We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food & service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bettenay's Prince Albert Hotel

Bettenay's Prince Albert Hotel
149 Douglas Pde, Williamstown, Hobsons Bay, Victoria 3016, Australia
03 9397 5117
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 86 Restaurants in Williamstown
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
248 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Good food & service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We go to Bettanays probably twice a year, it's always good and has great pub atmosphere. You can't go wrong if you are after a pub meal - a little more expensive than the average pub meal but then again the quality of food is better and the price justified.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    6
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good quality food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We've been going to Bettenay's for a few years, however, as we've moved to regional Victoria, havent been for over a year. Glad to say following dinner last night, that the standard and quality of food remains high. Our crew enjoyed our parmas, Waygu (melts in your mouth) and the Rockling special. Service was very attentive and we love that we can get a sparkling red on the wine list. We'll keep going back when we can.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, Australia
1 review
“Lost the plot”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

What was originally a local pub offering great value and tasty meals has degenerated to pricey low quality meals. Sad to see the decline under the one owner.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Where’s the ‘Better’ Service and Wine?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

When hanging your hat on a celebrity quote you do need to ensure you stay true to it. And true to it is what Bettenay’s at The Prince Alfred Hotel does. The food is unpretentious, the mood is down-to-earth mood and they undoubtedly have good beer. However Matt Preston’s quote does not convey any experience of service or the wine list, and it’s in these two areas that Bettenay’s lets itself down.

Gastro-pub goers beware; this is a family-friendly pub which serves interesting and hearty food at a good price. The menu is reasonably broad, so there’s pretty much something for everyone, including a selection of smaller staples for 'little people'. I was surprised (and a little impressed) to see the ‘GF’ advertised on their steaks and Fish of the Day dish, a pleasant change, although several of the other dishes and sides I would have expected to be Gluten Free were not tagged.

I ordered the GF oven roasted blue eye with roasted potato, sweet potato, onion, parsley, hommus and lemon $29. The blue eye was lovely, fresh and perfectly cooked, and sat on a bed of the combined balance of ingredients which made and interesting sort of chunky smash. Although I was concerned by the addition of croutons, and when I queried the waitress as to whether they were indeed Gluten Free, she looked at me blankly and indicated they would not be. A rather strange addition to the dish, it then fuelled my doubts over the GF nature of the rest of the dish.

Others at our table ordered Fish and Chips $24 – tasty but not noteworthy fried fare; Salt & Pepper Squid $20 – tender juicy morsels with a side of rocket and lemon line aioli; Gippsland Porterhouse $32 – a good cut with good flavour cooked exactly to order; the Famous $15 Porterhouse Classic – just as good although a lesser cut and stacked with fries; Broccolini with Pomegranate dressing $9 – a delicious side indeed if not the stems a little woody. All this and the company of our family would have made for a most enjoyable night if not for two aspects.

First, it was packed on this Friday night; a good indication of the quality of the food. But it meant that service was terribly slow both in placing an order and in receiving it. Second, the wine list is pretty bad. The best pick of the Tim Gramp Cabernet was sadly sold out, leaving us with the Jim Barry CSM $45 – a rather lack lustre wine from Jim who’s better known for his whites, particularly Riesling, of which Bettenay’s had none.

I’m not sure who conjured up the eclectic but sub-average list but they obviously don’t know a lot about wine, and like many restaurant wine lists these days, it’s driven by wine reps trying to move really cheap wine so restaurant can employ a big enough mark-up without appearing to be over charging. Unfortunately the list is bad and they, like so many others, could really use the help of Antony Anderson’s Wine Matchmaker roving sommelier service.

If wine’s not your poison then there is a very good selection of beers and ciders that may be more to your liking (and probably a better alternative than most, if not all, choices on the wine list). It was also unfortunate that the bar staff seemed to be rather disorganised – our drinks service generally was very tardy indeed, and it was hard to grab the wait staff’s attention as they busily looked through you scanning the dining room with a vacant well-meaning but ineffectual stare that makes you feel like you’re being deliberately ignored. And with the frustration of our experience at Bettenay’s we really didn’t feel we could persist through dessert and so called our evening to a slightly early close.

Would I return to Bettenay’s? Sure, I’d give it another go for a midweek lunch or Tuesday dinner (Monday is Trivia Night and Wednesday is $15 Pizza with Texas Hold’em Poker), but I’d ensure I went back outside their peak times. Oh, yeah … and I’d opt for a cider.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Good value food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

A trip early on a Thursday night for the $15 deal of Parma and chips with salad or Fish and Chips or Porterhouse with mash and beans with red wine or béarnaise sauce.
Despite being at the budget end of the menu all of the food was good and the steaks cooked as ordered. Family atmosphere with children and babies present. Good range of beers.
Recommended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bettenay's Prince Albert Hotel also viewed

Williamstown, Hobsons Bay
Williamstown, Hobsons Bay
 
Williamstown, Hobsons Bay
Williamstown, Hobsons Bay
 

Been to Bettenay's Prince Albert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bettenay's Prince Albert Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.