We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay to your Saves list
Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   2 Sands Boulevarde, Torquay, Victoria 3228, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Torquay
Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Comfortable Room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We bought a surprise voucher on Wotif and Peppers was great value for the price.
Our room 118 did not have a nice view (on the side that looked over the car park) but the room fit out was good quality and had everything we needed. We loved the comfortable king bed, hot strong shower and quality tea and coffee in the room - perfect for our short stay in Torquay.
Would definitely stay here again when visiting Torquay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niccii, General Manager at Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Zahra99,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am delighted to read you enjoyed the resort. We do offer suites and view rooms....It is gorgeous waking up in the morning overlooking our championship golf course. Next time treat yourself!

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Nicole Hill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    106
    68
    23
    17
See reviews for
37
163
11
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We purchased our weekend from Scoopon so we cannot complain about the value.
We arrived from Melbourne to warm up on the golf course and hired a cart as the weather looked dubious. The staff on reception were friendly and helpful.
The golf course was lovely but challenging and we had to abandon our round after 13 holes when the rain set in. We came in to check in to our room and thaw out.
The rooms were clean, nice bathrooms and comfortable bed. We set off to explore the town and look at our dining options for the night.
After reading the bad reviews of Peppers, we decided on eating at the new RACV resort and managed to persuade the manager to fit us in to a late sitting.
The meal at the RACV was excellent so we were glad that we made the trip.
The only bad part of the experience was breakfast at Hannah's restaurant the next day.
It was so bad it was like something out of Faulty Towers!
One poor girl was trying to coordinates the entire restaurant. People were getting annoyed, tables were uncleared and the food was like a school boarding house. We had very low expectations after reading prior reviews but it is a shame that this patrons lasting impression of a nice weekend.
Now we will go searching for a nice local coffee shop!

Room Tip: Overlook golf course if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niccii, General Manager at Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Kim,

Thank you for posting your comments. Please be assured I will be investigating on why your breakfast was not our normal standard on Sunday.

Kind regards,

Nicole Hill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surf Coast
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed and gave a great review a year ago- when you have a great experience you go back. I did and wow, what happened. Location is one of the best in Australia. Great beach but.....

there is nothing fresh or local about this uninspiring menu. Poor service some pizzas that the chef thinks sounds interesting like blue cheese and other strange ingredients- why not do basic food fresh and well. Customers want fresh, local- simple no fuss. The breakfast was all brought in pre processed - I don't think anything was cooked it was just a can open here, an item from the deep freeze there..

No atmosphere like music in a place with million dollar views. Service was non existent- two staff arguing with each other behind the bar ' you know it's ready' said one- the other said ' chef said its not' on and on that went. There is absolutely no sense of urgency.

The person who served us looked like they just rolled out of bed. Much better options in the township that's a 25 minute walk.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niccii, General Manager at Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear SurfCoast Jill,

Thank you for returning to stay with us at Peppers The Sands Resort. I must say I am surprised to read your comments about our menu. We have the same Executive Chef and Food & Beverage Manager operating Hanners Restaurant.

Our breakfast buffet consists of continental which does include poached fruit but, we also offer fresh fruit, fresh fruit salad, freshly made pancakes and frittata, fresh mushrooms, roma tomatoes, but, yes we do offer hash browns which are deep fried but are very popular.

Thank you for your comments. They will be used in making further business decisions.

Kind regards,

Nicole Hill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My partner and I stayed here over the weekend. We purchased a WOT surprise voucher off WOTIF and to our lovely surprise it was for your resort, What can I say.... We had an amazing most enjoyable stay.
Firstly all the staff that we came in contact with were friendly, approached us with a smile and were always helpful. After reading a few bad reviews on here we were not sure what to expect but you all did a fantastic job in making our stay an enjoyable one.
Secondly the staff in the restaurant were approachable, helpful and very friendly. A special thanks to the man behind the bar (I am sorry we cannot remember your name) but he made me a special cocktail made to order.
The food in the restaurant was delicious. We really enjoyed the meals we had here. We ate from both the sit down restaurant and the bar meals.

Our room was lovely- the only down thing was we missed out on a room with a view of the golf course. Our room was comfortable and had everything we needed.

We really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niccii, General Manager at Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Steph1986,

WOT a great surprise you received!! Thank you for taking the time to write about your AMAZING stay. I am delighted your enjoyed your time at Peppers The Sands Resort.

Kind regards,

Nicole Hill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We had a lovely stay at Peppers The Sands Resort over the weekend.

We booked into the Studio Suite and were upgraded to the Premiere Suite, which was fantastic, and the staff were lovely and very welcoming.

Thank you for a fantastic experience, and we look forward to staying with you again soon!

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Room Tip: Premiere Suite was fantastic - large bath, extremely comfortable king size bed and separate lounge/d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niccii, General Manager at Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Georgia,

Thank you for selecting to stay at Peppers The Sands Resort. The team will be delighted to read your comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future. Please introduce yourself to me.

Kind regards,
Nicole Hill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The service was terrible in the restaurant. Food was bland. Let's the whole hotel down. Disappointed. We wanted a romantic weekend away with some fine dining and the restaurant was like a child care centre. Staff not attentive. We ordered 2 drinks at a time to avoid waiting. Even the wedges after golf took forever!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niccii, General Manager at Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear AussieAnge11,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am very concerned and would love to know more information about when you were staying so I can follow up with your comments about Hanners Restaurant. If you get a chance I would greatly appreciate you contacting me on 03 5264 3306.

Kind regards,

Nicole Hill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Gippsland, Victoria
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Bought a 2-night deal on Wotif for $230, included upgrade to a golf course view room. Our room was on the first floor, and the view across to the dunes was wonderful. Watched the rabbits on the golf course at night and the waterbirds by day. (Also the golfers, who seemed happy to play on in the rain.)The room was spotlessly clean and very warm and comfortable. Loved the king-sized bed. Friendly smiling service from Jo at reception. A great place for a Winter relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niccii, General Manager at Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear LinzJen

Thank you for selecting to stay at Peppers The Sands Resort for your recent stay in Torquay. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry the weather was less fortunate for you. Your comments will be shared with the team and Jo in particular will be delighted. We are very fortunate to have a wonderful team.
Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Nicole Hill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay

Address: 2 Sands Boulevarde, Torquay, Victoria 3228, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the northern headland of Torquay nestled against the dunes and at the start of the world famous Great Ocean Road, Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay comprises of two interconnecting, three-level buildings looking out to spectacular views of the surrounding golf course, coastal dunes and Surf Coast, the perfect setting for a short break escape.Located just over an hour from Melbourne and 20 minutes from Geelong, Peppers the Sands Resort Torquay boasts 112 spacious rooms featuring private balconies or terraces with stunning views, tasteful furnishings and premium facilities.Surrounding Peppers The Sands Resort and moulding into the natural landscape of the Surf Coast, is The Sands 18 hole Championship golf course, designed by Stuart Appleby. Choose to do as much or as little as you please. Our signature restaurant, Hanners Restaurant and Bar is one of the region’s most desired dining destinations for locals and visitors and is a must when you stay with us. Peppers The Sands Resort is the ideal place to take an easy stroll from the resort to the sandy beaches, also leading you to Victoria’s most famous surf beach, Bells Beach. The region is also renowned for its boutique wineries, restaurants, colourful cafes, galleries, fishing, surfing and scenic tours along the coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay Hotel Torquay
Peppers The Sands Hotel
Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.