We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good family resort.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Resort Torquay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Resort Torquay to your Saves list
Wyndham Resort Torquay
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 The Esplanade, Torquay, Victoria 3228, Australia (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Torquay)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% off
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Torquay
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good family resort.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

My wife brought me a 2 night trip away, which included a bottle of wine, massage and 1 free in house movie. All were very enjoyable. Room was a little small but clean, comfortable with a nice balcony which overlooked the beach on the north east side of the resort. Massage was shared between the 2 of us, 30 min's each (thanks Bernie!), pool is great (lots of kids enjoying it) and there is an indoor pool, spa, tennis CRT and a couple of bbq's. We visited the restaurant but didn't eat here. Great views over ocean and the staff up there were very friendly and welcoming. Overall the visit and stay at Wyndham Resort was very enjoyable.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin E, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Resort Torquay, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear jonmegs,
Thank-you for the review of our Resort and of Torquay, reading many of your posts it sounds like you had a great time in Torquay and we would welcome you back any time. Over the quieter period we do offer many different packages and specials and by the sounds of it you have taken advantage of one of these. It’s great to hear stories of people enjoying their holiday and gives us the opportunity to celebrate the great work our staff do at the Resort.
Kind Regards
Edwin Erftemeyer
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    99
    42
    16
    15
See reviews for
53
112
6
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
gold coast
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The property is well maintained and has plenty for kids to do, the surroundings and set up of the property is nicely done and the rooms are kept clean however arent very big compared to many other apartments I have stayed in.
The pool area is well presented and well designed

Room Tip: Select a room overlooking the pool areas as you can sit on your balcony and watch the pools and surr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin E, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Resort Torquay, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Jeff T,
Thank-you for your review about Wyndham Torquay, I hope enjoyed your visit and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. I recommend the Pool View Apartments personally myself as they are very spacious and are ideally located in the Resort. The outside pools are extremely popular as you would know is the perfect spot for kids to play in summer or to sit, relax and enjoy a cocktail.
Kind Regards
Edwin Erftemeyer
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Booked a package deal for an anniversary weekend away. Phoned booking through and asked for a Pool View Room and booked 3 weeks in advance. Asked for email confirmation. All good until we arrived and did not have the room we asked for. Told "sorry hotel fully booked" by smug reception person, "we cannot do anything for you" Checked my emails and the email I asked for was never sent. So basically too bad. Bed was uncomfortable. Package could have been a good deal if they gave us the room they promised us.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view or seaview room. If you want quiet ask for rooms at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin E, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Resort Torquay, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear TravelBugs 1967
Thank-you for taking the time to submit your review on Wyndham Torquay. I have looked into the problem you have raised in your review and it appears you have booked on our Indulge package which is in a Resort View Apartment at the Resort which includes a breakfast for 2, facial in our day spa, sparkling wine on arrival and parking. It is a great value package and I hope you were able to enjoy all elements while relaxing on your anniversary. Should we of had availability we would have been able to upgrade you to the room of your preference but unfortunately there were no notes or changes on your reservation in regards to a pool view request.
Kind Regards
Edwin Erftemeyer
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

this property is pleasantly set out and has a selection of pools which are well presented, clean and within easy viewing from a deck chair or your apartment balcony.
The property is just out of the township but across the road from the beach. The rooms are average in size but are pleasantly set out and kept clean and well presented,
Torquay is a seaside town and its cold in the winter months but still its quieter if you dont want the touristy stuff.
Reasonably good value for money

Room Tip: take a drive to Bells beach and also check out the surf beach at Torquay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin E, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Resort Torquay, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Bj L,
Thank-you for your most recent review of Wyndham Resort and Torquay; Torquay is an amazing place to visit especially coming into the warmer months. Every third Sunday the Cowrie Market operates on the foreshore and is well worth a visit. There are many coastal events, great picturesque destinations and walking tracks through the Otway’s that can be explored.
We hope to see you again soon.
Regards
Edwin Erftemeyer
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I was contacted by the Wyndham Club advertising a deal which involved us getting a discount rate for a 2 night weekend stay in exchange for participating in a marketing seminar. We took up the offer, having had a good experience at the previous stay. We requested to stay in the same room as last time (a queen on the second floor).

Upon checking in my fiancé and I discovered that we were allocated A TWIN SPECIAL NEEDS ROOM WITH SINGLE BEDS ON THE GROUND FLOOR. I raised this with the staff at reception who were nice but said that they could only change our room the second night. It wasn't too bad, besides the 2 single beds the room was spacious and clean.

The nightmare began the next morning when our fire alarm woke us up at 7am (for no reason, we're not smokers / weren't cooking / boiling water) and continued for another HOUR. An incredibly rude staff member called Selina came to our room only after HALF AN HOUR of the screaming alarm and said first that the maintenance people would look into it (which they didn't) then that the alarm would turn itself off (it didn't).

We complained to the front reception desk and were met by the worst customer service I have ever encountered in Australia. First they refused to acknowledge there was a problem at all, then didn't offer any compromise ("here, you can have $10 off the hotel breakfast"....?!) then antagonized me and inflamed the situation then flat out refused to help. Her words were "we need to put you in club inventory" and after bashing on the keyboard for about 5 seconds said apparently there were no other rooms in club inventory.

While we were in the lobby another Wyndham club member came to ask to be put into a twin room, they had been allocated a queen on the second floor. I told her of my situation and we were happy to swap rooms. Selina then said to her "you're in a club room we cannot swap club rooms for hotel rooms" when her exact words to us were that we were in a club room too!

It appears that if you join the Wyndham club you will be treated second to "hotel" patrons and that hostile treatment will happen to you at best.

By the way, the entire time we were here we could not call call through to reception, the line was always busy and even though we selected the "call back" option noone called us back.

I would not recommend anyone to stay here given the bad taste that bad service leaves in your mouth. We came here for a break, not to argue with useless staff!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin E, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Resort Torquay, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear travelserene,

I am the Guest Service Manager at Wyndham Resort and I would first like to thank-you for your feedback from your stay this weekend and secondly would like to apologise about the lapse in service and respond to the issues raised. This weekend you booked a mini vacation through Wyndham Club for $49 per night; these are booked through Wyndham Club meaning they make the reservation in one of their Club rooms here at the resort. When you have made the booking they have reserved a Twin Accessible Room on the ground floor, you did request a Queen on level 2 but unfortunately the room type they booked for you are only allocated on the ground floor. With all Wyndham Club bookings staff at the Resort cannot change room types as they are exclusively managed by Wyndham Club Reservations. Your feedback has been forwarded on to Owner Services and if you wish to further discuss your reservation please contacts Wyndham Club direct.

When the fire alarm is raised at the resort it activates the alarm in every single room, this is a safety regulation that every hotel in Australia must comply to and unfortunately we cannot control this. As you were in an accessible room the alarm does continue for a longer period, the issue of it sounding for an extended time is currently being investigated by maintenance.

I wish to apologise about the customer service you received on the Saturday morning, I will personally follow up with the staff involved in regards to complaint handling and problem resolution. If you would like to further discuss these issues you faced please do not hesitate to contact myself direct at the Resort.

Kind Regards

Edwin Erftemeyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Got a really good deal on Wotif and were impressed from start to finish. The hotel is great, the pool sensational and the restaurant was above average. The room service food was great for our kids too. Recommended

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin E, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Resort Torquay, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear HawksFan78,

It's great to hear you enjoyed your visit to the Wyndham Resort and hopefully got to enjoy the recent patch of warm weather we experienced. Thanks for your feedback we hope to see you again very soon.

Kind Regards
Edwin Erftemeyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed at this resort and were encouraged with a $100 voucher to listen to a sales pitch for wyndham resorts time share, after 2 hours of discussion, we held steadfast with our no! We were subject to 2 passive aggressive sales man, I felt completely bullied, it totally ruined our stay, contemplating contacting a current affair

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin E, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Resort Torquay, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Sharetheexperience,

Thank-you for the feedback from your stay here at Wyndham Torquay, I am disappointed to hear that the Worldmark Sales presentation was a negative experience in what would otherwise have been an enjoyable holiday. I apologise for the presentation running over time and if it came across as a hard sales pitch; it is not intended to be and your feedback has been passed on to the sales manager. For attending the presentation you did receive a $100 voucher and I do hope you managed to put this to good use whilst at the resort.

Rind Regards
Edwin Erftemeyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Resort Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Resort Torquay

Address: 100 The Esplanade, Torquay, Victoria 3228, Australia (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Torquay)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wyndham Resort Torquay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Resort Torquay showcases some of the best beach views on Victoria’s Surf Coast.Located at the gateway to the Great Ocean Road, this beautiful resort is right opposite the beach at Zeally Bay and offers panoramic ocean views. The resort features stylish guest rooms and spacious apartments, most with patios or private balconies. Many overlook the swimming pool or the beach, delivering spectacular views.Outstanding facilities, amenities and exceptional service make this resort one of a kind. Facilities include a outdoor resort style swimming pool and spa pool, an indoor heated lap pool, barbecue area, a fully equipped gym and tennis court.The onsite restaurant, Latitude-38 overlooks Zeally Bay and serves world-class cuisine. It features a modern, stylish interior and a balcony for alfresco dining. The ground floor Sand Bar is the perfect place to relax for pre or post dinner drinks. The Day Spa at Wyndham offer a variety of relaxing treatments to make any weekend or Holiday special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Wyndham Resort Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Resort Torquay Hotel Torquay
Crowne Plaza Torquay
Wyndham Resort Torquay Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Resort Torquay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.