We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seymour Emperor Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Seymour Emperor Restaurant
10 Emily St, Seymour, Victoria 3660, Australia
(03) 5792-2506
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 26 Restaurants in Seymour
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Buffet, Delivery, Takeout
mansfield
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

had a lovely lunch and well looked after! great food and lovely service. :)had entrees to make up yum cha

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    5
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Very ordinary - popular with locals”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I am a bit spoiled with fantastic Melbourne asian food. Food is ordered and delivered quickly but the quality is very poor. Would I go back .....no.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Go somewhere else”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

I'm still unsure why I went back a second time here. The service is well below what should be expected in a restaurant. It's slow and unwelcoming. The food on both occasions was just warm enough and barely edible. The temperature inside was cold despite asking for an increase in heat. Don't worry about getting a buffet as all the dishes taste the same. Head to the one of the pubs in town for a better meal.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubbo, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good "Chinese" !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We travel all over Australia and rate this "Chinese" Restaurant as one of 4 best ( Goondiwindi, Dubbo & Roma).
We have been here many times and recommend "The Emperor" highly.
It gets very busy sometimes, you may have to wait, but there is always an entree and pre-dinner drink you can have.
Dishes are very nice and very filling, ( and a doggie bag to take home ), a good selection of local and popular wines and beers.
We have never been disappointed.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very pleasant with respect to location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Read the other reviews and felt the place needed some support after our experience. Firstly we have eaten chinese food all over the planet. .. Including China (Shanghai). Secondly we are talking Seymour Victoria. I grew up in a similar town and the chef has to adapt his/her cooking to suit the locals. So we entered knowing it wasnt going to be Yum Cha in downtown Melbourne.

My dim sim was tasty and not oily. The chicken dish was tasty and the chili dry and subdued. ..probably tuned to the local palette. The quantity was huge. I struggled to finish it. One cant complain about that. My wife vegetable dish was also massive. Both were served off the stove hence very hot. Im ok with that.

The banana fritter was nicely fried plus ice cream with caramel dribblef over thelot. That was yummo.

The service was. ..quite frankly lightning fsst. ..fsster than any restuarant i can recall in the past year.

The waitress was subdued but not in the slightest offensive.

We queued behind some big party of folks. It was a bit of a wait. I would have been in front of them if it wasnt for my banana fritter...but it was worth it

The bill was very reasonable

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seymour Emperor Restaurant also viewed

 
Seymour, Victoria
 

Been to Seymour Emperor Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seymour Emperor Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.