We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN New Crossing Place Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN New Crossing Place Motel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN New Crossing Place Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   53 Emily Street, Seymour, Victoria 3660, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Seymour
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012 via mobile

We stayed just for one night while visiting the area, including a stop at Pucka. The place is excellent... Very comfy beds... Has fridge, microwave, toaster, kettle... Plenty of tea bags... All in all, has everything we needed to rest for the night. The only improvement may be a heater or heat lamp in the bathroom to warm it up with the chilly mornings :)

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    25
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
23
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We had the misfortune to stay here in March. We had been travelling for several hours and thought we'd stop for the night in Seymour. We cruised past all the motels and decided on this one only because the first motel of choice was booked out and we thought this would be OK as it was supposedly 4 star. We had room 14, which had 2 bedrooms ( which looks nothing like their photos on their webpage). It was old and rundown, chips out of the walls and skirting boards, dust and cobwebs on the obselete gas heater, the carpet was dirty, the toilet cistern had a big crack in it and it wouldn't stop flushing unless you jiggled with it. However the linen on the beds was white, crisp and clean and we thought we could tolerate the room as it was only for one night. I think 2 stars would have been generous for this room!
My husband and daughter went to bed early and I stayed up to read and watch TV. I was disturbed by shouting and obscene language coming from 2 rooms across the car park. This went on for some time then died down. As soon as it was quiet I started hearing scratching sounds coming from the ceiling. I thought great we've got mice. I followed the scratching sound to the kitchenette and heard it coming from the vent. Then to my horror a large black furry arm or something (larger than a mouse!) stuck out from the vent. I screamed and the arm disappeared, only to return some ten minutes later. I thumped the ceiling and it disappeared again. I had visions of furry rodents running all over me while I slept so went to bed and lay there petrified....my husband snoring away next to me! The screaming match from the rooms started again and moved to the car park where our brand new car was parked. Now I wasn't only worried about being nibbled at during the night, but now thought that our car was going to get damaged by the drunken loud and abusive people across the way. I dared look out to see what was going on as I feared for our safety. Needless to say I didn't get any sleep that night. To top things off we had ordered breakfast the night before and when I opened the museli I had ordered found that it was out of date! So NO sleep and NO breakfast and was required to pay full price. I argued and got a whopping $3.00 off the bill. The motel manager said the furry arm could have been a possum but wasn't sure...I never want to find out!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ncpmotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN New Crossing Place Motel, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Thank you for your comments. Firstly I would like to apologise for your experience and believe me as the General Manager I would not have been happy either.
One of the problems we face as operators is noisy guests. Our property has a strict no noise no party policy that is sign posted in every room. The manager on duty was woken by the same noise as the in house guests; a warning was issued at which time the noise ceased. The manager was woken again later in the night by the same troublesome guests and as per our policy the Police were called and the guest was evicted from the property. This occasion is the first and only time that a guest has been evicted in our 20 years in the business.
The particular room you occupied is scheduled for a complete renovation in April this year, and is not a 4 star room. All staff are instructed to notify all guests that the room is a 3 star suite. I must apologies for this not being made abundantly clear at the time. Our plans for the particular room are grand with removal of bathroom walls to make a spacious modern area, a new full functioning self contained kitchen area along with 100% wool carpet throughout. Once again my apologies for your experience and all I can say is that this type of experience is very out of character for our 20 year family owned and operated business, please do not be put off by a once off experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

Based on reviews, we were expecting something far nicer. Staff was great. It's pretty bare bones, poorly decorated and in disrepair (with a flat screen tv?), but there's a fridge and freezer, a microwave, playground and pool. Nothing really wrong with it, but **definitely** not 4 stars!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

On the Hume close to Melbourne this was a great motel beds and room perfect and all very clean. Everything you could ask for if its an overnight or short stay. Would stay again and recommend to friends and family. Nice little gem of a motel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

We stayed in Seymour for a party and it was a real treat to find such a great motel in a small country town. The bed and pillows were amazing... Better than mine at home. Great service and the motel met all my expectation. We will return. Thanks

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

We stayed just one night to be fresh for our trip into Melbourne. A friendly reception, a warm soft bed and a clean room made for a pleasant stay. I recommend this motel and will be staying again. Folks in town told me it is Seymour's best.

Room Tip: Best Western are the best. I tried the rest and some are awful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

Rooms were very clean and fitted out in a modern style. Flat screen tv was a bonus as well. The whole check in experience was smooth and the staff made me feel very welcome. Really easy to find and get to as well which was great. Best bacon and eggs for breakfast, would be hard pressed to find better anywhere. look forward to staying again next time i'm in the area

Room Tip: enjoy a beer by the pool bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seymour
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Coach & Bushmans
16.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Nagambie Lakes
1.1 mi away
No photo provided
Seymour Motel
#3 of 4 in Seymour
4.0 of 5 stars 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Sugarloaf Motel
Sugarloaf Motel
#1 of 1 in Broadford
4.5 of 5 stars 15 reviews
15.5 mi away
Nagambie Motor Inn & Conference Centre
16.0 mi away
Centretown Motel Nagambie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN New Crossing Place Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN New Crossing Place Motel

Address: 53 Emily Street, Seymour, Victoria 3660, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Seymour
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Seymour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN New Crossing Place Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western New Crossing Place Motel is the ideal property for the weary traveller or the corporate guest. Offering unsurpassed service that include such things as wireless broadband, comprehensive channel line up of Austar Cable TV, Executive spa suites and large roomy family suites just to name a few. Offering Charge back facilities to arguably Seymour’s Finest Restaurant and Art Gallery the “Old Post Office”. Situated only a short stroll across the road ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN New Crossing Place Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN New Crossing Place Motel Seymour, Victoria, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN New Crossing Place Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.