We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“trendy doesn't equal quality or service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Art Series - The Cullen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Art Series - The Cullen to your Saves list
Art Series - The Cullen
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   164 Commercial Road | Melbourne, Prahran, Stonnington, Victoria 3181, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BOOK DIRECT SAVE 20%
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Prahran
Certificate of Excellence
Avon, North Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“trendy doesn't equal quality or service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

Although the art was interesting, we found little else to rave about. Rooms are nice size, beds comfy but bathroom has no hook to hang a robe or towel to dry for reuse. Room service meals had no cutlery, napkins or condiments provided..even though we made sure to ask ahead of time for these items to come with meals. Room was not serviced the first two days of a 9 day stay other than putting an extra milk in the fridge. Ornate Salon staff was patronizing and ill-mannered. Roller shade on window fell off first time we tried to lower it. The hotel seems to be geared toward 20 somethings who only want the cache of saying they've stayed at an Art Series Hotel...not experienced world travelers who know how a quality hotel should operate. Service is key and this hotel has none beyond the lone front desk staffer, Jessica, who checked us in and allowed us to view a room prior to check in. Proximity to a colleague was why we chose to stay at all. We won't let that be the deciding factor again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoshoMelbourne, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review, February 14, 2011
Thanks for letting us know your experience.
I was disappointed to read that you received some below par service during your stay. In regards to the room service, I would like to apologise, as this was obviously an error on our behalf.
Our housekeeping team usually receive amazing reviews about their attention to detail and I have informed our team about your experience. I am happy though that you enjoyed the size or room and the comfy beds!
I would also like to offer my sincere apologies about the service you received in our Salon, this is very unusual and I have brought this to the attention of our Salon owner.
Jess, one of our guest experience agents is always a pleasure and I am thrilled that she took care of you on arrival.
I really appreciate you letting us know about your stay.

Kind Regards,

Josh O’Brien
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    210
    60
    20
    23
See reviews for
73
324
79
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

We stayed at the Cullen in early January and were not disappointed by the beautiful interior and excellent staff service. The location across the road from the Prahran Markets and close proximity to Chapel St made it ultra convenient. Like other reviewers we found our room extremely stylish and comfortable.

Whilst we really enjoyed our stay, we were extremely unhappy about the excessive security deposit we were required to provide on check-in - over $1000 to include the full cost of accommodation plus $110 per night for incidentals. Whilst this was only meant to be 'held' during the length of our stay, in reality it took a week to clear, by which time the Cullen had also charged us for the room. This policy is excessive compared to security deposit policies at other hotels and was extremely inconvenient. On this basis, I would be reluctant to recommend this hotel to others unless you have a generous credit card limit.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoshoMelbourne, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review, February 14, 2011
Thank you very much for your review.
I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your recent stay, and glad that we didn’t disappoint!
We, along with many Hotels do request that guests provide an authorisation to cover their accommodation and possible incidentals during their stay. Whilst we do not wish to inconvenience any of our guests – this is required to guarantee bookings on arrival.
I hope this did not unduly affect your stay, as we would love to have you come back and stay in the future.

Kind Regards,

Josh O’Brien
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nykoping, Sweden
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

We stayed at the Art Cullen 2 nights in early January with a short notice booking due to flooding situation in QLD where we normally live. I wish we had stayed longer since both the hotel and the Prahan precinct were such pleasant acquaintances. The kids loved the place and want us to return asap. We were 4 persons staying in a standard room with two Queen beds which was no worries in terms of space or comfort. The beds were super and the pillows were just to die for. If we weren´t restricted due to our large load of luggage we would have bought some to bring home.
The decor with the art were just to our liking as was the chic bar, cafe and chinese restaurant on ground floor.
I must give my best recommendations to the friendly and service minded staff. Just the nice thing of calling us one day prior to chreck-in to see if everything was alright or if you could assist us with anything was beyond what I have experienced from other hotels. It really made us feel welcome.
You are to be gratulated for your award among the World´s trendiest hotels, it is well desrved!
Harald Z, Rockhampton (soon back in Sweden, though)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoshoMelbourne, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review, February 14, 2011
We were all very sad to hear of the flooding in Qld over the past week. I am however very pleased to read that you managed a pleasant stay during your time down in Melbourne.
I’m glad that all the staff made you feel welcome, and hopefully we can welcome you back under different circumstances in the future.

Kind Regards,

Josh O’Brien
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

We have so far stayed at all 3 of the Art Series Hotels. Every time my husband and I find ourselves with a free week-end night we make it a point of leaving home and trying a comfortable and modern place to stay in the city centre so we can enjoy a night out without having to drive. Early last year when we listed our price range, the brand new Olsen Hotel popped up, so we stayed there and were wowed by it. To our joy we realised there was another similar one further down the road in Prahran. So we booked ourselves in 2 weeks later at the Cullen. Fantastic place. Trendy decor, spotlessly clean and just filled with the truly burlesque artistic concepts of Adam Cullen. My personal favourites for disrespect value are the ones of Ned Kelly's men in fishnet stockings and high heels. Beware the art work can be seen as a bit offensive. I for one enjoyed the cheeky irreverence of it. We were upgraded to a larger room for some reason which I can't recall at the same price. The entrance to the bustling restaurant downstairs is guarded by a cow for some other unexplainable reason. when we were there a bunch of french young men were manning the restaurant and were all very friendly and accommodating albeit maybe a tad slow. We also ate at the little restaurant across the road called the Mandala, which offers exotic nepalese cuisine. Oh and they have those gorgeous little smart cars and moped bikes that can be rented for a day. So cool! I must confess I love all 3 of those hotels. I can't wait for the 4th.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoshoMelbourne, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review, January 27, 2011
Thanks for letting us know your experience!

Yes, Adam Cullen’s work it very quirky – and we love that fact you found the humour in it.

It is also fantastic to hear you have also stayed at our sister properties in Melbourne. I will let you in on a little secret, we are looking to expand nationally very soon….so watch this space

Thanks again for your review, and look forward to having you back.

Kind regards,

Josh O’Brien
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

This was my second time at the Cullen. I first stayed there for a month when it first opened in November 2009, in one of the balcony suites. This time, stayed in the run up to Christmas in one of the penthouses. Both times just amazing -- trendy yet supremely comfortable rooms. The beds are great. Staff are friendly and casual. This is everything a modern, "non-chain" 5 star hotel should be.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoshoMelbourne, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review, January 27, 2011
Thanks for letting us know your experience!

Thrilled to hear this was your second time with us. The penthouses are pretty amazing, with uninterrupted views at the Melbourne skyline.

I hope you managed to get all your xmas shopping done on Chapel Street!

Look forward to having you back for the third time.

Kind regards,

Josh O’Brien
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

what a refreshing change from the norm, interesting, clean, comfortable some one has put thought into this hotel we had a lovely time.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoshoMelbourne, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review, January 19, 2011
Thanks for sharing your experience.

We love that you loved your stay with us!!

See you back here soon…

Kind regards,

Josh O’Brien
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

We spent three nights here during a recent trip to attend a friend's wedding and I was extremely pleased with my choice. The Cullen delivers on all fronts - great location, friendly and efficient service, cool decor, super comfortable beds etc. Looking forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoshoMelbourne, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review, January 19, 2011
Thanks for sharing your experience.

We are really pleased you stayed with us for three days and had a great time.

Hopefully we get to see you back here next time your over from NZ!


Kind regards,

Josh O’Brien
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prahran
Art Series - The Olsen
#23 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,172 reviews
Art Series - The Blackman
#13 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#1 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,340 reviews
Oaks On William
#21 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Series - The Cullen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Cullen

Address: 164 Commercial Road | Melbourne, Prahran, Stonnington, Victoria 3181, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Stonnington > Prahran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Prahran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Cullen 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Prahran, Melbourne, The Cullen is inspired by Adam Cullen. Daring and unique, The Cullen features lashings of original artwork and prints by Australia’s most exciting contemporary artist, Adam Cullen.Sleep soundly in your Art Series Signature bed, then block out the morning or wake up to natural light and vibrant energy of Cullen works. Prepare breakfast using in room kitchenette facilities, spectacular views of Melbourne CBD, underground parking, state of the art gymnasium and two exciting restaurants ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Art Series - The Cullen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Cullen Hotel Melbourne
Art Series - The Cullen Greater Melbourne/Prahran

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Series - The Cullen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.