We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, average breakfast” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay

Save Saved
You added Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   2 Sands Boulevarde, Torquay, Victoria 3228, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Torquay
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice room, average breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We have stayed at Peppers before, but not for a few years. The rooms were clean and the beds comfortable. The location is good - only a 5-10 minute drive (max) from supermarkets, numerous restaurants and cafes, and the surf shops. You can easily walk to the beach. We also stayed over the long weekend and saw signage that the pool heating wasn't working - but when we went down to the fitness area, we were told the water was still around 25 degrees. Being a long weekend, it might have been difficult to source a tradesman to complete the repair? The lack of a mini bar suited us, as we usually travel with our own drinks and snacks and end up removing items from the mini bar to fit in our stash, we didn't have to here. We had breakfast on Sunday morning, but it unfortunately left a lot to be desired. I'm a huge fan of a good hot breakfast, emphasis on the word 'hot'. The bacon was stone cold, the hash browns and scrambled eggs not much better. When there were a number of dirty dishes on our table, only some would be cleared for some reason. That being said, there is a good range of breakfast food available and if it was hot, I imagine it would be quite nice. At $18 per head instead of the $30-$40 we would be charged in the city, I felt the price was reasonable. We would come back again, but maybe only if we picked up another mystery deal for a low price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niccii, General Manager at Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Lou,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Peppers The Sands Resort and taking the time to post your comments. Yes, our pool boiler went down late Friday night, Our very reliable contractor was on site very early Saturday morning, a part had to be ordered. Good news, it has been fixed and the water is back at 28 degrees. Lovely temperature for swimming laps. You would have received an email from me apologising for this inconvenience with a return offer.
I do hope we get the opportunity of welcoming you back to Peppers The Sands Resort.

Kind regards,
Nicole Hill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    80
    48
    15
    13
See reviews for
27
117
10
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We book a cozy package and was very disapointed. The room was just a room. No mini bar, the rooms had nice balcony but no chairs!! So you couldn't sit out on the balcony. When we checked inthe young girl had no idea what the copy package included, even the other staff member had no idea. I asked how much it was to upgrade, told $25, great i asked for an upgrade, was then told no we awe fully book. So why not tell e that when i asked how much it is. She advise that we had use of the heated pool! There was a huge sign on reception advising the heater in the pool wasn't working. Reception staff had no idea. Internet was $10 for an2 hours. I have stayed at 3 star resorts and internet is included. Our room fridge had frozen over and could not close the door. The room furniture was in need of replacement, marks all over it. The room bench notes were plastic. The breakfast was just ok. Again in the restaurant rage table tops were plastic and the chairs marked badly. No security parking. I will not stay again. This report is 2 to 3 star only. Staff need extensive training . Over priced

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niccii, General Manager at Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Wardybali,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us over the long weekend and taking the time to share your comments. I must admit I am a little confused what package you booked. We do not offer a cozy or a copy package. I am guessing you mean you booked a Coxy package. Your comments are noted, thank you.

Kind regards,

Nicole Hill
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We booked a special long weekend package that included bed and breakfast for two nights, a dinner and high tea.

While the room was of ok standard, the level of service in the dining room left a lot to be desired. Staff, while friendly enough, need some serious hospitality training!!!!

This is fundamentally a conference venue in a golf course - perhaps ok for conference attendees and holders but not for weekend gourmet-seekers. For such a large venue it was also disappointing not to have a decent relaxing lounge and bar area for guests - although there was a bar where golfers seemed to hang out.

Would we return? Perhaps - but only if we needed a room for the night - and certainly not for dining. There are plenty of much better dining options nearby.

Either the Peppers brand has gone downmarket here or The Sands doesn't deserve the label. Either way - improvement is needed!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niccii, General Manager at Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Pisces4,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us over the long weekend and taking the time to share your comments. Guest feedback is very important to our business. We have not had negative comments for some time. I am sorry you did not find our Food & Beverage offering to be of your liking. I would greatly appreciate the opportunity to speak to you in person to identify exactly what were your concerns so I can discuss with our management team and action accordingly.

If you have a few spare minutes to call me I would greatly appreciate it.

Kind regards,
Nicole Hill
General Manager
03 5264 3333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My husband & I have been talking about booking a weekend away at Peppers Torquay for years! Why did we wait soooo long.....we LOVED IT!
Our deluxe suite overlooking the golf course was sparkling clean, inviting and PEACEFUL right a way from the reception area or noise. (not that it was hectic!) Better still......our bed was like sleeping on a cloud.....definitely not what I expected....usually hotel beds are crisp, cold & make you wish you were home!
The staff in the hotel & restaurant were great.....helpful & friendly! :)
You MUST have dinner in the hotel restaurant....we were worried after reading a few negative reports buuut our meals were superb! A new chef apparently & boy was he spot on with flavours & ideas. We can't wait to go back! :) PS My husband really enjoyed the golf course too!

Room Tip: Top floor.........down near beach end........away from stairs / lifts....overlooking golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niccii, General Manager at Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Joanna,

Thank you for selecting to stay with us. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay.You rated us 5 out of 5. Our entire team will be dlighted to read this.

Thank you again,

Nicole Hill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Sadly I was disappointed with this peppers retreat! I paid for a room overlooking the course and included brekky the next day. We started our 4yr anniversary at Saltair day spa (bliss! Highly recommend this for all) but when we arrived to the sands at 5pm reception was busy, the phones were going nuts and the poor receptionist was left alone to deal with everyone. When we got to our room and opened the door I thought we were back near werribee! The smell of raw sewerage hit us! I sprayed my perfume around thinking that perhaps someone had used the toilet before leaving earlier in the day, having the bathroom fan on and the smell of perfume did NOTHING! The smell came back everytime... From the toilet! I think that some plumbing has gone seriously wrong and have also filled this out on a feedback card which I gave to reception upon check out. We were told the restaurant was booking out quick that night so we drove down the road for dinner which was a nice meal at Half the price.
Ame back to the room to get that delightful smell again... I've got to say, Based on this I wouldn't consider going back as I thought the room would be taken care of more so and for the cost I could have gotten somewhere that smelt less like the werribee sewerage treatment plant :( sorry guys.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niccii, General Manager at Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Harpley,

Thank you for posting your honest feedback. Of course, I am very concerned as you did not enjoy your stay as you did not receive our normal standard .You have a very valid concern.
We have left you a voice message to discuss in more detail. In future I highly recommend you let the front office duty manager know as soon as you notice a problem. Our maintenance team would have actioned this immediately or we would have changed your room. Thank you again for letting us know at check out as the problem now has been fixed.

I do hope we will get the opportunity to speak to you soon.

Kind regards,

Nicole Hill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Vic
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

When you first enter such establishment as this the first impression is what lasts. My wife and I approached the desk and were warmly greeted by Anita. She made the stay worthwhile, she was happy,lovely smile and in for a joke. These are the people, front of house who make your stay worthewhile. We ran into Anita a couple of other times while we were there and she was always so pleasant.
The room was clean and overlooking the golf course, beautiful views and very lovely room. We stayed for two nights and wanted to stay another two and will return once again.
We had dinner in the restaraunt that night and the food, the servce and atmosphere was ten out of ten. The price of the wine we felt a bit expensive but it is a restaraunt. We had breakfast here on the Sunday morning which was a bit of a let down as the food was cold and so was the service, but that will not put us off from going back.
If you are a golfer, this is the place to stay, the course looks magnificent.
We are soory we cannot remember all your names but the lady with Anita on Friday, very nice, the cleaner on Friday night a very pleasant and helpful. The events cordinatoer we met on Saturday afternoon very pleasant and helpful. The waitress, both of them, on Saturday night very good. Breakfast on Sunday agin not so good, a big let down after everything else we experinced.
Keep up the good work guys and Anita, we are looking forward in catching up next time we tay.
Great place to stay.

Room Tip: Try and get the rooms on the first or second floor overlooking the golf course, utterly stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niccii, General Manager at Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Hello Arthur,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Peppers The Sands Resort. We appreciate your kind comments and rating your experience 5 out of 5. We are very fortunate to have a wonderful team . Anita is a long term team member and regularly she receives wonderful comments. Anita will be delighted to read your comments.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Peppers The Sands Resort. We are about to relase cozy winter packages. Please look out for these.

Kind regards,
Nicole Hill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Had a wedding in Torquay so the bride booked us all into this resort and it was great. We stayed in the studio room with a balcony and it was huge !!!! Quite a cheap rate for the wedding too. Facilities great, everything you could think of was covered in the room and the food was terrific the night before in the restaurant. Everything nice and close to get to and walking distance to beach (literally 4 minutes away)

A great getway or book the place for a special occasion - it well worth it.

Room Tip: Any room with a balcony - they are huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niccii, General Manager at Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Taj67,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Peppers The Sands Resort then taking the time to post a comment. Next time you stay I highly recommend one of our suites. Simply stunning!

Please feel free to contact me for your next stay.

Kind regards,
Nicole Hill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay

Address: 2 Sands Boulevarde, Torquay, Victoria 3228, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the northern headland of Torquay nestled against the dunes and at the start of the world famous Great Ocean Road, Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay comprises of two interconnecting, three-level buildings looking out to spectacular views of the surrounding golf course, coastal dunes and Surf Coast, the perfect setting for a short break escape.Located just over an hour from Melbourne and 20 minutes from Geelong, Peppers the Sands Resort Torquay boasts 112 spacious rooms featuring private balconies or terraces with stunning views, tasteful furnishings and premium facilities.Surrounding Peppers The Sands Resort and moulding into the natural landscape of the Surf Coast, is The Sands 18 hole Championship golf course, designed by Stuart Appleby. Choose to do as much or as little as you please. Our signature restaurant, Hanners Restaurant and Bar is one of the region’s most desired dining destinations for locals and visitors and is a must when you stay with us. Peppers The Sands Resort is the ideal place to take an easy stroll from the resort to the sandy beaches, also leading you to Victoria’s most famous surf beach, Bells Beach. The region is also renowned for its boutique wineries, restaurants, colourful cafes, galleries, fishing, surfing and scenic tours along the coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay Hotel Torquay
Peppers The Sands Hotel
Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.