We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“funky and fun hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Art Series - The Cullen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Art Series - The Cullen to your Saves list
Art Series - The Cullen
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   164 Commercial Road | Melbourne, Prahran, Stonnington, Victoria 3181, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BOOK DIRECT SAVE 20%
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Prahran
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“funky and fun hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Beautiful rooms and superb location. The complementary art tour hosted by Sarah is a must do, offering a fantastic insight to the artist Adam Cullen and the amazing works on show around the hotel. From the moment you step through the doors you are greeted by the friendly staff, a big thank you to Tenille, Mel, Jessica, Matt F, Matt G and Ben for making our time at The Cullen an unforgettable experience. Both Gramercy and Hu Tong restaurants along with room service offer fantastic service and an excellent selection of yummy food (chilli wontons at Hu Tong are highly recommended). Ornate salon located in the foyer provide top notch hair dressing services owner Nathan is an absolute sweetheart and amazing stylist, resident celebrity "Harry Winston" is a real delight. Only negatives for me are the shocking fake flowers on the front desk not something you expect to see at a funky 5 star hotel, even no flowers would be a better option.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    210
    60
    20
    23
See reviews for
74
324
79
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I went down for a Saturday night from Brisbane and was recommend this place by my aunty. Im glad she did its deff my style of place. I just wish we had places like this in other areas I visit.
The reason for my trip was to see an AFL game and it worked out a treat as it was only 2 train stops away from the ground. The staff are great. Only down side we did have though was the new NY style restaurant we had the ribs and both mine and my friends where a bit dry but the choice of Japanese whisky made up for the the food.
Location wise its great. Clubs, pubs and lunge bars are only a short 1 - 15min walk depending on where you want to go.

Will be coming back again. Thank you for the stay.

Room Tip: Make sure you pre book a parking spot im sure they will have them spare but mine was the last spot a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AliciaBrownCullen, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
We wish we were all over Australia, and then you could stay at an Art Series Hotel all the time!
Cullen is a great place to stay when going to the footy, you are close enough to the MCG but far enough to enjoy edgy Prahran with all the cool bars & restaurants.
We are glad to hear that you go to experience all of it.
Cheers,
Alicia & Cullen Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuching
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Our visits to Melbourne never disappoint and this getaway was no different. My husband and I flew to Melb from Syd for a 24 hour visit for a good friend's 40th in Chapel Street. The Cullen hotel was simply wonderful. The layout and design is clever, as were the Cullen artworks featured at every turn. I was impressed with the library of art books in each room. However, what blew me away was the attention to detail - particularly in the kitchenette, down to the placement to knives in the drawer and shiny chrome - I notice this stuff! Also, loved the comfy bed/awesome shower and the thick curtains allowing for a dark room and dreamy sleep in. We will definitely be back. The Cullen is a refreshing change from the blandness of 5 star hotels. Reception was warm and friendly and allowed a much needed late check out together with providing an additional room key when we accidentally left ours in the room. The location cannot be beaten - it allowed us to enjoy Melbourne street life which is so appealing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AliciaBrownCullen, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
So lovely to read your feedback - we are very humbled!
The Cullen is definatley different from other 5 star hotels, we are little bit more edgy and in a great location, you are right about that.
We can't wait to have you back.
Cheers,
Alicia & Cullen Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

This hotel is very modern and trendy . The rooms are very well designed and the pictures in the room are awesome . I had the best few nights sleep !! The beds and pillows are the BEST !! So comfy . Thanks

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AliciaBrownCullen, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Cool Photos! We do sell the Beds and pillows (well not ours but brand new). Imagine having the BEST night sleep every night... Give us a call and we can tell you more.
Look forward to having you stay with again.
Cheers,
Alicia and Cullen Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

I've stayed in all three of the Art Series Hotels now. The Cullen is the edgiest in style with artwork that's a little more confronting and in a bit more 'present' in the room than the others. The things that keep me going back to the Art Series hotels are all present here - the great quality plunger coffee and T2 teas provided instead of the standard cheap and nasties, the great toiletries and the really comfortable and practical room set up (the mini couch and throw rug were perfect for a mid-autumn afternoon nap). We had breakfast in the restaurant downstairs and the service was great, and the food very good. What defines Art Series Hotels for me, and I noticed here for the third time in a row, is that I just don't want to leave the room once I get there - our stays are never long enough!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AliciaBrownCullen, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Next time you come and stay we will have to book you in for a Art Tour - we are running these every Saturday at 11am complimentary to our in house guests, you can get an insight to the edgy Art work of the great Adam Cullen.
We hope you can stay longer next time....
Cheers,
Alicia and The Cullen Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Cullen for a couple of nights whilst in Melbourne.
The hotel is in a great location, just a couple of minutes walk to Chapel and Greville St.
The room are well done with nice touches such as magazines and art books.
There is a kitchen in the room great for snacks and drinks!
This is a great hotel and would stay here again in a heart beat!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AliciaBrownCullen, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
What a lovely review and we would have you back in a heart beat!
The Cullen is in such a great location for shopping, eating and drinking - come back soon.
Cheers,
Alicia and Cullen Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We came here for an overnight stay after flying in from overseas and before heading back to Adelaide. We took the deluxe studio twin room which had 2 massive queen sized beds, perfect for our family of 4. Beds were comfortable (especially after experiencing a month of hard mattresses through Asia) but they squeaked, a lot, meaning that every time one of us turned over through the night we heard it. Other than that it was a breath of fresh air and a lovely welcome back to Australia. We got in late, parked our car on the street (though underground parking available), checked in effortlessly, walked to one of our favourite Italian restaurants then came back to the comfort of our room and collapsed. Have previously stayed at The Art Series-Blackman, and thought this one was just as good, just in another great Melbourne location. Must try the Olsen next time.

Room Tip: Deluxe twin room had 2 huge queen size beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AliciaBrownCullen, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Travelling through Asia sounds amazing! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the Art of Living Fearlessly at The Cullen and we were the good end to a trip.
The Deluxe Twin rooms are great for families, plenty of space and not much more than a Studio Suite to stay in for the night.
We hope you get to try out The Olsen soon.
Many Thanks,
Alicia and The Cullen team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prahran
Art Series - The Olsen
#25 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,177 reviews
Art Series - The Blackman
#13 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#1 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,347 reviews
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Series - The Cullen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Cullen

Address: 164 Commercial Road | Melbourne, Prahran, Stonnington, Victoria 3181, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Stonnington > Prahran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Prahran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Cullen 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Prahran, Melbourne, The Cullen is inspired by Adam Cullen. Daring and unique, The Cullen features lashings of original artwork and prints by Australia’s most exciting contemporary artist, Adam Cullen.Sleep soundly in your Art Series Signature bed, then block out the morning or wake up to natural light and vibrant energy of Cullen works. Prepare breakfast using in room kitchenette facilities, spectacular views of Melbourne CBD, underground parking, state of the art gymnasium and two exciting restaurants ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Art Series - The Cullen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Cullen Hotel Melbourne
Art Series - The Cullen Greater Melbourne/Prahran

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Series - The Cullen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.