We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Resort Torquay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Resort Torquay to your Saves list
Wyndham Resort Torquay
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 The Esplanade, Torquay, Victoria 3228, Australia (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Torquay)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Torquay
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Me and my wife decided to head down there from Sydney for a few days for some R&R and it was well worth it. The location is great and is right on the beach a little over a hour’s drive south of the Melbourne CBD so It’s easy enough to get to if you want to spend the day in Melbourne. The onsite restaurant and bar are one of the best I have seen from a wyndham resort and will do room service until 11pm. They also have an onsite spa however we did not try it out so I can’t comment.
Room quality was also one of the better wyndham’s I have been to and is on par with your average 3.5 star.
One thing I would note though is that as the site is quite remote there are no restaurants within walking distance (at least that I could find) so you have to travel a bit to get a bite to eat.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin E, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Resort Torquay, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Ryan T,
Thanks for your latest review and for taking the time to provide us with feedback from you're visit. The completion of the Ring Road around Geelong makes Torquay the only place to visit this Spring and Summer, and as you mention is a short trip from Melbourne and your on the door step to some of Victoria's greatest beaches.
Keep an eye on our website for the some special holiday deals that are about to be released and I hope we see you again.

Kind Regards
Edwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    84
    32
    15
    15
See reviews for
41
99
4
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vic
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for a weekend. We had a very pleasant stay. We arrived to our room with only two single beds when we were wanting a king we called reception and they instantly upgraded us free of charge. Very polite staff amazing resort. Winter time great runs along the beach and nice local cafes. Have also stayed in summer time, pool area is amazing!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin E, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Resort Torquay, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear Viczoe,

Thank-you for your latest review, it's much appreciated. Our Hotel team have outstanding customer service skills and it's great we can celebrate their hard work. The team now the best locations in Torquay for coffee or breakfast so for anyone visiting don't hesitate to ask.
Look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards
Edwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Valet parking here involves YOU taking YOUR luggage from your car to the room and then taking the keys back to reception so the receptionist will then park the car !!! My advice, dont pay for this service because there isn't any. Just park it yourself and save $20. Reception staff lack personal professsional service skills, their knowledge of room numbers on which floor will have you thinking you are in a maze. After booking on line and confirmation of a full buffet breakfast, on arrival we were informed the price only offers continental breakfast, in room only. Now to the room, freezing cold the heater took some hours to warm the room. If you require another blanket be prepared to wait over 40minutes for one. Spare linen is not provided in the room. Not sure what or whom has been on the couch but my observations are somebody has left those obvious stains .Beware of the step over bath for a shower very slippery when wet!! Now for the view mmmmm we were expecting to see the ocean, but surprise surprise, I am looking at builders and a whole lot of construction going on hammers and all. We are very disappointed with this Hotel, never again, I am in hope the public read these experiences from other patrons and feel like they need to leave earlier than planned due to the worst service and facilities we have ever experienced.

Room Tip: For mature aged patrons ask for a walk in shower instead of over the bath. This available arrangemen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin E, Manager at Wyndham Resort Torquay, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Dear thejoys1956 , Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Wyndham Resort Torquay.
We value your comments, as it is through such feedback that we can continue to provide an enjoyable and relaxing experience for our guests.
Although valet parking is currently offered as an option at the resort because of the double-bay design of some of the carparks, we do not have driveway attendants. Therefore, it is necessary for guests to make themselves known to reception upon arrival. Our reception team, as standard, offer assistance with luggage and valet parking. We apologise that in this case you were not offered .This will be followed up with corrective action as required.
The Winter Warmer package which you purchased online reflects a Continental breakfast inclusion. All collateral has been checked to confirm this. An upgrade to a full breakfast was purchased at the resort. When speaking with you at the Resort you mentioned you were delighted with the Restaurant service and as a measure of goodwill for your dissatisfaction otherwise, the breakfast charges were deducted.
The room heater has been checked and found to be functioning normally. We regret that blanket delivery took an inordinate amount of time. Again, this will be followed up with corrective action as required.
Despite our very close proximity to the beach, there are few room types which enjoy full ocean views. The package booked was based on our basic Queen Resort View room type, which is stated in all collateral promoting the package.
I addressed these issues with you on Saturday immediately upon being alerted of your dissatisfaction. Unfortunately I could not dissuade your decision to leave early. I am grateful for the opportunity to discuss feedback directly.
Our thanks once again for your feedback and the opportunity to ensure that our product is reflected accurately in the market place.

Kind Regards,
Greta Collins
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed here as a couple while exploring the great ocean road. Overall the stay was not terrible, but we left wanting a lot more than the Wyndham was able to provide.

Arrived at around 6pm. Check in service was a little rigid and awkward. Wasn’t engaged in any info about the hotel facilities and restaurant etc. For example would have been nice (and beneficial for the hotel) if we’d been given a tip off on happy hour specials, and maybe offered dinner reservations? When I asked about parking I was quickly informed that they were extremely busy and the car park was full, but conveniently a $14 valet service was available. Politely declined and luckily managed to score a park in the free outdoor bays, of which there were only about 20. Seems either a blatant design floor that there is not enough parking for guests, or ploy to up sell; take your pick. I was also annoyed at the patronising remark that I could not leave my car parked in concierge. Small detail but being reminded of the obvious like this is not necessary and certainly the comment did not improve my first impressions.

We were given directions to our room along the lines of (no exaggeration) "see that walkway? go across there, up that ramp, through the glass doors, past the first lift, don’t go up the first lift, down the hallway past the glass atrium, keep going down the hall, follow hall around to the left, keep going, go up the second lift, room is down the hall". A map was given us to help of course and luckily we didn’t get lost. 3-4 minutes walk later we arrived at our room at the far corner of the hotel. Would have been nice if someone had shown us to our room, and helped to take our bags to our room.

Our first reaction to seeing the room was “wow what is that smell?”…. smelt like the sewerage had backed up, combined with wet dog and mildew. Airing out improved the situation but every time we returned to the room the smell was there and strong as ever. Had we been staying for more than one night we would have definitely asked to move. Other than the smell, the room was very nice. Comfortable Queen Bed, balcony LCD television, Modern bathroom and large shower. All expected amenities available. Still, with our sense of smell taking a beating it was hard to appreciate this.

Had a couple of drinks at the cocktail lounge which was more of a sports bar but fairly quiet. Happy hour was 6-8pm. We then had dinner at Latitude restaurant. This was the highlight with a small but pleasant selection of menu items. Excellent service from the waiters and really the only time we felt true 4 star service at the hotel.

Checkout was 11am and no issues, although were not asked how we enjoyed our stay.

In summary I did have high hopes for the Wyndham, but it did not live up to my expectations. Had this been a $100 room and a 3.5 star hotel this review would probably be a little more positive, however with an advertised standard rate of $450 (paid $170 base) we were left wanting more.

We have stayed at numerous 4 and 5 star hotels / resorts in Australia and abroad and this ranks poorly among them. Room was modern and clean but the smell ruined this. Service was well below par; not terrible by any means but for a 4+ star resort the quantity of short comings can not be forgiven. This review could easily have been 4 or 5 stars with a few slight adjustments to the service and a different (pleasant smelling) room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin E, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Resort Torquay, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear Nothing Leice Dane, thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Wyndham Resort Torquay.
We value your comments, as it is through such feedback that we can continue enriching people lives through count on me service, great destinations and memorable experiences.
Please be assured that the service deficiencies you have highlighted will be followed up with corrective action as required.
Regrettably at this quieter time of year, if rooms are not used frequently, the water sitting in the drains can develop a sour smell. This is unfortunate, but easily eliminated by flushing water through the drains. Had we been made aware of this at the time, we could have addressed the issue promptly or offered an alternative room.
Should you choose to return to the resort in the future, we encourage you to book direct with us so that we may ensure your stay is without incident.
Kind Regards
Edwin Erftemeyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

Husband and I spent two nights here while exploring the Great Ocean Road.
The rooms were very clean and well presented.
We would definitely be coming back during summer. Shame that a stayed during winter and we couldn't make us of the swimming pool and spa

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin E, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Resort Torquay, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Dear MEL_L-D_33,

It's great to hear we are you're home away from home, your welcome back anytime. Summer is enjoyable time of year and even made more with our pool and spa facilities. If you are game in winter the outdoor spa is heated at 30 degrees and we also have a heated indoor lap pool for those seriously cold days.
See you again soon.
Edwin E
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MELBOURNE
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

what a lovely venue to stay in. we had a 2 bedroom apartment.I took my elderly parents for a few days and we could not have been happier ! staff were delightful, rooms perfect. breakfast in the restaurant was great but the dinner menu is very limited and over rated, I wouldnt have dinner there again.

Room Tip: its a resort, you cant go with expectations of silence. we werent disturbed by anyone/thing.the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin E, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Resort Torquay, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Dear BRONS4, Thank-you for the review and we hope to see you again soon on your next visit to Torquay.
Kind Regards
Eddie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed in 2x 1 bedroom apartments. The rooms were spacious, and clean. Kitchen is well equipped. Staff was very helpful. The outside pool could have been few degrees warmer, but it did not really bother the kids.
It was a pity that the sauna could only be used for extra charge.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin E, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Resort Torquay, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear TiborKov, Thanks for the review of Wyndham Resort it is much appreciated I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and would welcome you back in summer to enjoy the pool yourself, it's funny how children don't feel the cold when there is huge pool to play in.

Kind Regards
Eddie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Resort Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Resort Torquay

Address: 100 The Esplanade, Torquay, Victoria 3228, Australia (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Torquay)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wyndham Resort Torquay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Resort Torquay showcases some of the best beach views on Victoria’s Surf Coast.Located at the gateway to the Great Ocean Road, this beautiful resort is right opposite the beach at Zeally Bay and offers panoramic ocean views. The resort features stylish guest rooms and spacious apartments, most with patios or private balconies. Many overlook the swimming pool or the beach, delivering spectacular views.Outstanding facilities, amenities and exceptional service make this resort one of a kind. Facilities include a outdoor resort style swimming pool and spa pool, an indoor heated lap pool, barbecue area, a fully equipped gym and tennis court.The onsite restaurant, Latitude-38 overlooks Zeally Bay and serves world-class cuisine. It features a modern, stylish interior and a balcony for alfresco dining. The ground floor Sand Bar is the perfect place to relax for pre or post dinner drinks. The Day Spa at Wyndham offer a variety of relaxing treatments to make any weekend or Holiday special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham Resort Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Resort Torquay Hotel Torquay
Crowne Plaza Torquay
Wyndham Resort Torquay Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Resort Torquay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.