We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Improvement” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Pebble Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Pebble Melbourne to your Saves list
Golden Pebble Melbourne
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Boronia Road, Wantirna, Victoria 3152, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wantirna
Queenstown, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Big Improvement”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

They are getting their act together. Having read some of the reviews on here, I can see that this hotel has taken notice and cares about reviews. We DO have the power! The breakfast does have fruit and I can see there are contractors painting and doing work in sealing the bathrooms. The Chinese restaurant was not for me but I was able to charge back a great western style meal from the club across the road where I also had a great time in the sports bar and pokies. It's not a bad combination.

Room Tip: While this is in the suburbs, the King rooms are a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan S, General Manager at Golden Pebble Melbourne, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you for your complimentary comments. Yes things are improving and feedback is always welcome, be it positive or negative. Our in house guest feedback forms have reflected a considerable improvement in how our guests see our Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    17
    14
    6
    11
See reviews for
11
15
8
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for work (they booked) and it was ok for accomm. Eat over the road or elsewhere as the chinese food is very ordinary and breakfast "help yourself" was absolutely poor. Who serves Frankfurts instead of sausages and where was the fresh fruit and yoghurt??? And real coffee not percolated dishwater please

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockyer Valley
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We needed to stay close to Knox Private Hospital to visit a family member. Parking is good. Reception is good. We arrived at Lunch time and had the Yum Cha which was beautiful. Service was attentive. Our room was roomy and quiet with no traffic noise. A tired lay-down couch. Bed was okay but could be made better with mattress topper. Mini bar a bit sparse but adequate.Hallway was clean and well light and quiet. Graffitti in lift is not a good look.No offer to take bags to the room. Small television difficult to see from bed.

Main gripe we had was the cleanliness. Mainly evident in the bathroom which had a running toilet too. Shower over bath with good water pressure. At first I thought the walls were stained or old but a rub with soap on a cloth showed it was dirt and mould. You can see from photo I took the clean spot where I cleaned. Tiles on side of bath were dirty and the bathroom floor needed scrub too. Mould in grouting area too. As a guest when you see such grime then you start to wonder about the cleanliness of other things.

We had dinner in the Chinese Restaurant that night and service was abismal. Although they were extremely busy. It was very noisy too. We should have just got room service. Next morning we were very thirsty so either MSG or too much salt. Food was average.

We did not have breakfast at the hotel.

This place could be really nice with a bit of TLC. Property is for sale and it shows. At the moment probably only a 3-4 star.

Room Tip: Ask for room at back to avoid traffic noise as it is on busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan S, General Manager at Golden Pebble Melbourne, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
March 2014: We have cleaned up our act. All rooms have had new caulking around the baths to fix the problems highlighted in your photos, the rooms have been painted and we have changed our cleaning contractors. Guest feed back is very valuable to us. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langwarrin, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Stayed one night in a twin room with my Brother. It was reasonably clean and decor was better than I expected. Freshly painted walls in the hallway. Pleasant check in and out service. TV worked fine. Given that we were only there for a few hours sleep we weren't really in a position to partake in anything else the hotel offers. No idea what the food is like.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
229 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

this is advertised as 4 star. its probably 2 and a half at best. I dont like to be negative unlesd its really warranted but I definitely wont be back here.
the walls were dirty. looked like dried coke or syrup in patches. floor had cigarette burns marks and looked dirty and the couch had cigarette burn holes and stains that were ingrained. bathroom was freshly painted but already was flaking of the wall and mold in the shower/bath.
some traffic noise in the morning.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a romantic getaway in the eastern suburbs. Walked into the "deluxe suite". And was greeted by a large brown stain outside the bathroom. The bathroom itself was filthy.. Didn't use the spa because all the jets were stained brown.
In the lounge area there was no couch to sit on only individual chairs, which was rather strange. The room felt under furnished.
After I left I was quite ill, and after medical investigation, it was found that I had inhaled some sort of toxin.
Everything in the room was way overpriced as well. There was even a sign to say if you took a coat hanger they would charge you $5!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed here as I had some work in the region.

The Good: Rooms were clean, reasonably new

The Bad: Missing the most basic of amenities - No hair dryer for example
No 24 hour room service - not even for basic things
The only food available in the entire hotel is ASIAN/CHINESE food
RIDICULOUSLY expensive mini bar - one small Mars Bar was $4?
Nothing really closeby to purchase any food/drinks if you need any either!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wantirna
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Knox
1.2 mi away
No photo provided
Cavalier Motor Inn
#3 of 3 in Wantirna
3.0 of 5 stars 19 reviews
3.6 mi away
Lifestyle Apartments At Ferntree
Lifestyle Apartments At Ferntree
#1 of 2 in Ferntree Gully
4.5 of 5 stars 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Ringwood Lake
4.7 mi away
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley
4.7 mi away
Novotel Glen Waverley
Novotel Glen Waverley
#1 of 4 in Glen Waverley
4.0 of 5 stars 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Pebble Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Pebble Melbourne

Address: 500 Boronia Road, Wantirna, Victoria 3152, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Wantirna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wantirna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Pebble Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting an on-site restaurant and fitness centre, Golden Pebble Hotel is a 20-minute walk from Knox City Shopping Centre and Westfield Knox. It offers rooms with flat-screen digital TV and a DVD player. Free Wi-Fi is available in public areas.Open daily, Peninsula Restaurant serves breakfast, tasty lunches and delicious dinners. It is a great place to enjoy a casual meal with friends.Each air-conditioned room includes an electric kettle, a refrigerator and a minibar. The private bathroom has a bathtub and hairdryer.Golden Pebble is less than 10 minutes’ drive from Heathmont Golf Park and Bayswater Railway Station. Melbourne city centre is 30 minutes’ drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Golden Pebble Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Pebble Melbourne Wantirna, Victoria, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Pebble Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.