We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place! Friendly Service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whitesbeach Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Whitesbeach Guesthouse to your Saves list
Whitesbeach Guesthouse
4.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   1335 Horseshoe Bend Road, Torquay, Victoria 3228, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Upgrades in progress
Ranked #1 of 7 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely place! Friendly Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Excellent facilities and personalized service. We enjoyed our stay and plan to return. Loved the Jacuzzi, pool, and breakfast. Owners Stephen and Claudia were friendly, helpful, and welcoming. The privacy and proximity to Torquay was also a bonus.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen H, Owner at Whitesbeach Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Hi L and B,

Congrats again on your efforts in the Great Ocean and Ottway Classic Ride. We hope the bikes made it home safely. It was a pleasure hosting you and we're glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again next year, if not before.

Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    9
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
37
79
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Found this lovely place on tripadvisor and stayed for three amazing days. We were alone for most of our stay and it felt like we owned an amazing palace with use of its great amenities. The heavenly bed was perfect for leisurely sleep ins. Stephen and Claudia were very welcoming and gave us loads of ideas attractions in and around Torquay but we generally ended up back at the residence early having a few wines, relaxing in the spa, or playing a game of stickball on the huge pool table. Will definitely be heading back again for some R'n'R.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen H, Owner at Whitesbeach Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Hi Anushka,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us. Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with others. We look forward to seeing you again soon. You may want to check out our website for our upcoming Renovation Special. Tell K there's a lot less congestion on the water and that the waves have been pretty good lately.

Cheers
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Had the pleasure of spending a single night at Whitesbeach Guesthouse in March while visiting Victoria from the U.S. My wife and I were very impressed with the facility and the hospitality shown by our hosts. This is a unique property - a small number of rooms, every amenity you could need, and every detail taken care of that you could hope for.

We walked the beach, we explored Torquay and we simply brought some takeout food back to the hotel for enjoy with a glass of wine by the pool. Our only complaint was that we didn't have time to spend more nights there!

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room - large balconies with beautiful ocean views and a very pleasant breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen H, Owner at Whitesbeach Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thanks Dave,

Glad you and A enjoyed your stay. It's always fun hosting international guests, especially those who are from places we've lived/visited. Say hi to the USA for us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Cheers
Stephen and Claudia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

A wonderful peaceful place to stay in Torquay. Our hosts were extremely helpful and provided excellent local advice. The rooms were spacious and tastefully decorated, and the facilities superb - swimming pool, spa, tennis court, huge billiard table.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen H, Owner at Whitesbeach Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Hi Narelle,

It was lovely meeting you and G. 16 years of marriage is a wonderful effort and cause for celebration, so you deserved the bubbly and accompanying goodies. We look forward to seeing you for year 17's celebrations, if not before.

Cheers
Stephen and Claudia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Upon arriving at Whitebeach house, we immediately appreciated the ideal location opposite the beach and a short walk to Torquay's beautiful restaurants. We were greeted with open arms by Steve and Claudia and shown around the renovated property. But the service didn't stop there, Steve and Claudia's extensive knowledge of the area and approachable nature led us to some amazing restaurant and winery recommendations. Highly recommended to anyone who is passing by.

Room Tip: We imagine this property would also be absolutely ideal for big groups and families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen H, Owner at Whitesbeach Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Hi D and J. Thanks very much for your wonderful feedback. We're glad you enjoyed so much of what Whitesbeach and the surrounding area has to offer. Looking forward to seeing you again soon. We'll make sure the cellar is well stocked with some of the world's lesser known varieties. Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisborne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had an absolutly wonderful stay, memorable stay at Whites Beach accomodation. Couldnt have asked for more kind, caring and attentive hosts. Steph and Claudia made our stay extra special with there very kind natures and cheerful attitudes. All requests we had were met with no hassle in the world and were more than happy to meet these. Love the beach, but having the heated indoor pool there was fantastic! As was the guest lounge. Loved that we were also able to go for a long walk into town to enjoy the many restaurants. We only stayed the one night, next time we will definatly make the most of staying for longer! ( Kid free too next time ;) )

Room Tip: Room with a view across the beach was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen H, Owner at Whitesbeach Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Hi Steph,

It was lovely to meet you, J and D and we're really glad you enjoyed your stay, even though short. Looking forward to seeing you again soon. And if you do have to bring the little fella, we'll be sure to help organise a babysitter.

Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We had a memorable and delightful long weekend at Whitesbeach. The guest house is clean and spacious, with tennis court, ping pong, billiards, BBQ, and indoor pool/spa. On your doorstep is lovely Torquay- restaurants, beaches, playgrounds, shops, etc. ( nice long walk or very short drive to town). Stephen and Claudia are wonderful hosts and make sure their guests are looked after.nice little touches like music playing, pouring you a glass of wine in the hot tub, and fresh baked muffins on Sunday morning. It After a few days it felt like we were old friends, and my son was happily helping around the house. Wish he did that so willingly at home!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen H, Owner at Whitesbeach Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Hi J,

It was a pleasure having you and H stay with us. Byron Bay's loss was our gain. We look forward to having you bring the entire clan back here. There are enough Boogy Boards and chores for all.

Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Whitesbeach Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitesbeach Guesthouse

Address: 1335 Horseshoe Bend Road, Torquay, Victoria 3228, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Whitesbeach Guesthouse 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lavish, yet intimate. Exclusive, yet inviting. Romantic, yet family friendly. Welcome to Whitesbeach Guesthouse, located in beautiful Torquay, Victoria - gateway to the Great Ocean Road and home of the world renowned Bells Beach. Situated approximately 200m from the beach and a 15 minute stroll to Torquay's eclectic town centre, our Guesthouse combines the amenities of a large hotel with the exclusivity of a bed and breakfast.We offer in-house suites as well as a self-contained townhouse and can accommodate up to 13 guests.Continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi, an indoor heated pool and tennis court are just a few of the features that set us apart.Whether you're travelling for business, a romantic get-away or a relaxing family holiday, Whitesbeach Guesthouse is the perfect place to make it happen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Whitesbeach Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitesbeach Guesthouse Torquay, Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whitesbeach Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.