We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite place in Williamstown” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ragusa

Ragusa
139 Nelson Place, Williamstown, Hobsons Bay, Victoria 3016, Australia
(03) 9399 8500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 79 Restaurants in Williamstown
Cuisines: Croatian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Favorite place in Williamstown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The food was initially a little out of my comfort zone, but I’ve since realized that pretty much anything from this place is great, and I’m really trying things I wouldn’t normally get. The service is great, we’re always seated quickly (we never make bookings, just walk in); our order is taken as soon as we’re ready, and the food starts coming out shortly afterwards. I especially love their homemade complimentary bread rolls that must be put in the oven as soon as you walk in, they’re hot and fresh every time.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    9
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Faultless”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I can't fault Ragusa, everything about this gem of a restaurant is perfect from the casual yet welcoming and efficient service of the wait staff through the wine menu and varied options for entree, mains, deserts and sides - it is simply perfect.

The yabby risotto and morton bay bug are to die for and the sarma is heaven.

The calamari salad is light and full of flavour.

No words I share here will convince you, you must go and try it yourself and be amazed at how such humble food can become so extroadinary.

10 out of 10

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Amazing Croatian food and wine.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Combine the fresh food (interesting menu) with local and imported Croatian wine and you have the recipe for a great meal out.

Our waiter was attentive, friendly and helpful when it came to advising us about red wine from Hvar to accompany our chosen dishes.

The only thing to improve is the lighting. Though low ambient light is pleasant, a small candle on our table would have made a nice difference. Our corner was quite dark.

We highly recommend Ragusa.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Croatian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

The squid ink dumplings were fantastic and reminded me of a dish that I loved in Split. Williamstown is lucky to have such a great alternate dining option.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Very impressed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I was in Williamstown for a few days to work so I checked Trip Advisor for restaurant recommendations before I left home. Ragusa was highly rated and lived up to the hype.
I was by myself and was given a good table with a view across the room to the bar. First course was bugs, great. Main was Croatian cabbage rolls, delicious.
Two courses, wine and coffee for under $80, very satisfied.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ragusa also viewed

Williamstown, Hobsons Bay
Williamstown, Hobsons Bay
 
Williamstown, Hobsons Bay
Williamstown, Hobsons Bay
 

Been to Ragusa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ragusa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.