We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Yet Again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of RACV Torquay Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added RACV Torquay Resort to your Saves list
RACV Torquay Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Great Ocean Road, Torquay, Victoria 3228, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
25% Off for Members
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Torquay
Sunbury
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Yet Again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

This was my third stay at this resort. The rooms are very well presented and quite large. The reception staff are so friendly and always ready to help at any time. The pool and spa are so relaxing even though the resort was fully booked we never felt like there were too many people around. We always feel very special staying at this resort. Keep up the great work to all the staff. As I do feel that everyone made our stay comfortable. And Yes I will be back again very soon.

Room Tip: It does not matter what room you have they are all lovely and you can see the ocean from them all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RACVTorquayResort, Manager at RACV Torquay Resort, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Dear 'planekeen'

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience following your recent stay at the RACV Torquay Resort. It’s particularly pleasing to note that you were a returning, multiple stay guest.

We're very proud of the facilities that we are able to offer our members and guests, but without the right people these are in essence just ‘bricks and mortar’. We have a great team working at the RACV Torquay Resort who work very hard to ensure that the experience of every guest is delivered to the standard expected, but more importantly done so consistently. We are delighted that we have, in your experience as a return guest, achieved this.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back, yet again, when you are next able to take a break away to Torquay and the Great Ocean Road.

Kind regards

Dean Newell
Resort Manager
RACV Torquay Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    29
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
33
86
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
kyneton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We have just returned home from a wonderful stay at Torquay Resort and found the Accommodation and Services were excellent. Staff wonderful,food delicious, rooms and bathrooms for disabled excellent could not ask for better.We have no hesitation in recommending to anyone.We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RACVTorquayResort, Manager at RACV Torquay Resort, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Dear 'wendytKyneton'

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience following your recent stay at the RACV Torquay Resort.

We're delighted that you were able to make full use of the facilities and enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again for taking the time to provide your feedback and we hope it is not too long before you are able to make a return visit to the RACV Torquay Resort to enjoy all that the Surf Coast has to offer.

Kind regards

Dean Newell
Resort Manager
RACV Torquay Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Loved this hotel. Staff were awesome for Australian standards, room was excellent, Gym and pool area were great.
Tennis court awesome,view amazing.

The food was disgraceful.

The restaurant service waiters etc was great, but they should seriously retrain or sack the chefs.

Its maybe the worst food i have had

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RACVTorquayResort, Manager at RACV Torquay Resort, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Dear 'tommyblack1111'

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience at the RACV Torquay Resort. We're delighted that overall you had an enjoyable stay with the facilities enhanced by the service of our staff.

It is certainly disappointing to read of your dissatisfaction with the food, this is certainly inconsistent with the vast majority of feedback that we receive. It is quite some time since you stayed so linking your feedback to a specific incident that the kitchen may have been aware of is very difficult. I have sent you a message in the hope of gaining further insight into the specific issues you experienced, but not as yet received a response. Please feel free to contact me should you wish to discuss this further.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide your feedback. We hope we’ll have the opportunity to welcome you back to the RACV Torquay Resort when you next visit Torquay and the Surf Coast.

Kind regards

Dean Newell
Resort Manager
RACV Torquay Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

if U-bought lunch in this restaurant, which looks like it would be more suited to Argentina, Chili or central Berlin...if you...get my ...drift...on a Sunday, you would expect a matching Teutonic , authoritarian, menu...and you would be right !!! this Mamooth place ( which makes Dubai Airport look cosy ) has a huge kitchen,5,visible,very fit cooks,5 serving staff and ,a duty manager.The weirdest thing is yet to come...the Sunday lunch menu has only TWO main courses on it !!! yes folks...two, very inspiring, reflecting the $100 millions investment...main courses to choose from...Roast Pork...or Roast Beef !!! on the top of this, an 18 years old new bride ,who would have starred at an oven trying to watch reruns of Perfect Match ...would have done a better job....Wrong cuts from yearlings ( the size gave it away ) and flavourless young lean pigs ( I have bought much better roasting pork at the local market for $ 7.99 kg...) Wrong temperatures and cooking times made them both dry and overcooked to... tasteless, so tough my racv knife was barely capable to cope..( nearly called the van..),young untrained waitress confirming my beef was "rare" when it looked so obviously...way passed dry...did not help!, grandma vegetables ( overcooked potatoes and pumpkin..) were left on the table with ,for 4 persons,150gr of cauliflower,half baked in an imitation" white sauce",not a Béchamel or Mornay, just blend!, and a green salad mix ( very inspired there...) no comments on service as it is obviously still teething. I hear Phillipe Mouchel is visiting soon, please let him show you how to ,buy ,age, cook and rest meat...really. The r in racv used to stand for reliable...not anymore !

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RACVTorquayResort, Manager at RACV Torquay Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear ‘Frank R’,

Thank you for your feedback. It is disappointing to hear of your dissatisfaction with your recent experience at the RACV Torquay Resort, and certainly unexpected as having followed up on your feedback it appears that your concerns were not raised with the staff on duty on the day. It is disappointing that we did not have the opportunity to address your concerns at the time.

Number One, our signature restaurant operates for breakfast and dinner every day. Breakfast offers an extensive buffet and dinner an a la carte menu which showcases the best of the region. On Sunday we also open for lunch offering a traditional Sunday Roast Carvery which features, as you have mentioned, two roast options for main course, with the opportunity to add an entrée, dessert or both. We do not promote this as an a la carte lunch and certainly apologise for any confusion.

We recognise that our diners are looking for alternatives and for lunch we offer the option of a lighter meal in Harding’s Lounge; sandwiches, burgers, salads etc. With White’s Paddock Bistro also operating and offering a more casual dining experience, with a full a la carte menu.

Our region offers some amazing product and where possible we take the opportunity to showcase this in our outlets. Much of the beef served in Number One is sourced locally and dry-aged on site, so that we control the aging process. Whilst we do our very best to ensure that every cut served is at the standard that we expect, there are occasions when it may fail to meet our expectations and those of our diners. If this is bought to our attention we will make every effort to resolve the situation. Please be assured that your feedback has been discussed with all parties and, where appropriate, action taken to improve our processes.

We continue to strive for excellence in all aspects of our operation to provide our members, guests and visitors with the best possible experience. We regret that on this occasion we were unable to meet your expectations, but hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the RACV Torquay Resort in the future.

Kind regards,

Dean Newell
Resort Manager
RACV Torquay Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrnambool, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We stayed at this resort for two nights mid week and could not fault our room. It was spacious, clean and an awesome view. The decor is very modern with a large bath and shower. The king size bed was very comfortable and ample room in our room to move around. Our room included two chairs and a small coffee table along with a desk. Free internet that was at an acceptable speed. Our room also included Buffett breakfast which was very good.
We would not hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: We paid the extra for a Premium Ocean View room which I felt was worth the money with a large balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RACVTorquayResort, Manager at RACV Torquay Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear 'Ozmurt'

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience following your recent stay at the RACV Torquay Resort. We're delighted that the facilities and services provided for a relaxing and romantic getaway. We hope that at least one leg of your trip from Warrnambool took advantage of the opportunity to enjoy the Ocean Ocean Road.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide your feedback. We hope we’ll have the opportunity to welcome you back to the RACV Torquay Resort when you next visit Torquay and the Surf Coast.

Kind regards

Dean Newell
Resort Manager
RACV Torquay Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We entered our premium accommodation suite, to find a personalised greeting on our TV as well as letters addressed to us, welcoming us to the resort.
The staff here are very polite and professional. The facility's here are brilliant, the heated pool spa and sauna go well on the cold days, and a decent size gym.
The restaurant is delectable, high end dishes and high end service, we really enjoyed eating here.
The breakfast buffet was just as good plenty of choice plus nice views of the golf course, makes for a great start to the day.

Room Tip: premium accommodation are on the top levels providing stunning views of the golf course and ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RACVTorquayResort, Manager at RACV Torquay Resort, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear ‘Nathan F’

Thank you for providing such positive feedback on your recent experience at the RACV Torquay Resort. It is always rewarding to hear that we have successfully delivered the experience that we set out to.

Whilst we are often running at a high occupancy level we aim to deliver service that continues to be personalised and friendly, whilst remaining professional. We’re delighted that you felt this was the case and that some of the extra service points we have introduced contributed to the enjoyment of your stay.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the RACV Torquay Resort when you are next visiting Torquay and the Surf Coast.

Kind regards
Dean Newell
Resort Manager
RACV Torquay Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We absolutely loved our one night stay.
Dinner in the restaurant was superb
Affordable and classy Hotel
Breakfast was super, service first class
Pool and gym looked top class
Lovely gift shop
We will be back for sure
Well done RACV Torquay.

Room Tip: Go onto their website and the choice is yours
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RACVTorquayResort, Manager at RACV Torquay Resort, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear ‘balichick47’

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience following your recent stay at the RACV Torquay Resort.

It’s a shame that you were only here for one night, but it certainly sounds like you made the most of the quick break. We’re delighted that your first experience was so positive and that we’ve inspired you to return in the future, hopefully for a little longer.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next able to escape to Torquay and the Great Ocean Road.

Kind regards
Dean Newell
Resort Manager
RACV Torquay Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to RACV Torquay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RACV Torquay Resort

Address: 1 Great Ocean Road, Torquay, Victoria 3228, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — RACV Torquay Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched within the backdrop of the Torquay and Jan Juc beaches, RACV Torquay Resort is set on an expansive golf course with spectacular ocean views and direct beach access.Offering something for all tastes, RACV Torquay Resort features a range of facilities including a family friendly Restaurant and bar, Day Spa, Indoor pool, children’s playground, conference and meeting facilities and the picture perfect location for a wedding ceremony and reception. This picturesque resort is ideally located. A leisurely 75 minute drive from Melbourne CBD and 40 minutes from Avalon airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your RACV Torquay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
RACV Torquay Resort Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RACV Torquay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.