We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Smith and Dominique Portet : a match made in heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Smith Restaurant & Bar

The Smith Restaurant & Bar
213 High Street, Prahran, Stonnington, Victoria 3181, Australia
+61 3 9514 2444
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 114 Restaurants in Prahran
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Bar, European, Asian, Pub
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Private Dining, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Private Dining, Reservations
Melbourne
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Smith and Dominique Portet : a match made in heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful food and wine pairing night at The Smith on Tuesday. We include Dominique Portet in our Epicurean Tours so know how popular their wines are. The Smith were amazingly friendly and hospitable making for a night where you felt looked after and welcomed. The night included 6 courses , beautifully accompanied with Dominique Portet wines. Ben Portet, the 10 generation did a great job in talking about the winery and his families tradition and introducing the wines. Thank you, we had a fabulous evening.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    40
    18
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
202 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Good for a group function”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We recently attended a birthday "long lunch" at the Smith and were very impressed with the quality of the food and the service. The upsatirs "Mr Smith" room was ideal for a group of around 40 and the menu of three courses with three options for each provided great choices.

We can't comment on the pricing as it was a set menu for an all-in price including beers, wines and soft drinks, but it was good value for what we had.

The only drawback is that coming from out of town, we were driving, and parking can be a problem, but if you can work around that it is a good spot.

Room Tip: Whilst it is described as a hotel it is actually a restaurant and function venue, so this question i...
See more room tips
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Food too sweet no wow factor , Pinot nor very dissuppointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We were there for Lunch, We ordered a starter to share, ocean trout salad was too sweet and had no wow factor. The steak tartare was very bland and pork cumin was too dry and calamari just ok. All the food was on the sweet side. We ordered two Pinot's both by the glass a French Domaine and local Wayfarer but both were far too light for the dishes we had which demanded a more heavier style. Frankly we could not understand why both the Pinot's offered were of such very ordinary style and winemaking quality.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We have been here many times and think it is one of the best in Melbourne, for food and drinks.All the staff know what they are serving ..One of my fav is the Kingfish sashimi always so so fresh and melts in your mouth.Have tried most of the mains all good so are the deserts.. Wine list is long both sommelier know what they are talking about .Atmosphere is buzzy and bright..Love going there

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW ZEALAND
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Taste the Difference”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Located in High Street, The Smith delivers attentive, helpful service. Our Waiter was fully informed about the dishes being served. The Mouthful, Taste and Mains are a great way to try several of the dishes on the menu. A great experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Smith Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Prahran, Stonnington
Prahran, Stonnington
 
Prahran, Stonnington
Prahran, Stonnington
 

Been to The Smith Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Smith Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.