We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner by the Bay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pelicans Landing

Pelicans Landing
1 Syme St, Williamstown, Hobsons Bay, Victoria 3016, Australia
+61 3 9397 0155
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 79 Restaurants in Williamstown
Cuisines: Seafood, International, Australian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Dinner by the Bay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Had dinner with family. The service was good and the food serves were small serves but was enough. The bar tender mixed the lemon lime & bitters a little strong but it was ok. The views were nice and is a great place to eat on a summers days with a great atmosphere. There also cater for weddings and special functions.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    31
    13
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
melbourne Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Terrible experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Visited this restaurant with my wife after receiving a voucher as a Christmas present.. Really disappointed with service and quality of food. Waited and waited for drinks only to be brought out as we were leaving. The size if our meals were very small considering the prices paid. Overall a really bad experience and a shame to report back to the person who gave us the voucher that it was the worst meal we have ever had. . Take my advice and stay away

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Can you get any worse service???”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Pelican's Landing is in a prime position in Williamstown and as such will continue to attract diners and those wanting to sit and enjoy a drink. Lucky they have this aspect because we attended on NY's Day and the service was deplorable. We were effectively ignored for 15 minutes after we sat down, had to approach them for service, 10 minutes after ordering our drinks and coffee I had to again approach staff to check how much longer we would wait, only to be told "oops I forgot!". Having just returned from 2 years in Perth, espousing the positives of Melbourne's food and wine scene and service, I was so shocked and disappointed. It was not busy, what appeared to be the more senior Duty Manager, was busy talking about dog dropping quite loudly, there was a bottle of Spray & Wipe & cloth on the bar, dirty dishes on tables and stacked up behind the bar near the dishwasher. Honestly, it was like something from Fawlty Towers, we thankfully could find the humour in it and enjoyed our drink, not game to order a meal for fear of starvation whilst we waited.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Taken here for fathers day and can only say Excellent Service and Food. Thanks for a great afternoon.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Food was really good, and service was fantastic, i did find it a little too expensive but i still would go again

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pelicans Landing also viewed

Williamstown, Hobsons Bay
Williamstown, Hobsons Bay
 
Williamstown, Hobsons Bay
Williamstown, Hobsons Bay
 

Been to Pelicans Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pelicans Landing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.