We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an amazing find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ragusa

Ragusa
139 Nelson Place, Williamstown, Hobsons Bay, Victoria 3016, Australia
(03) 9399 8500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 73 Restaurants in Williamstown
Cuisines: Croatian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Melbourne
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“What an amazing find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

My husband and I were walking along and discovered this little gem of a restaurant. At first the menu frightened us a little but we decided to be adventurous and try something different. This place was amazing! The food, the service and atmosphere was perfect. So many different delicious sounding meals. We didn't have room for desert which was sad and we've since heard their dumplings are to die for! We loved everything we had and will be back for more.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    9
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Favorite place in Williamstown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The food was initially a little out of my comfort zone, but I’ve since realized that pretty much anything from this place is great, and I’m really trying things I wouldn’t normally get. The service is great, we’re always seated quickly (we never make bookings, just walk in); our order is taken as soon as we’re ready, and the food starts coming out shortly afterwards. I especially love their homemade complimentary bread rolls that must be put in the oven as soon as you walk in, they’re hot and fresh every time.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Faultless”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I can't fault Ragusa, everything about this gem of a restaurant is perfect from the casual yet welcoming and efficient service of the wait staff through the wine menu and varied options for entree, mains, deserts and sides - it is simply perfect.

The yabby risotto and morton bay bug are to die for and the sarma is heaven.

The calamari salad is light and full of flavour.

No words I share here will convince you, you must go and try it yourself and be amazed at how such humble food can become so extroadinary.

10 out of 10

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Amazing Croatian food and wine.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Combine the fresh food (interesting menu) with local and imported Croatian wine and you have the recipe for a great meal out.

Our waiter was attentive, friendly and helpful when it came to advising us about red wine from Hvar to accompany our chosen dishes.

The only thing to improve is the lighting. Though low ambient light is pleasant, a small candle on our table would have made a nice difference. Our corner was quite dark.

We highly recommend Ragusa.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Croatian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

The squid ink dumplings were fantastic and reminded me of a dish that I loved in Split. Williamstown is lucky to have such a great alternate dining option.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ragusa also viewed

Williamstown, Hobsons Bay
Williamstown, Hobsons Bay
 
Williamstown, Hobsons Bay
Williamstown, Hobsons Bay
 

Been to Ragusa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ragusa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.