We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st timers in Melbourne & Williamstown - Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Punthill Williamstown

Save Saved
You added Punthill Williamstown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Punthill Williamstown
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   4-18 Ferguson St, Williamstown, Hobsons Bay, Victoria 3016, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“1st timers in Melbourne & Williamstown - Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Recently attended an 80th Birthday held at the Royal Victorian Motor Club on Nelson Place. What a Beautiful township Williamstown is. Punt Hill was the perfect Location for the purpose. There was no need for a trip to the city or outer areas, as Williamstown catered for our needs. The Desk Manager Alistair was very pleasant on arrival.
A One Bedroom Apartment on the 2nd floor, and a close view to the water. Thank You Punthill. Will definately recommend to others. However on Friday Night passed I was abrupty woken to the sound of drums coming from across the road which went on for a gold half hr...Maybe more, and then was topped of with Fireworks......Oh Dear....couldn't get back to sleep....All is well.....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Williamstown, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Waina S,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review of Punthill Williamstown on TripAdvisor.
We totally agree with you that Williamstown is a beautiful bayside location with cafes, shops, supermarket and restaurants just a few minutes walk away from our property!
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay and are also happy to recommend Punthill Williamstown to others.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill Apartment Hotels sometime soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    25
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
6
23
1
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

This was my third stay at this Punthill while on a buisness trip to Melbourne. This time I stayed I stayed in 1 bedroom apartment, on the first floor, overlooking the Ferguson street.The place is perfect - location is quiet, close to the train station, restaurants, the beach and the marina. It is not crazily priced as most hotels in Melbourne during Australian Open. Overall, very clean, although I noticed since last time I was there in 2011, it needs a bit of the paint on the walls/ general revamp. Bed is very comfortable and the reception staff is very, very nice and helpful. Large living area and the bathroom with a wasshing machine and a bath with a great power-shower. Totally recommend and will definitely stay again. Two things I would like to see improved: 1. there is $18 a day charge for the WiFi access, the rate is i think $50 per week, but it is cheaper to buy a mobile internet stick from any supplier ($49 which lasts me a month). 2. kitchen utensils (why are wine glasses so tiny??, no chopping board etc).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Williamstown, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear aandrzejczak,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review of Punthill Williamstown.
The front office and housekeeping teams will be thrilled to read that you enjoyed your most recent visit, and we are very pleased to know that you are happy to recommend Punthill Williamstown too!
Our internet charges are competitive, however we are aware that many hotels overseas do not charge for internet use, and we are sure that in the future this will be the case in Australia.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill Williamstown sometime soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Williamstown is a great place with a definite "village" feel. Punthill is perfectly located close to the water, cafes, shops and restaurants.

The rooms are well fitted but looking a little tired. If you need internet access then avoid a room on the 2nd floor - very frustrating.

Staff and very friendly and helpful.

I've stayed here many times and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Williamstown, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear MelindaVee,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review of Punthill Williamstown on TripAdvisor.

This apartment hotel is ideally positioned in the bayside Melbourne suburb of Williamstown, and we are thrilled to know that Punthill Williamstown is your property of choice when visiting our city. Punthill prides itself on delivering professional customer service, so our Front Office team at Punthill Williamstown will also be very pleased to know that you enjoyed your recent stay so much, and that you are happy to recommend Punthill Apartment Hotels too!

We do have wi-fi internet at the property. The problem on the 2nd floor of the apartment hotel has been addressed and rectified by our Operations Team, so you shouldn't experience any further issues on your next visit if you happen to be allocated an apartment on this floor.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

A spacious 1 bedroom apartment with all the comforts of home, all well maintained. The manager, Alastair, was very helpful and informative. Williamstown is a bit of a gem with a great selection of bars and restaurants, and a walk along the strand gives great views over to Melbourne.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

My business trip to Melbourne had me working in Laverton North which is a struggle to get to from the city so I booked a one bed apartment at the Punthill Williamstown. The property was spot on for position, cleanliness and service.
This accommodation is very convenient for the South West of Melbourne, It is located just meters from the waterside and close to shops great restaurants.
Reception staff were very welcoming too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerringong, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Great apartment - great area, didn't know it existed, would have liked to have stayed longer.
Reception was very helpful and breakfast was good and handy.
Melbourne even through in an earthquake to keep my wife entertained while I was at a meeting!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in a 1 Bedroom apartment, very spacious. The bed was so comfy, I slept very well. Used their conference room also. Very modern premises.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Punthill Williamstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill Williamstown

Address: 4-18 Ferguson St, Williamstown, Hobsons Bay, Victoria 3016, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Hobsons Bay > Williamstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty lodging in Williamstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Punthill Williamstown 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Punthill Williamstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punt Hill Hotel Williamstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Punthill Williamstown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.