We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just beautiful.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Resort Torquay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Resort Torquay to your Saves list
Wyndham Resort Torquay
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 The Esplanade, Torquay, Victoria 3228, Australia (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Torquay)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just beautiful.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Wow! What can I say. We got a bargain through a wotif deal and we were not one bit disappointed. Firstly, we booked two rooms and the receptionist kindly upgraded us to a two bedroom apartment which was fantastic. Very spacious, awesome location and the views from the restaurant are to die for. The facilities are amazing. The kids loved the pool. It's massive! Breakfast was lovely and the staff were very accommodating and friendly. A pool view and/or pool front room would be great, but can't complain with our deal. Would recommend this resort to everyone.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    105
    47
    17
    15
See reviews for
59
129
6
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Booked a short 2 night stay and to visit the Torquay area for the first time.
The resort is in a good location overlooking the beach and is a massive building looking somewhat out of place on a corner of The Esplanade

Check in: Efficient bell people quick to advise where to park etc and very friendly
The agent on check in was very cool in her attitude and didn't at all make me feel welcome. I enquired about a room upgrade and she snapped back that they were full....when I mentioned I meant I wanted to pay for it, she then found something in the system, so we got a 1 Bed Apartment instead of the hotel room. No other information was forthcoming when I asked about the onsite restaurant or facilities available.

Parking is confusing....there is a small onsite car park which is always full (prob 20 cars) and then an underground you can pay $7 per night for. Failing that they explained there is a "paddock" next door you can drive onto. We took the $7 option, which felt like a scary city basement car park.

Room: The hotel is a maze with apartments on two different sides. If you get into the wrong lift you will end up nowhere where you need to be!
Our apartment smelt very musty like it hadn't been aired out in a while as well as dusty in parts. The bathroom however was very clean, fresh and really well fit out with toilet, shower over bath, large mirror and sink plus a washer and dryer.
The kitchen area included a dishwasher, full hotplates and decent bench space. The small fridge only had milk included and tea/coffee was available with a jug.
The dining room table was a good size and the lounge had 4 chairs in total and a very small TV with a small selection of cable channels. The bedroom also had the same size TV.
The balcony stretched the entire length of the apartment with sliding doors and 2 chairs and a table outside. Our view was of parkland and we could see people walking along the track all the time.

Facilities: Too cold to use the pool and did email the day spa but noone got back to me in time.

Restaurant: By far the biggest disappointment of the stay. Latitudes claim to be fine dining and it was far from it. 1/2 hour to take a drink order, 1 1/2 hour to wait for food and a waiter who was very apologetic on the state of the food being offered. We heard numerous patrons complain on the night on how unhappy they were.
Fine dining and the prices they charged does not call for Frozen Chips, or asking for Steak to be well done and coming out rare or seafood platters that were low in actual seafood and tasted off. This along with the poor serving time and the mish mash of confused dishes on the menu was a big let down for what we paid. The Chef really needs to look at his/her menu and fix it quickly.

We checked out a night early as during the previous night we heard young children screaming down the corridor at numerous times and didn't sleep well due to the mustiness and air in the room.
Reception didn't really seem bothered that we checked out early but did ask if we had called them the night before when people were making noise (no, I didn't....after midnight I was way too tired to make a fuss)

I wouldn't return to this resort. Personally would be fantastic for families...spacious apartment and good pool area during summer, however for couples wanting some R & R time, there are other places much better suited.

Room Tip: 1 Bed Apartment would be ideal for a couple with 1 child as the lounge converts to a sofa bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

I recently stayed over the 3 nights as a guest of the wedding. The first thing I noticed is many staff are rude. They either don't want to assist guests or have no idea how to. The rooms are extremely difficult to get to, as the hotel is split into difficult sections and it can be a struggle to get a bag trolley to your room. Our room as beach view and it would have been lovely, had we been able to see out the filthy windows. Our room had a balcony so it wouldn't have been very difficult to clean them. Their check in time is abnormally late compared to other hotels, especially as they are a wedding venue and a large number of people clearly need to check in before the ceremony. The staff made a lot of mistakes, and could not handle all the wedding tasks. Being married myself I could not believe the low level of service the couple received compared to what I did at my wedding. Long story short - don't expect a lot for all the money it costs!!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Stayed here for a conference and wished I could have stayed for a break. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the service was prompt and eating was of a good standard. Good facilities and very clean throughout.

Room Tip: The water front rooms are quiet and views pleasing yet the inward looking rooms towards the pools ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
203 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

This is the second time I have now stayed at this hotel. Little has changed since the last time except a name change.

We are members of this club and stayed in a member room, so not sure re the cost of a room.
This hotel comprises of options for travellers, club members, and permanent residents on the top floors.

Very tidy hotel, across the road from the beach, 15 minute walk into the town restaurants and shops.

Two tips for consideration if planning a stay here.
1) The doors are very heavy to open and hold open with luggage, for someone who has muscle weakness or slightly unstable. This also includes the stairwells and access to the pool deck.
2) We were on L2 facing the town, west elevation. Although great sun to sit on the deck in the evenings, you also get everybody looking at you as they drive their car into the undercover car park. Also, light sleepers may get a little disturbed by the garage door opening all the time in the morning. We only heard this as we slept with the sliding door part way open.

Room Tip: The Famous surf beach, 'Bells Beach' is very near by. This is approximately 6 km away and is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Our stay at the Wyndam Resort was enjoyable. I have stayed here before when it was the Crown Plaza Torquay, and nothing much has changed, it still offers the same level of service. 
Our stay coincided with the Torquay and Otway Classic so it was very busy (and the reason why I was here). The staff did a great job dealing with all the bikes, storing them, and keeping them safe. 
Our accommodation was spacious with a bedroom, bathroom with laundry and living area with kitchen. The styling is modern and well maintained. The bathroom has a washing machine and dryer. The kitchen also has everything you need with stove, dishwasher, microwave/griller/oven, stove and tea/coffee making facility. 
I continue to enjoy staying here. The only negative experience I had was the noise from the hallway travels and you can hear people as they walk by.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

This is a good resort. It is modern, clean and efficient. It is situated across the road from the beach and is a 15 minute walk to the town centre. The resort has great facilities, with its own restaurant, bar, spa, pool, convenience store and gym. The rooms are very well furnished and comes with all the amenities expected of a 4-5 star hotel. However, at this price level, I expected more style, warmth and character. Walking through the long and tight hallways reminded me of my University dorm days.

There are a few things holding the resort back. The rooms are not very well noise insulated. Everything that happens in the hallway (people talking, running children, doors opening and closing) can be heard from the room and can frustrate light sleepers. The room also had an unpleasant smell, which reminds me of 1970s era motels.

The parking situation at the resort is annoying. Parking in the outdoor hotel parking lot is free. However, due to limited number of parking spaces available outside, it is very difficult to find a park. The alternative is to park underneath the hotel, which costs $14 per day under a compulsory valet arrangement. The muddy, unsecured empty lot next door can also be used.

Overall, this resort is good. However, at this price level, I expected a bit more character and attention to detail. I believe it is better suited to families with young children. Would I stay here again? Probably not. There's really nothing special that is pulling me back there. It's a clean and comfortable base from which to explore the Great Ocean Road, but nothing more.

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to the entrance of teh resort. It's a large resort and it can take 5 mins...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
24.3 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne
7.4 mi away
Barwon Heads Resort at 13th Beach
1.5 mi away
RACV Torquay Resort
RACV Torquay Resort
#1 of 6 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 stars 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Cumberland Lorne Resort
1.1 mi away
Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay
24.2 mi away
Mantra Lorne
Mantra Lorne
#8 of 9 in Lorne
3.5 of 5 stars 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Resort Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Resort Torquay

Address: 100 The Esplanade, Torquay, Victoria 3228, Australia (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Torquay)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wyndham Resort Torquay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Resort Torquay showcases some of the best beach views on Victoria’s Surf Coast.Located at the gateway to the Great Ocean Road, this beautiful resort is right opposite the beach at Zeally Bay and offers panoramic ocean views. The resort features stylish guest rooms and spacious apartments, most with patios or private balconies. Many overlook the swimming pool or the beach, delivering spectacular views.Outstanding facilities, amenities and exceptional service make this resort one of a kind. Facilities include a outdoor resort style swimming pool and spa pool, an indoor heated lap pool, barbecue area, a fully equipped gym and tennis court.The onsite restaurant, Latitude-38 overlooks Zeally Bay and serves world-class cuisine. It features a modern, stylish interior and a balcony for alfresco dining. The ground floor Sand Bar is the perfect place to relax for pre or post dinner drinks. The Day Spa at Wyndham offer a variety of relaxing treatments to make any weekend or Holiday special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Wyndham Resort Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Resort Torquay Hotel Torquay
Crowne Plaza Torquay
Wyndham Resort Torquay Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Resort Torquay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.