We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lords Lodge

Lords Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Lords Lodge to your Saves list
Lords Lodge
204 Punt Road, Prahran, Stonnington, Victoria 3181, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Really friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

Unfortunately we did not get to stay here as the hostel was fully booked, but the guy that ran the place was very friendly and helpful. It was teaming with rain when we arrived we were soaked to the skin, the chap told us he had no rooms left and kindly called neighbouring hostels and found us a room, he then got in his car and dropped us over there due to the bad weather. Enough said, thank you.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    1
    1
    1
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
2
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for two weeks while looking for rent in Melbourne. Lords was a great base to explore from and meet people while still having a private corner to ourselves. Will definitely recommend it to friends visiting Melbourne.

Room Tip: The bungalows out the back are fantastic for a bit of privacy while still enjoying the sociable aspe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

It's a very local and unique hostel for a long term staying travellers or people relocate to MEL. I have travelled 12 countries and it is the first time to experience this unique hostel that's most local type of hostel with a lot of traditional decoration insides. It's safe, clean and easy for taking public transport, the single room is great for people to stay for a long term.
Rosina

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

Love this place - not sure how it is now the refurb has been done but the photos online look amazing - stayed here twice on my travels round Aus. The owner is super friendly, the old place is charming and a great place to stay long or short term. everyone is really friendly and the location is amazing for backpackers. STAY HERE

Room Tip: Girls: stay in the dorm room opposite the reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2009

a lovely small hostel, which more or less is a shared house, it only holds around 50 ppl with dorms and a few double rooms and cabins. With a croquet lawn and kitchen and all amienities this place is a lot of fun, full of life and owned by a guy who treats you as one of his own. you can find a lot of people who have been gone and come back or simply just stayed there for months on end. A nice community is built and a lot of parties and nights out. the location is ideal inbetween the city and the beach with a 24hr supermarket and a alcohol shops at its doorstep along with the night life of chapel st.

Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2009

The hostel is operated by a very helpful guy called Pat who will answer all questions and look to help you when he can. The hostel has a very homely feel to it as a lot of the tenants are longer term residents. This probably has led the hostel to have a 'lived in look' as it could do they with a renovation. That said its a short stroll to the beach at St Kildas in one direction and a short stroll in the other direction to the MCG. Overall the hostel has plus points but a few negatives are apparent so i would not recommend staying here if you are used to clean modern hostels.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2008

I made a reservation on the internet for staying at Lords Lodge, Melbourne in January - 09. They requested by e-mail my credit card details and told me that they were going to charge us a "deposition" of one nights stay.
In due of sad family reasons we had last week to to cancel our reservation.
Their homepage says that cancellation > 48 hours is with no charge. But they refuse to refund the "deposition" for the first night and says that the deposition is non-refundable.
Neither their homepage or their e-mail informs about this. Mastercard Sweden says that this is an unserious way of handling a cancellation made one month a head.
Spend your many on a more serious guesthouse!

Stayed December 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lords Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lords Lodge

Address: 204 Punt Road, Prahran, Stonnington, Victoria 3181, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Stonnington > Prahran
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Prahran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lords Lodge is a 135 year old historical mansion with charm and character. It is a small, cosy hostel with a friendly and relaxed atmosphere offering good quality, clean, budget accommodation for all ages. At Lords Lodge we offer you:Brand new bathrooms (as of September 2011)Free, unlimited wireless internet, Free BBQs and events every week. Lots of help in finding work in Melbourne. Lords Lodge is owned and operated by YOUNG Melbournians who love travelers. We have the most friendly and knowledgeable staff in Melbourne!! We are located in Melbourne's most fashionable area and just a 10 minute walk from St. Kilda and 15 minutes by tram to the city centre. Chapel St and Commerical Rd are only minutes away offering the best of Melbourne shopping, happening pubs and clubs, banks, post office, 24hr supermarkets, swimming pool and gyms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Lords Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lords Lodge Greater Melbourne/Prahran

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lords Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.