We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking forward to going back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Art Series - The Cullen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Art Series - The Cullen to your Saves list
Art Series - The Cullen
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   164 Commercial Road | Melbourne, Prahran, Stonnington, Victoria 3181, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book Direct Save 20%
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Prahran
Geelong, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Looking forward to going back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We have stayed at several boutique hotels in Melbourne and this has been the best so far. The hotel is well located near shops and public transport. The staff were excellent and went out of their way to help us. Our room, which was the cheapest available, was spacious and newly furnished. The shower and toiletries were top notch. We are fussy about beds and this one passed the test!

If you wanted a quieter room, I would ask for one away from Commercial Road. We could hear the tram dinging early in the morning and there was a very small amount of street noise at night (to be expected really).

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from street frontage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    179
    46
    17
    18
See reviews for
64
279
70
140
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This place is awesome! From the minute you walk in, bubbly reception staff make you feel at home. The staff are awesome- helpful and friendly. The hotel is gorgeous and funky. When I booked there was a chance of upgrade if available- unfortunately it wasn't, but even without it, my room was awesome- I would have believed it was an upgrade! Nothing bad to say- would happily recommend and WILL be back!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben K, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Elizaj80,

Thank you so much your your kind words, I will make sure i pass on your comments to the team on the front desk. I'm sorry we were not able to upgrade your room, but by the sounds of it you enjoyed the space anyway!!

I look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kellyville, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Stay 3 nights at this well located hotel just off chapel st. Easy access to the city via tram or train. Shopping/restaurants/bars along the Chapel St strip. Room 110 was large and stylish with signature art throughout. Gramercy bar/bistro a great place for a quick bite or drink before going out. Suited us just right!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben K, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Hi Neil43105,

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and hope you didn't do to much damage to your wallet being so close to chapel St.

I will be sure to pass your comments on to Gramercy about your time there as well.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traralgon, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

My two friends and I stayed at The Cullen in preperation for a dress-up Ball that we were attending.
In retrospect we probably wouldn't choose The Cullen to stay again as a group because the frosted glass that seperates the living/bedroom area from the bathroom & toilet leaves nothing to the imagination, which became a little difficult around toileting/showering time.
Other than that, the staff were fantastic and supportive, the room was spacious, the mini bar stocked with eccentric little goodies & we had an excellent balcony (that we didn't use because it was too chilly).
We had one incident of a man enjoying a dry-retch outside our room at 3am on the second night of our stay, but other than our room was divine and surprisingly quiet considering the party locale.

Upon our apology at check-out (a lovely late 11am) for making a mess of the room (we had some final crafting touches to add to our costumes) the male receptionist waved away our apology, offered us the room until we felt ready to leave and demanded that we leave our car in the car park to take advantage of the opportunity of free parking.

In summary: The Cullen is perfect for couples, not so much for friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben K, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Hi E M,

thanks so much for your feedback on your recent stay with us at the Cullen. It certainly does get a bit cosy in our twin rooms, but for the future we also have our Cullen Suites that offer much more space and separate bathrooms for that little bit more privacy.

I am glad to hear that you took advantage of a late check out and our extended car parking!

Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My best friend from Central Victoria and I (now a Tasmanian) stayed at the Cullen last weekend, the 15th of June to catch up and recharge! The room was lovely and the bed was so gorgeous! It was a fantastic place for us as it was so central. The room was so very quiet, I couldn't believe it as we were on the Commercial Rd side. We ate dinner downstairs and breakfast across the road (Neanderthal-AMAZING) and had a fantastic night out on Chapel street!
The service was good and as this was my second stay in an Art series hotel, I knew what to expect in the incredible Artworks of the talented Adam Cullen plastered all over the place! Loved it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben K, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Hi Cazsaunders,

so glad you enjoyed your girls weekend and were well rested when you left. I will make sure that I send your regards to the team in the restaurant and also our neighbours across the street.

Good to see you are making most out of the Art Series Group, you will have stay at the one you are missing to complete the trifecta!!

Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

From the moment we arrived (on a long weekend so very busy) staff were amazingly welcoming and knowledgeable.The room was modern and quite 'hip' with the most comfortable bed and we slept like logs. I always like a window that opens and was very happy to find one in our room and if you get a chance read the bathroom amenities with their quirky little messages. The artwork was gorgeous and it was wonderful to learn more about Cullen from the room guide and you can also book an art tour of the hotel.
The only thing that really irked me about the room was the bathroom with the frosted glass walls that you could still see through.
The location is the big winner - directly opposite the Prahran Market for some of the best local produce/gourmet treats and around the corner from Chapel Street with so many food choices.

Room Tip: I would imagine all the rooms are fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The hotel is situated in Prahran which is a bustling suburb just around the corner from nice restaurants on Greville St and Chapel St and into South Yarra for shopping and more restaurants. The area has a bit of a bohemian feel and feels very different to the more upmarket South Yarra. We arrived early in the morning and had booked for the night before to ensure we had access to our room. The room was on the 2nd floor near to the lift. Large enough for a short break and well appointed with a kitchenette, utensils etc. Not much room for clothes though. Comfy bed. The bathroom is separated from the bedroom by frosted glass - not ideal if sharing the room. We were awoken at 2.30am by banging doors, shouting etc that went on intermittently until 6am. The staff were helpful in allocating a different room further along the corridor which was slightly larger. This apparently is commonplace at the weekends and the "walking dead" we encountered on the surrounding streets early Sunday morning emphasised this is more of a party area at weekends.
In general, the front desk staff were very helpful, and will give advice re trams and directions etc
Housekeeping was hit and miss and appeared to be different people each day. Two of the girls just replaced the towels and made the bed, another girl removed all the rubbish, hoovered etc and added three mini bar items to our bill that had not been consumed. Another chap did a very thorough job on the day the regular staff missed the room completely.
There are two restaurants - The Gramercy is excellent and very popular with locals. The staff were very attentive and pleasant - food and coffee great. HuTong is also very good, huge portions and very busy every day. There is no lounge area to relax and read the paper. There are plenty places to eat if turn right up Commercial road past the fabulous Prahran market, right along Chapel street until Greville St or turn left along Chapel St towards Sth Yarra.
The 72 tram from outside the hotel takes you into the CBD. MYKI cards can be bought and loaded at the 7-11 corner of Commercial Rd and Chapel St. It's a few miles into the CBD and we walked a couple times - either in the direction of the 72 or through Sth Yarra. All in all a pleasant stay but the sister hotel The Olsen may be a better fit for business travellers or those wanting a quieter environment.

Room Tip: If visiting at the weekend, ensure you request a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Art Series - The Cullen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Cullen

Address: 164 Commercial Road | Melbourne, Prahran, Stonnington, Victoria 3181, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Stonnington > Prahran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Prahran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Cullen 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Prahran, Melbourne, The Cullen is inspired by Adam Cullen. Daring and unique, The Cullen features lashings of original artwork and prints by Australia’s most exciting contemporary artist, Adam Cullen.Sleep soundly in your Art Series Signature bed, then block out the morning or wake up to natural light and vibrant energy of Cullen works. Prepare breakfast using in room kitchenette facilities, spectacular views of Melbourne CBD, underground parking, state of the art gymnasium and two exciting restaurants ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Art Series - The Cullen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Cullen Hotel Melbourne
Art Series - The Cullen Greater Melbourne/Prahran

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Series - The Cullen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.