There were seven of us (booked for eight people - one couldn't come, our waiter who kept trying to help me, who was at the end with the empty chair by rearranging us - the thought was there, but it would have been much better once I had said I was ok had she just focused on providing good service and the occasional smile). It took ages for the waiter to take our meal order, and then the order was lost - you would she would notice no one had been fed after an hour? When it came to order dessert, again it took ages for her to come back. They did reduce the bill to compensate us, which made for a more moderate night out.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    24
    14
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful Birthday Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

We recently arranged a birthday dinner at the Anchorage for 12. The staff were helpful and friendly from our very first contact. The venue is lovely. Contemporary but still with some warmth and nautical charm. Set on the marina looking back at Melbourne, you couldn't ask for a better location. The menu was diverse and not unnecessarily complicated or pretentious, which matched the service that was warm and attentive. The quality of all the dishes was superb. The seafood linguine and stuffed chicken breast received a huge response from our table, as did the sticky date pudding and creme brûlée. You see varied reviews on sites, and everyone's a critic these days. We all have varied expectations, but this well travelled punter would highly recommend this venue to celebrate any special occasion. We left feeling very special indeed!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic seafood by the seaside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

A group of us had our quarterly catch up at this beautiful restaurant. The atmosphere was great, the views were fantastic, the rain and the lightening added more excitement as we could see the beautiful backdrop of the West gate Bridge. The choice of food on the menu was great. We all had a seafood meal. The crumbed fish with chips cooked to perfection. Although our side plate was late to arrive to the table , which we weren't charged for, this did not take away the enjoyment we had for our evening meal. The ambience of this resturant left us feeling all very good about a choice for the night. Even the bathrooms had a high class feel about them, hand wash, hand lotion and hand towelettes . All just fantastic.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

My wife and I, my brother and his wife and my mum booked here for lunch recently. It is a restaurant that is located on a pier with magnificent character, ambience and has the most amazing feel from the time you approach the front door to being greeted and shown your table. We enjoyed service that rivals many of the "first class" restaurants elsewhere and I rank this particular restaurant 10/10 for service. The menu was not exhaustive but the character of the dishes was nicely spread ensuring there was a choice for everyone. The meals were actually quite brilliant being superbly plated and quite obviously thought about in terms of presentation, taste and variety of flavour. I had the fisherman's basket which was the best I've had anywhere with not a chip to be seen to "bulk" out the plate as is seen in many other places but a great selection of seared scallops, fresh oysters, bugs, prawns, flathead, salt and pepper squid and smoked salmon! Yummo! I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone wanting a relaxing meal out with friendly staff and magnificent food and a not too bad wine list either ;)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Dined here last Sunday for lunch, 2 adults and 2 teenagers!
This would have to be one of the best locations in Melbourne. Beautiful views.
The restaurant is quaint and charming both outside and in, very cosy, beautiful furniture and dare I say, one of the best restaurant bathrooms I have seen!
The food (we had duck, eye fillet, king george whiting and barramundi), was generous in its serve, beautifully presented and extremely tasty. Leave room for the desserts which were outstanding, particularly the chocolate fondant and creme brûlée. Not a cheap restaurant but you get what you pay for.
The service was very professional and friendly, with staff offering to take a photo for us. Very relaxed and welcoming for what is a high quality establishment.
Highly recommended, especially if visiting Melbourne, as the views and setting are wonderful.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anchorage Restaurant also viewed

Williamstown, Hobsons Bay
Williamstown, Hobsons Bay
 
Williamstown, Hobsons Bay
Williamstown, Hobsons Bay
 

Been to Anchorage Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchorage Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.