We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky and modern” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Art Series - The Cullen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Art Series - The Cullen to your Saves list
Art Series - The Cullen
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   164 Commercial Road | Melbourne, Prahran, Stonnington, Victoria 3181, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BOOK DIRECT SAVE 20%
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Prahran
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Funky and modern”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

The room was great fun - decorated in a really modern style, with really interesting art by Adam Cullen everywhere. There was a kitchenette, which was really stylish and well-equipped, but we didn't really have any use for it. The bathroom was a bit wierd - a frosted glass cube in the corner of the room - good job me and my friend knew each other pretty well, as it wasn't massively private! The i-pod dock alarm clock really impressed me too. Reception staff were REALLY friendly and helpful. Didn't try the restaurant, which served Asian cuisine. About 60-70$ from the airport by taxi, and you have to take the tram into town. Nice hotel in all though :-)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoshoMelbourne, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review, September 7, 2010
Thank you to the author for their review.

With Adam Cullen as the Hotels inspiration, you can always expect a few surprises – including the cheeky bathroom walls. I am thrilled that you had a fantastic experience and the staff took great care of you.

We hope to see you again soon.


Kind Regards,

Josh O’Brien
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    193
    55
    19
    21
See reviews for
67
303
75
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

I booked the Cullen online as a surprise for my husband's 50th birthday. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff who were personable and friendly. The room was spotlessly clean with the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. A complimentary bottle of wine and bithday cookies was a much appreciated lovely touch. The hotel is very centrally located with a tram virtually at the door which takes you wherever you want to go. We will definately stay here again when we are in Melbourne and have already recommded it to all our friends.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoshoMelbourne, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review, September 7, 2010
Thank you to the author for their review.

We are very happy that you decided to stay with us for your husband’s special occasion! I am very pleased he enjoyed his birthday.
Thank you also very much for your recommendation to your friends.

Kind Regards,

Josh O’Brien
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

I stayed at The Cullen for my visit to the Melbourne Art Fair.
It is a cool new style of hotel, with friendly young staff.
The lobby, halls and stylish rooms
feature the colourful and sometimes disquieting paintings
and lithographs of Australia's bad boy contemporary art,
the genial Adam Cullen.
I highly recommend The Cullen as a happy base in the heart of Melbourne's
hip Prahran/South Yarra district.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoshoMelbourne, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review, September 7, 2010
Thank you to the author for their review.

The Art Series Hotel Group was one of the supporting partners of the Melbourne Art fair. We are so pleased that you stayed with us during this time!
We are even more pleased that you had a fantastic stay.

Look forward to having you back.

Kind Regards,

Josh O’Brien
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

A friend and I booked into the Cullen for four nights during August 2010. We booked a twin room and expected two single beds crammed into a small space - although being an art hotel, we figured they'd at least look nice.
We were so pleasantly surprised - everything about the Cullen was impressive! The room was enormous - two enormous Queen beds, separated by a great wardrobe, cooktop, sink, single drawer dishwasher - and a table that seats four.
Add to that the comfy sitting chair by the window, the brilliant stack of books, the slippers, the robes - and of course, a flatscreen TV at the end of BOTH beds! Oh, and don't forget the ipod docking station.
We also took the hotel's bikes for a spin, and rode down for a lovely brunch.
And not surprisingly, the hotel's artwork was superb.
We expected something nice - but this place ticked all of my boxes - comfy bed, nice linen, great shower, lovely staff. Would definitely stay again. [photos to come soon!]

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoshoMelbourne, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review, September 7, 2010
Thank you to the author for their review.

Sounds like you had a great stay! It’s nice to hear you took our bikes out for a spin; it’s a great way to explore the quirky area of Prahran and beyond.
Thanks also for uploading some pictures of us for all to see – this is very much appreciated.

Look forward to seeing you on your next visit with us.


Kind Regards,

Josh O’Brien
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

We recently stayed at The Cullen and weren't disappointed. The Art Series are all new hotels and the Cullen is situated right across from Prahran shopping centre. The kitchen is just a small bar kitchen with a hot plate but not really user friendly but when in Melbourne you would be mad to cook with such amazing restaurants around. Rooms are large, nicely decorated, great art and are very clean. The frosted glass in the bathroom could of done with a little bit more frosting (only a problem when sharing with a friend). We thought being in Prahran would be too far out of the city but I assure you it's not as all public transport is at the front door. The beds are large and very comfy.
The staff were very helpful and a little cheeky. We didn't make it down to the dumpling bar but heard it was 'outstanding' from other holiday makers. The other restaurant was AMAZING and privately owned which we thought wouldn't be as good as it was. The cocktails and food were perfect! The staff were very friendly, down to earth and lots of fun! They book out fast as people who are not staying at the hotel dine there also, but well worth a look. Walking distance to Chapel Street & the tram line is at the front door. Taxis & Trams go past the front of the hotel at all hours so you wont very have a problem getting places. Our room looked over the road and onto the city and we didn't hear any traffic noise from the street. Room service was probably the best any of us have ever had super quick and perfectly cooked. The rroms are made up everyday and the cleaners were very friendly. Daily paper at the door.. it's the little things that count. The only con would be the car park is very small and we offen couldn't park in there plus we weren't told that we would be charged for the parking but overall we had a blast in Melbourne and The Cullen made it that little bit special from the red carpet at the door too the mad cow in the lobby.
We will all be staying again next year.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoshoMelbourne, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review, September 7, 2010
Thank you to the author for their review!

It’s great to hear you had a fantastic stay with us. We have become known as a Hotel with fantastic staff, facilities and service, and yes sometimes a little cheeky….

We look forward to having you back in the Hotel soon.

Kind Regards,

Josh O’Brien
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Nsw
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

Excellent location in the heart of Prahran. Very modern studio with everything you need, most comfortable bed we've ever slept in. Fantastic art, great staff and service. We can't wait to go back and to try the other Cullen Art Series Hotels too. Cathy & Adrian, Newcastle NSW

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoshoMelbourne, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review, August 19, 2010
Cathy & Adrian - we love that you love the Hotel!

Look forward to having you back with us soon…

Regards,

Josh O’Brien
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

After I read all of the amazing reviews here, I was worried that the Cullen would disappoint. Well, I should not have feared. The Managers/Concierge was so helpful. The iPod you can rent from the front desk for their ipod holders is filled with completely likeable and original music, the beds are soooo comfortable. The bathrooms weren't a problem for my partner and I because we have been together for years, but when some friends came by for a drink there was a lot of laughter. We were upgraded to a balcony room upon arrival (thank you!) and got a great deal using Wotif. The kitchens were so perfect, with one of anything you would need. A great neighbourhood....didn't even have the chance to try the highly recommended restaurants below. We borrowed the bicycles and rode along the river at night - gorgeous...sigh...we had a hard time leaving. Thank you Cullen for an awesome experience. I hope to enjoy your hotel again one day.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoshoMelbourne, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review, August 19, 2010
Thanks to the author for their review!

It sounds like you had a very relaxing and enjoyable weekend, and I’m very pleased that we could be a part of it.

We hope to see you again too.

Regards,

Josh O’Brien
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Art Series - The Cullen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Cullen

Address: 164 Commercial Road | Melbourne, Prahran, Stonnington, Victoria 3181, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Stonnington > Prahran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Prahran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Cullen 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Prahran, Melbourne, The Cullen is inspired by Adam Cullen. Daring and unique, The Cullen features lashings of original artwork and prints by Australia’s most exciting contemporary artist, Adam Cullen.Sleep soundly in your Art Series Signature bed, then block out the morning or wake up to natural light and vibrant energy of Cullen works. Prepare breakfast using in room kitchenette facilities, spectacular views of Melbourne CBD, underground parking, state of the art gymnasium and two exciting restaurants ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Art Series - The Cullen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Cullen Hotel Melbourne
Art Series - The Cullen Greater Melbourne/Prahran

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Series - The Cullen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.