We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Punthill Williamstown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Punthill Williamstown to your Saves list
Punthill Williamstown
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   4-18 Ferguson St, Williamstown, Hobsons Bay, Victoria 3016, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We travel to Melbourne at least 3 times a year to see our sons so have stayed at lots of different apartments. 1 bedroom apartment very spacious with good kitchen facilities so I could cook and did. Separate bedroom with comfortable bed, bathroom had lots of room with excellent shower lots of water pressure. The location is amazing with BWS at door and lots of good cafes etc. Good view out over Ferguson St to the sea.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Williamstown, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Rob T,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review of Punthill Williamstown.
Great to hear that you found the apartments so comfortable and the location so convenient.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    32
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
28
1
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

We recently attended a wedding in beautiful Williamstown. I had never been before so was unsure what to expect. We travelled by train and found Punthill Williamstown an easy couple of blocks walk. It is situated conveniently next to the bay where there are a lot of choices for eating or just sitting and relaxing. I have stayed at Punthill before and always find the rooms extremely clean and comfortable. We were greeted and looked after very well by the friendly couple at reception. There is also the option for breakfast, continental or otherwise. Willamstown is a peaceful place to visit if only for a quiet weekend getaway and Punthill Williamstown
comes highly recommended!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Williamstown, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear mi55y66,
Thank you for your lovely comments regarding Punthill Williamstown.
As a return guest to Punthill, we are delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay at our Williamstown property. This bayside suburb really does have a lot to offer, and is still so easily accessible from the city, as you mentioned.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill again soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We went over for the AFL Grand Final and of course everywhere in Melbourne CBD put their prices up disgustingly, but not in Williamstown. So that was part of the reason for staying there.. Also we wanted to be a bit out of all the crush of people in the CBD but still be close enough to go into the city for the footy and to catch up with friends. But the biggest reason is that last time we visited Melbourne we discovered Williamstown and it is stunning! It's across the bay from the CBD and can be reached by train or by a lovely ferry ride across the bay, under gorgeous little bridges, through Docklands etc and into the city. We didn't even go into town on our last day, we just meandered around the streets of Williamstown. We found spectacular eateries and pubs, the view is just stunning and it feels like your out in the country on holidays... you have to go to Williamstown..... it is beautiful.. THe hotel is a short walk from the water and the pier, and all the restaurants etc. We had a studio room and yet it was still a separate bedroom with a TV in it. IT was all beautifully modern and extremely clean. Reception staff were fantastic and they even organised a driver to take us the airport for about the same cost as a taxi - lovely touch.

Room Tip: Studio 219 - second floor - excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Williamstown, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear mumwife,
Thank you for your lovely review of Punthill Williamstown.
We agree that the location of this property in bayside Williamstown is outstanding. So many shops and eateries are on your doorstep, and it is also easy to get into Melbourne city centre as you mentioned.
The team at the property will be thrilled to know that all your expectations were met during your recent stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Rooms are a great size. Stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment and it had everything I needed. Only overnighted so can't comment on kitchen facilities in the apartment but looked to be adequate.
Apartment was clean, no smells, furniture all well cleaned and the bed was incredibly comfortable. Best night's sleep I've had away from home.

Will definitely go back when in the area. Williamstown foreshore was really nice too and a nice easy walk from the hotel takes you along the shoreline and back.

Can't comment on food. Check-in went smoothly and staff friendly and proficient.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Williamstown, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear travel_intelligence,
Thanks for taking the time to provide your review of Punthill Williamstown.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your recent overnight stay. We hope that you may be able to stay a bit longer on your next visit!
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

On 14 July 2013 I booked four nights in a disabled access room for my wheelchair dependant wife we received written notification that this had been done. On arrival on the 7 August after a long day on the road we were informed that the room was occupied and would be available the next night.so began a night of horror,the bathroom door was too narrow for a wheelchair and a great deal of force required to get to the toilet plus no rails to hang onto.not able to shower as that was in the bath.so a night of agony began for her,she wept every time she had to struggle and battle with the toilet which was four times during the night with my assistance.we experienced a lifetime of horror in just one night .a night to remember , the wife has been put off travel forever.

Room Tip: Once we got to the disabled access room on the second night the toilet and shower were easy to get t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Williamstown, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Edith H,
We sincerely apologise - no excuses other than human error. We are really sorry and are contacting you today to make amends.
We do hope that you will give us the opportunity of welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelly Beach, Australia
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed for 3 days whilst on business. Excellent location in Williamstown in the heart of shops, restaurants and the foreshore area. Three blocks away is the train station and the ferry is close by along the waterfront. The room was very well presented, clean and comfortable. Its a quiet area with easy access to everything. If you need to access the city everyday Id probably stay somewhere more central but if you want to get out of the rat race but still have everything at your disposal then this will suit you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Williamstown, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Belgian_Gal,
Thanks so much for your lovely review of Punthill Williamstown.
We agree that the location of this bayside apartment hotel is fantastic, and we are delighted that you enjoyed the apartments and service at the property.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed at the apartments for my aunt's 90th birthday which was 2 doors down at the Strand. We found the service fast and efficient. The rooms were large and modern, the bed comfortable and the shower hot and strong. The bathroom was large as was the room. While we didn't use the kitchen to cook meals, we noted that it was well stocked and clean. Perhaps my only criticism was the breakfast was a little ordinary. As we stayed on a weekend, no hot breakfast was on offer. The choices were a little limited. Perhaps the addition of muesli or a fruit platter would be good. Maybe danishes or banana bread would be beneficial.
Overall we would definitely stay at Punthill Williamstown again and highly recommend it to anyone wishing to stay put of the CBD.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Williamstown, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Carolewadd,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Williamstown.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed the apartments and service at the property and do hope that your aunt had a lovely birthday!
We provide a continental breakfast on Saturday and Sunday mornings as you mentioned, and do offer a selection of cereals - which often includes muesli as well - along with various breads including fruit bread, tinned fruit packs and assorted yoghurts.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Punthill Williamstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill Williamstown

Address: 4-18 Ferguson St, Williamstown, Hobsons Bay, Victoria 3016, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Hobsons Bay > Williamstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Williamstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Punthill Williamstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Punthill Williamstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punt Hill Hotel Williamstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Punthill Williamstown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.