We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Meko Dining

Meko Dining
Shop 31 Wantirna Mall | 326-348 Mountain Hwy, Wantirna, Victoria, Australia
(817) 332-0083
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 81 Restaurants in Wantirna
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We went to this restaurant having been there before with high expectations. We had entrees of calamari and flat pancake which were ok. ( About $14/18).The mains were garlic king prawns ( not deveined) and had 3 prawns and a few veggies for $38. The Tasmanian Salmon was tasteless and was in the high $30's. will not go back and what a shame for a local restaurant .

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    2
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Didn't quite meet expectations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We dined as a group of 8 recently, basing venue choice on previous reviews & several in our party having gold cards from the Melb Entertainment book, which offer significant savings.

Service was disappointingly average & at times painfully slow with only 2 floor staff for at least 40 pax. Both required regular prompting for attention throughout the evening.Our meals were delivered randomly and at staggered times with those happy to wait for everyone eventually facing cold food (a pet hate of mine!). It took 10 minutes for one of the staff to finally acknowledge a "missing meal" had in fact been dropped on the floor with another needing to be cooked again from scratch!

Despite my grumbles, the food once presented was really quite impressive & tasted very good! All dishes were elegantly plated with artistic flair and enjoyed to the last mouthful. None were particularly large, but with rich flavours & dessert to follow we were well satisfied.

I can recommend the Duck Umeboshi with plum sauce which was delicious & my husband's Tempura flounder was also very good. Main's are priced between $33 & $40, with entree's & desserts both around the $20 mark....not a cheap night out! They have a BYO option for wine only, with a surcharge per bottle.

Dissappointing not to receive the level of service expected at those prices!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We went to Meko on two occasions and the food was inspiring. The service was great. I cannot recommend it more highly. Delicious Asian/European menu and the flavours were beautiful. Not only were the meals interesting and original but the restaurant was delightful. Not at all what one would expect to be situated in the location. 10/10, and I will return again and again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We visited Meko tonight for dinner with friends.This very ordinary looking restaurant served up some of the very best food. Although a little pricey, the food were excellent ! The service was also excellent and I would say definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
554 reviews
312 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
“A wonderful surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We went to Meko Dining with a small group of friends and frankly, didn't expect much from an outer eastern restaurant situated in a shopping centre... how wrong can one be?

This is a restaurant of surprisingly high standards. The menu features a range of imaginative Asian/European fusion dishes which are prepared from the finest ingedients, beautifully presented and... very very, tasty.

We shared a Meko special entree... an elaborate tiered platter with an assortment of delicious morsels - very good value at $24. My wife then had Flounder Tempura and I had Breast of Duck Umeboshi (around $32). Both dishes looked sensational and tasted as good as they looked.

Service levels were outstanding! Admittedly it was a quiet night but the staff were ever-present and helpful without being obtrusive. The decor is pleasant and comfortable but perhaps a little bland for such a good restaurant... nay, an excellent restaurant.

Recommended? You bet!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meko Dining also viewed

Wantirna, Greater Melbourne
Wantirna, Greater Melbourne
 
Wantirna, Greater Melbourne
Wantirna, Greater Melbourne
 

Been to Meko Dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meko Dining, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.