We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bed and Breakfast at Stephanie's

Bed and Breakfast at Stephanie's
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bed and Breakfast at Stephanie's to your Saves list
Bed and Breakfast at Stephanie's
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   157 Ferguson St, Williamstown, Hobsons Bay, Victoria 3016, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Williamstown B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
“Excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

From the time we arrived until the time we departed Stephanie was the perfect hostess. The room we had was very clean and tidy. Stephanie organized a taxi for us, arriving on time. Breakfast was very good with the orange juice perfect. We would recommend this place and would happily return at a later date. Patricia and Noel Burwood

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    4
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
4
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

My husband and I recently spent a Saturday night in this delightful House. We had a spacious Queen room up the front ( which I think was one of the lowest priced rooms). And i was very happy with the lovely Queen bed, and its white linen. There was a electric blanket which we didnt need,as the room was warm enough with the heating. Very quiet location even though it is on a main street, and only a short walk to all the resturants. The breakfast is served in a lovely sunroom at the front of the house overlooking a lovely garden. If you come away hungry after brekky it is your own fault, you even get fresh orange juice and a cappuccino. The very friendly owner was there to greet us and also at breakfast and could not have been more helpful, telling us what was going on around town, and a few places suitable for our evening meal. A great place to stay will certainly be recommending it to anyone for a relaxing night away.

Room Tip: All rooms would be suitable, some rooms are much bigger than others , depending on your needs ( do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Owner unfriendly and officious when checking in. No lounge, no outdoor area except veranda facing street. Room nice, air con worked well thank goodness. About 30 mins walking distance from town centre.

Room Tip: Room at front noisiest as faces street and opposite dining room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

My husband and I booked one night after a trip to Tasmania. We had a lovely room with a closed in deck. The bed was very comfortable and the breakfast was fantastic. Both Stephanie and her husband go out of their way to make you feel comfortable. This level of service is hard to find.

Room Tip: Pictures are on internet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

We spent two nights at Stephanie's and thoroughly enjoyed it. Beautiful old heritage building with lots of original features. Spacious rooms, spotlessly clean, enormous king bed plus all the mod cons, large tv and wireless internet. Breakfast served in the breakfast room each morning. Extremly quiet location, didn't realize we were staying with other guests. Easy access to all Williamstown restaurants or take the nearby strain to the city.
Will be back.

Room Tip: Check out the photosnon the website, they are exactly the same as the rooms, no hidden surprises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

We had a pleasure of staying at Stephanie's for 4 nights recently. The two rooms were huge and very comfortable. Breakfast is served in a lovely light sunlounge and an order is placed the night before a left on the table in the Hall together with your choice of time. This works extremely well and the breakfast was excellent with a varied choice of freshly squeezed orange juice, cereal, choice of cooked breakfast etc.etc. In each room there is a bottle of port and every evening a small bag of chocolate were left - a delightful touch and much appreciated. Stephanies is only a short walk from North Williamstown station where frequent trains go to Melbourne. You can also take a river trip but unfortunately they had stopped for the evening when we arrived to do this. Stephanie and Phillip are great hosts and very welcoming.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

I booked a 2 night stay at the Cottage at Stephanie’s through an accommodation website and shortly after I was telephoned and asked if my booking could be transferred to a room in the B&B as the guests in the Cottage had decided to extend their stay. I agreed and was advised that while the management was unable to offer me a reduction in price, I would be receive breakfast and would be given some specials treats for agreeing to the change. After looking at the Stephanie’s website I realized that most rooms had a shower over a cast iron bath which was not suitable for my elderly mother so I phoned to discuss options and was offered the Executive Apartment which had a walk in shower. On check in, after a 5 hour trip, we asked if there was milk in the fridge and found a small carton of UHT milk which was opened and almost empty and immediately removed by the staff member who had showed us to the apartment. A sign on the kitchen wall advised that there was a ‘starter pack’ supplied but in the pantry we only found a selection of groceries, apparently left by previous guests, which included a few assorted tea bags in a jar, an empty but unwashed sugar bowl, an open bag of raw sugar which was 6 months out of date, an even older and emptier bag of white sugar and a jar containing about 2 teaspoons of coffee.
As soon as we went upstairs to the bedroom the smell of mould was very obvious and the room needed to be aired before we could use it however the smell returned every time the room was closed up when we were out. We found the cause of this when we lifted the small mat at the door to the balcony and found serious and obviously longstanding, mould on the carpet, the bottom of the doors and the underside of the mat.
On our first evening we had noticed evidence of old water penetration in the ceiling of the downstairs area and when we returned on the second evening found a substantial puddle of water on the floor and the lounges which we cleaned up and caught overnight with a bucket. When I told Stephanie about the leak on check out, she simply asked if we had put something under the leak. Excuses about not having been able to find the source of the leak despite many attempts didn’t make me feel any better as we had been charged a substantial nightly rate for accommodation which the owner clearly knew to be damaged and unhygenic. I suggested that as the leak was directly under the mould, the source of the leak was pretty obvious.
I think that all travelers accept that sometimes bad weather or exceptional circumstances cause issues beyond management control but in the case of the Executive Apartment at Stephanie’s, these issues are obviously longstanding and not adequately managed. I feel very disappointed to have paid top dollar for accommodation that is in fact a health hazard and should be repaired before it is let further.
On the plus side the bed was very comfortable and the apartment quite spacious.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Bed and Breakfast at Stephanie's, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
We are so very sorry that we failed this guest. Sometimes you forget that you are not perfect, particularly when hundreds, no not hundreds, thousands of guests just love what we do for them on their stay away from home.
However this type of feedback brings you back to earth because we did let this guest down and we are truly apologetic. We conveyed our apologies to the guest in person on check-out, obviously this was not enough because now the world knows we let her down.
There were two valid points to her objection, firstly the lack of milk which we discovered on check-in but failed to replace. A quick reminder from the guest would have fixed this problem immediately. A second valid point was the mouldy carpet ( a tiny section hard up against double glass doors to the balcony) but it did emit a smell when the apartment was locked up. We have since replaced all of the carpet in the upstairs bedroom and mezzanine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williamstown
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#2 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,336 reviews
Quality Suites D’Olive
#2 of 2 in Point Cook
4.5 of 5 stars 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Captains Retreat
#1 of 4 in Williamstown
5.0 of 5 stars 102 reviews
Punthill Williamstown
#1 of 7 in Williamstown
4.0 of 5 stars 78 reviews
Quest Williamstown
#4 of 7 in Williamstown
3.5 of 5 stars 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed and Breakfast at Stephanie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast at Stephanie's

Address: 157 Ferguson St, Williamstown, Hobsons Bay, Victoria 3016, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Hobsons Bay > Williamstown
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Williamstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bed and Breakfast at Stephanie's 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stephanies Cottage and Stephanies Apartment are still here (newly refurbished) and are now managed by Melissa and the team from Captains Retreat (The Stephanie's B&B house has been sold). Now known as 'Stephanies Cottage - courtyard apartment' and 'Stephanies Cottage' - heritage apartment, this delightful Victorian cottage has been divided into two completely separate apartments and have been stylishly decorated by Melissa with fantastically comfortable beds. The front apartment is accessed from Ferguson St. The rear apartment is accessed from Little Ferguson St. Details as follows: Stephanie's Cottage - Courtyard Aparment (1 bedroom): Suitable for single or couple. Delightful 1 bedroom cottage with high ceilings and period features. Separate lounge room. Front veranda with view onto Ferguson St. Queen bedroom. Separate toilet. Separate laundry. Bathroom with separate shower and bath. N.B. No kitchen - but does have small fridge, kettle, microwave, toaster, crockery, cutlery etc. Stephanie's Cottage - Heritage Apartment (1.5 Bedroom): Suitable for single or couple or small family. (N.B. The bathroom is an ensuite so access is via the queen bedroom). Modern 2-storey apartment with paved courtyard garden (can fit one car). Large open kitchen living with French doors onto the courtyard. 1 Queen bedroom with en-suite. Second mezzanine room with twin beds Washing machine. The Stephanies Cottage apartments are half way between the shops and the beach (10 minute walk each way). They are also only a 2-minute walk from Williamstown North Station so it is an easy train ride into the CBD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Bed and Breakfast at Stephanie's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bed and Breakfast at Stephanie's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.