We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, luxury getaway, with the perfect hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whitesbeach Guesthouse

Save Saved
You added Whitesbeach Guesthouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Whitesbeach Guesthouse
4.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   1212 Horseshoe Bend Road, Torquay, Victoria 3228, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Torquay B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Lovely, luxury getaway, with the perfect hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We booked Whitesbeach as a base for travelling to Lorne for the Amy Gillett Gran Fondo. We arrive after 6pm, needing to leave at 6am the next morning. Nonetheless, Stephen and Claudia welcomed us into their wonderful home, had the spa warmed for us, and advised us with the best takeaway restaurants in Torquay.
The room was large and spotless, and the bed was a joy to sleep in. Best of all was the outside bathroom - it was a shame we couldn't use it due to time and the cold, but it will be great fun in the summer.
Spotless throughout, the house is relaxing, with a pool as well as spa, full size snooker table, a log fire, and an honour bar. Stephen and Claudia were the perfect hosts, stopping to chat with us, with Stephen going above and beyond to lay out breakfast for us at 5am.
Would we stay again - absolutely. Would we get their earlier - definitely, it's a place to relax and unwind in.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen H, Manager at Whitesbeach Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Hi Simon,

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience at Whitesbeach. I hope the ride went well and that R found a nice cafe to wait patiently for you to finish. :) We look forward to seeing you again soon. Claudia's looking forward to sharing more tips on Chile.

Cheers
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
46
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The magnificent ocean views from our room was breathtaking. Champagne and chocolates formed part of our welcome to Whitesbeach Guesthouse - the room spacious and serene. We were delighted to make full use of the facilities - pool / spa, games in the games room and tennis. The breakfast served was fresh and varied - boiled eggs, croissants, fresh fruit and coffee. The service offered by Claudia and Stephen was first class. We look forward to our next trip!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen H, Owner at Whitesbeach Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thanks Brett,

We're glad you enjoyed your stay at Whitesbeach and especially glad the surf lessons were such a success.

Say hi to T and L. We look forward to your next visit.

Cheers
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Our family arranged a romantic anniversary weekend at Whitesbeach for us. And we had the most wonderful time! The main house is under renovations, so we stayed in the Coach House and had the whole place to ourselves. The room was spacious and clean, and Stephen and Claudia's service was amazing. There is so much to do onsite: tennis court, ping pong table, billiards table, fire place, outdoor and indoor bbq areas, and our favourite the heated indoor pool and spa. Although the weather was dreadful, we had the most relaxing and enjoyable weekend away and we would like to thank the wonderful service of Stephen and Claudia. We plan on returning in the summer, once all the renovations are complete, and we will be bringing friends along! Thank you again!

Room Tip: The Coach House does not have views of the beach, but you have your own courtyard/entertaining area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen H, Owner at Whitesbeach Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Hi Bec,

Thanks for the wonderful feedback. We're glad we were able to deliver the relaxing stay you and J were hoping for. You'll be happy to know the renovations are coming along nicely. The private garden patios are now complete, and the bathroom renovations are not far off. Tell J's Dad the surf is waiting for him.

Regards
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We wanted a quiet and peaceful place to spend our anniversary and found it here at Whitesbeach Guesthouse.

We arrived on Friday afternoon and were welcomed at the front door by Stephen with a glass of wine which set the mood for the weekend. We were then shown around the spacious and spotlessly clean guesthouse, before being taken to our room. Our room was large with one wall consisting of a large glass window looking out over the ocean with unobstructed views.

The weather turned nasty so we decided to stay in and have take-away from the local Thia restaurant which we ate by the pool before having champagne and putting the spa to good use.

As it happened we were the only guests for the weekend and Stephen went out of his way to make our stay memorable, he lit the fire in the games room and left us to relax and chill out. We were looking for a nice place to eat on Saturday night and were having trouble as several of the best restaurants had closed for the winter break; Stephen then rang and managed to get us in to a restaurant which had only just opened that day after their winter break.

We had a fabulous weekend and would thoroughly recommend Whitesbeach Guesthouse as a place to stay in Torquay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen H, Owner at Whitesbeach Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thanks Harry.

It was wonderful meeting you and W and we're glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you again for sharing your family's historical connection to Torquay and the amazing photos. They will be given pride of place in our redecorated billiards room.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We had a fantastic experience at Whitesbeach Guesthouse, which seems to have been carefully designed to afford guests the luxurious privacy of a get away as well as offering family friendly communal spaces and activities. The Coach House is a wonderful space in which to relax, and is as clean and spacious as it looks in the pictures. Between the beach, the pool and spa, the pool/snooker room and the warm hosts everyone in our family had plenty to keep them engaged and contented for the entire stay. We look forward to a return visit!

Pip L

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen H, Owner at Whitesbeach Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Hi Pippa,

Thanks for taking the time to share your Whitesbeach experience with others. We're glad you felt so at home and managed to take full advantage of the facilities. The renovations are going well. Tell the boys that next time you're here we hope to have added a mini golf course so they'll have even more to do.

Kind regards
Stephen and Claudia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed at Whitesbeach with our two little boys and baby. Claudia and Stephen were extremely friendly, warm and professional hosts. Whitesbeach is spacious, spotlessly clean and airy with great facilities including a lovely pool and children's play area. The beach is only a stone's throw away. Our room was very spacious and well equipped: great beds too - huge and comfortable. We'd thoroughly recommend staying here; our little boys loved it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen H, Owner at Whitesbeach Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thanks Chris,

It was lovely having you, C and the children stay with us. Tell the boys the playground misses them. Good luck with all the change happening in your life. We look forward to hearing how it all went next time you're down this way.

Cheers
Stephen and Claudia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

As part of our trip through Australia, we had the privilege to spend two nights at the Whitesbeach Guesthouse. We were greeted by the wonderful hosts and given a tour of everything thing that Whitesbeach has to offer. There is no shortage of things to see and do and we felt at home right away after such a long flight.

Our room as excellent and the view of the ocean was great. Each morning we were treated to a great breakfast spread that fueled us up for the day ahead. We also got some fantastic suggestions of places to see and do in Torquay and surrounding around.

We fully recommend Whitebeach for your vacation and you will not be disappointed. They took great care of us and we hope to visit again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen H, Owner at Whitesbeach Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Hi Zac,

We're glad you and L enjoyed your stay. We hope the rest of your time in Australia was just as enjoyable and the jetlag on the journey home not too severe.

We hope you find reason to come and visit Australia again soon. The Ocean Views will be waiting. Give us advance warning and we'll make sure you get the room with the spa to help remove the travel tension even faster.

Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Whitesbeach Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitesbeach Guesthouse

Address: 1212 Horseshoe Bend Road, Torquay, Victoria 3228, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Whitesbeach Guesthouse 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lavish, yet intimate. Exclusive, yet inviting. Romantic, yet family friendly. Welcome to Whitesbeach Guesthouse, located in beautiful Torquay, Victoria - gateway to the Great Ocean Road and home of the world renowned Bells Beach. Situated approximately 200m from the beach and a 15 minute stroll to Torquay's eclectic town centre, our Guesthouse combines the amenities of a large hotel with the exclusivity of a bed and breakfast.We offer in-house suites as well as a self-contained townhouse and can accommodate up to 13 guests.Continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi, an indoor heated pool and tennis court are just a few of the features that set us apart.Whether you're travelling for business, a romantic get-away or a relaxing family holiday, Whitesbeach Guesthouse is the perfect place to make it happen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, T4B, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Whitesbeach Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitesbeach Guesthouse Torquay, Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whitesbeach Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.