We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury Comfort at an Affordable Price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Art Series - The Cullen

Save Saved
You added Art Series - The Cullen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Art Series - The Cullen
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   164 Commercial Road | Melbourne, Prahran, Stonnington, Victoria 3181, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Prahran
Hobart, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Luxury Comfort at an Affordable Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This was my second stay at an Art Series Hotel, and like my first stay at The Blackman it did not disappoint.

We were able to check in a bit before 2pm which was great as we arrived on a Sunday which I'm sure is a huge day for people checking out from their weekend stays. We stayed in a Studio Suite, on level 2 overlooking the park.

The Rooms at The Cullen are superbly appointed with modern fittings and fixtures,and the rooms are properly clean (no dust bunnies hiding in this hotel).Even the lower end room have bathrobes and slippers and the huge Art Series Signature beds which are the most comfortable beds ever! The sheets are also a lovey high thread count and I think the pillows and doona might even be feather too. The curtains and really thick and heavy and do a great job of blocking out the morning sun so you can sleep in or have an afternoon nap.

The Studio Suite has a great little kitchenette with a few pots and pans hot plate and convection oven if you want to do a bit of cooking, but who really would with Chapel Street just a few meters up the road and the markets across the road?

The housekeeping staff at The Cullen were amazingly helpful, they re-stocked all the used toiletries every day (even the shower cap!) and were more than happy to bring up any additional items we needed, I got a bit addicted to one of the T2 teas (yes thats right no crappy catering blend at this hotel) and the housekeeping staff bought me up some extra tea, there were also numerous other lovely touches throughout the stay like making up our room when they noticed we had just popped out for lunch.

I can't wait for my next trip to Melbourne, I think I will have to try the Olsen next time. I can't see myself ever staying at any other hotels in Melbourne, this hotels are just the business!

Room Tip: The bathrooms are just frosted glass so I would only recommend this for fairly established couples t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    371
    156
    41
    14
    15
See reviews for
54
249
66
125
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed at The Cullen for 4 nights to relax and unwind. The service was slick and professional. The Hotel itself was fun and modern and well thought out. The bathroom area could have been a little larger, but all in all very comfortable. We had never stayed in Prahran before and found plenty of good restaurants and shops within walking distance, the Prahran Markets are right across the road from the hotel and we love the fantastic variety and quality of the fresh produce available there.
The only negative to speak of is that there is new building being constructed in the side street adjacent the hotel which was a little noisy after about 7.30 am, but I think you may get a better room rate because of it!

Room Tip: The New construction is in Grattan St, ask for a room on the opposite side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

One night stay - single-bed suite
Booked through agent - $210.00 AUD total incl. breakfast
This hotel gets the important things right, as well as the fine details
Decor is very contemporary & edgy in keeping with its namesake artist, but very tastefully arranged & not overwhelming at all
Amenities are top-notch, & you will want for very little - a sure sign that this is a hotel you can make yourself at home. Check-in & check-out likewise
Mini-bar is reasonably priced, but still expensive considering there are convenience stores & supermarkets a short stroll away
Restaurants are well-appointed, & location is very convenient. Smart cars & bikes available for hire
Very highly recommended for a leisurely stay in Melbourne

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed during the recent British Lions tour - The front desk very helpful and restaurant excellent for late arrivals as it serves meals till late. Stayed in studio suite which was good size and very quiet. Very close to all the amenities of Chapel Street.

Room Tip: Construction opposite west side rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This boutique hotel is amazing. I wont stay anywhere else in Melbourne. Just had another long weekend there this weekend. I cant fault anything, from the front desk staff to the housekeeping staff. Rooms are fabulous and always spotless. Minor details are not missed, from the Evo bathroom amenities to the morning paper under your door. Dont forget to have a cocktail at Gramercy or some dumplings at HuTong Peking Duck & Dumpling Restaurant. I cant wait to be back next month.

Room Tip: When booking request a standby upgrade. The junior penthouses are fabulous and the penthouses are A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

It's not a hard life when you have to stay here every other week for work - actually I don't have to stay here, I choose to because it is my favourite place other than home. The front desk team are unfailingly helpful, friendly and professional all in one. The rooms are exactly what you want from a boutique hotel - whether it's the least expensive or one of the art-themed suites, all are well-furnished and stylish. Small extras like lovely tea, good toiletries and very comfortable beds with great linen make it feel so much more personal than a corporate sleep-box. There's a small but perfectly formed gym and the hotel has a fantastic restaurant to rely on. The Gramercy continues to delight me even after more than a year of eating there every other week. I am inspired to finally write this review, that I have been meaning to do for months, after a meltingly great snapper just enjoyed for dinner. I could also recommend you plan your itinerary around Steak night Tuesday. The only small 'brickbat' shared with a previous reviewer was the small service gaps from the room care team - hardly enough to mention but I want to be balanced! This really is a great spot for all occasions - business or pleasure. The only reason I haven't brought my husband for pleasure yet is knowing he will realize how easy my stay-away actually is and all sympathy for having to travel every other week will be lost. Before I know it he'll be sending me with the kids too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I stayed here recently on Business - it was my second visit and it's now one of my favourite hotels. The service is very friendly, I received an upgrade to a junior suite and in my room was a hand written note welcoming me back and a fresh pastry! I love the art work and decour, such a welcoming change to the usual drab hotel interiors. The bed was especially comfortable facing a decent size HD TV. Great food and coffee from Gramercy Cafe on the ground floor. Not nessarliy the best location for City meetings but perfect for St Kilda road.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to a junior suite for more spacious room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben K, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Hi there Balmaintragic!

I hope you indulged in the slice, they are hand made in our kitchen down at the Olsen by our wonder check Demi! I find it hard to resist when I sit next to them all day!!

Glad you enjoyed your upgrade those rooms are excellent!!

I look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Ben & The Cullen Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Art Series - The Cullen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Cullen

Address: 164 Commercial Road | Melbourne, Prahran, Stonnington, Victoria 3181, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Stonnington > Prahran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Prahran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Cullen 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Prahran, Melbourne, The Cullen is inspired by Adam Cullen. Daring and unique, The Cullen features lashings of original artwork and prints by Australia’s most exciting contemporary artist, Adam Cullen.Sleep soundly in your Art Series Signature bed, then block out the morning or wake up to natural light and vibrant energy of Cullen works. Prepare breakfast using in room kitchenette facilities, spectacular views of Melbourne CBD, underground parking, state of the art gymnasium and two exciting restaurants ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Splendia, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your Art Series - The Cullen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Cullen Hotel Melbourne
Art Series - The Cullen Greater Melbourne/Prahran

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Series - The Cullen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.