We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forget the dumplings (there are better choices elsewhere)” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Shanghai dumpling House

The Shanghai dumpling House
Chapel street, Prahran, Stonnington, Victoria, Australia
Improve this listing
Ranked #68 of 103 Restaurants in Prahran
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Forget the dumplings (there are better choices elsewhere)”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I love dumplings but what we were served here was stodgy and uninteresting. Quite a few fell apart when we tried to pick them up. Cheap - yes - but also very nasty.

Save your money and try Hu Tong around the corner in Commercial Road instead. More expensive but you're assured to get beautiful (quality) dumplings.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    2
    4
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“not worth the money - was given a stained bowl and served burnt dumplings !!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

ok so I bought a groupon voucher for this restaurant worth $ 80.00 and thank goodness I didn't pay $ 80.00 as the food was not worth it. I rang to book and was asked my name and how many people then before I could ask if the booking was ok the guy hung up on me so we were left wondering if we had a table or not. Decided to go anyway and once seated I was given a bowl that was stained... not good!! the food was not good either... very plain and bland. Some of the dumplings were burnt ... and I mean 'black' on the bottom and the spring onion pancakes were dry and overcooked. overall not worth the money and would not go back again. the service was ok but seemed rushed

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankston, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A new gem on Chapel St”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We ate here on an all you can eat deal. OMG - so much food. We got to the point where we had to ask the waiter to stop bringing out any more food, there was simply so so much. The dumpling here are brilliant. Love them.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“What a Gem!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stumbled upon this establishment by chance and loving DUMPLINGS, we meandered in. A big, opulant restaurant, rich colour scheme and very roomy we were shown to a table. Everything impressed from the smoothly laquered tables with the restaurant's insignature, the eating utensils and condiments at the ready on each table, the varied menu to the very reasonable prices. Our order arrived quickly, various dumplings and a couple of meat dishes and rice. DeLish! Only surprise was that it is CASH ONLY. Fortunately we were in a position to do this but it may catch you out. A wider selection of sauces at the table like a sweet chilli, perhaps, with the condiments already there, would be good, too. A great spot for a quick meal or leisurely degustation. We will be back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Shanghai dumpling House also viewed

Prahran, Stonnington
 
Prahran, Stonnington
 

Been to The Shanghai dumpling House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Shanghai dumpling House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.