We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Highly recommend place to stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Prahran Village Guest House

Prahran Village Guest House
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Prahran Village Guest House to your Saves list
Prahran Village Guest House
4.5 of 5 Guest house   |   39 Perth Street, Prahran, Stonnington, Victoria 3181, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Prahran B&B and Inns
Newcastle
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Highly recommend place to stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

This place is home from home. We arrived at 2am and was warmly welcomed by Shane who showed us to our room straight away, just what we needed after a long journey from England.
This hotel is five star, from the entrance hall and stairs to the bedrooms everything is good quality. We had the Queen deluxe room at the front with a balcony that got the sun in the morning, very nice for a 10 minute relax after having breakfast, the bed was very comfortable, the room very quiet, with a lovely shower to wake you up in the morning.
We stayed here over the Christmas period and was delighted to have some chocolates left on our pillow by Shane on Christmas day, a lovely gesture.
There is a pub next door that does very good food with reasonable priced house specials or a short walk to Chapel Street with bars and restaurants.
The train station is a 2-3 minute walk away, the train runs frequently into Melbourne just a few stops away.
All in all the guest house is in a good area for easy access to the city centre or beach. It had a lovely relaxed atmosphere and Shane was very happy to help us out with anything we needed.
We would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend it to couples and families and certainly our friends.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
21
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
tasmania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

Want a bad nights sleep, then stay here! The pub is right next door and open very late. Parking is hard to find close by. It is a real blot on what is a nice clean place to stay.Great host.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pvgh, Owner at Prahran Village Guest House, responded to this review, April 6, 2011
Were sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay. Your right there was a noisy 21st birthday party next door on the night of your stay. The hotel next door is usually quiet and closes at 11pm. Your were in the 1 room that can be impacted by any noise and we have since installed double glazing. If you contact us we will try to compensate you with another discounted stay. Mgt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

I loved the Prahran Village Guest House. It sits somewhere comfortably between a gorgeous boutique hotel with all the friendliness and homeliness of a B&B.
Clean, modern rooms with everything you need, small and friendly but you can still enjoy your privacy and is very secure. Perfect location for me, easy access to South Yarra, Prahran, Chapel Street, St Kilda and the City. Quiet leafy street with parking on the street (you borrow a permit, but be careful not to park on the wrong side of the street for the couple of hours one day a week the street cleaner comes.)
The hotel itself is converted from some old Victorian houses knocked through, and has been impeccably renovated. I loved the room at the front with the balcony, but even the room at the back which is near a local pub was not loud and did not keep me awake at all (and I am a light sleeper!)
Nothing at all to complain about here. Will definitely come back!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

A fabulous gust house in a very nice quarter of Melbourne. Our hosts were so kind and friendly. We have passed 5 wonderful nights there.
If one day we decide to go back to Melbourne, we'll definitely try to go back to Prahran Village Guest House!
Thank you!
Maryam&Seb from Montreal (Canada)

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2009

I thoroughly enjoyed the Prahran Village Guest House. The hosts were very gracious. The location is great. The room was very nice and clean with a balcony over looking the street. It was very quiet as well. You can easily walk to Chapel street from here or to a tram to go anywhere in the city.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2009

We stayed for four nights in March 2009 and had a fantastic stay. These guys need a better website as the place totally surpassed our expectations. We felt very welcome, the place felt more like a small cosy 5 star hotel than a guest house. Breakfast was very enjoyable and the location is ideally situated for easy access into the CBD, Prahran train station is 5 mins walk away. Also close to Chapel Street and South Yarra area. I would definitely recommend this place to family and friends.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2009

We chose this place based on other recommendations which were dead on. Great place, great location, probably the best place we stayed on our trip. The room was nice, breakfast in the morning quite ample and good. Wireless access and even a computer downstairs for guest use. It's only a couple blocks from the Prahran train station which can get you to most places in Melbourne quickly and easily. We had street parking which was relatively easy to get even on the weekend. There's even a bar next door (which wasn't loud).

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Prahran Village Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prahran Village Guest House

Address: 39 Perth Street, Prahran, Stonnington, Victoria 3181, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Stonnington > Prahran
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Prahran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Prahran Village Guest House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Prahran Village Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prahran Village Guest House Greater Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prahran Village Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.