We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fasntastic boutique hotel ... cool vibe and professional staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Art Series - The Cullen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Art Series - The Cullen to your Saves list
Art Series - The Cullen
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   164 Commercial Road | Melbourne, Prahran, Stonnington, Victoria 3181, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BOOK DIRECT SAVE 20%
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Prahran
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A fasntastic boutique hotel ... cool vibe and professional staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

The art of Adam Cullen might not be exactly to your taste, and it is certainly not to mine, but I loved being in a hotel that had so much colour, character and felt so unique and well defined. In fact i came to love the massive & colourful painting of the dog in my room (There are artworks throughout the entire hotel .... a real celebration)

The Cullen is truely a boutique hotel. It is funky, it has flair, it absolutely feels like youre on holiday and treating yourself to something exciting ... and the staff are wonderfully attentive and professional. The rooms (I stayed in a basic Studio) are lovely ... big, clean, well stocked and i loved having a couch to flop on.

Personally I really like the location ... just around the corner from all the cafe's , clubs and restaurants of Chapel St. and bang on the tram line for a qquick entry to either the city or out to St Kilda.

Unique, fun and prfessional ... I will certainly stay there again.

M.

Room Tip: I booked on Wotif and got a great deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mdgguy, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review, June 6, 2011
Thank you for your positive feedback on your recent stay, its fantastic to hear from someone who took the time to embrace all we have to offer.

Adam Cullen's art is bold, bright and can certainly be confronting. With 450 works throughout the property, there is certainly something to look at. All artworks are available in print if a particular painting takes your fancy. 'Growler', the work you enjoyed in your room is one of our most popular and depicts Adam's dog.

Its great to hear you got out of the hotel and experienced the local area, the guys on the front desk are always happy to point you in the right direction should you need a prompt.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Cullen when you next want to escape Sydney.

Regards,

Matt Guy
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    193
    55
    19
    21
See reviews for
67
303
75
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

I wanted a quick but relaxing overnight getaway with my partner for all the reasons above - we both lead very busy lives and whilst I work in the industry and stay in many hotels, the Cullen is just so not a hotel in the normal sense. The Cullen especially is warm, friendly, has great facilities and is right in the heart of Prahran which means, food, fun, wine and frivolity at the pace you choose it to be.

Hutong, well what can I say to that, fabulous, or for a relaxing wine and a chat the hotel restaurant is the place to be.

For us is was more room service, a glass of wine and a hand full of movies we had been wanting to get to that we never did.

Perrrrrrrrrrrrrfect.......

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mdgguy, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review, June 6, 2011
Thanks for your honest review, its always great to host fellow people from within the industry.

Im thrilled you enjoyed your 'overnight getaway from the day to day pressures', this is exactly what we love to provide. We do comprise two wonderful restaurants within the hotel, however like you said, if its wine and a movie you are after we have that too. Don't forget we are always updating our film list, be sure to check out the next missed blockbuster when we see you again.

Regards,

Matt Guy
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

I just stayed at The Cullen for my 1st time this week for work. Nothing but good things to say - Cool hotel in a great location with fantastic staff! Close to great bars, cafes, shopping around Chapel St. Nothing was a problem for the staff and I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mdgguy, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review, June 6, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We pride ourselves on providing a unique experience for all guests, whether they are here for a leisurely weekend away or a business trip. Its great to hear you got out to experience the area, Prahran is vibrant and ever-changing suburb full of eateries and drinkeries, just chat to the staff on the desk to find out their recommendations and favourites.

Next time you are here, feel free to speak to our on-site Business Development Manager to discuss ways we can enhance your stay when you travel for business.

Regards,

Matt Guy
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

Can't reccommend this Hotel enough. From the booking to the check in to the friendly personable room staff. ( I hope you get to meet Marissa the Chilean lady she's adorable), the experience was brilliant.
It's not like any other Hotel so go there for a new experience and just hang. Get a Balcon Suite too!!!!
Close to ALL Prahran's pleasures. Shopping, clubs, bars. People watching and groovy Greville St.
You won't regret it!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mdgguy, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review, June 6, 2011
Thank you for your wonderful review.

'Just Go There' could end up our new marketing campaign. It certainly seems like we hit all the points during your stay and I'm thrilled that you found the hotel and our staff welcoming and friendly.

It was recent comments such as yours that ensured Marisol, one of our Housekeeping Room Attendants received a commendation by senior management of the Art Series group. I would like to thank you for your kind words on behalf of Marisol, all agree the award was certainly well deserved.

We look forward to seeing you upon your next stay,

Matt Guy
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

Not the biggest room ever, but fantastically funky with great attention to detail and good use made of the space, enhanced by the use of mirrors. Also loved the Adam Cullen artwork (and the art books and Cullen doco on the TV were a nice touch). Staff were very friendly and location is great.
Bed was very luxurious but very soft , so if like me you like a hard bed you may wake up with a sore back (although of course that is a personal preference thing). Only slight negative is that the bathroom wall is glass (bottom half frosted), so if you have a partner that needs to put the bathroom light on several times during the night, one is woken up. I've seen this in a few newer hotels lately - whilst it may help the room look bigger it is not very practical??

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mdgguy, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review, June 6, 2011
Thank you for your review. Funky is one way to descibe us! The design of The Cullen rooms does make great use of the space available, with the majority given to the bedroom and kitchenette area. Our frosted bathrooms provide natural light and are a backdrop to the dramatic Cullen etching in every room. Im glad you enjoyed the in-room art library, comprising three books on Adam Cullen and many on other Australian artists.

Our bedding is part of the Art Series Art Of Sleep bedding and linen range produced here in Australia. To ensure guests have the best sleep possible, we offer a comprehensive pillow menu for guests who have a preference. Housekeeping is also available 24/7 to assist guests with anything to make their room more comfortable.

We hope to see you back with us again soon,

Matt Guy
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
332 reviews 332 reviews
179 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
334 helpful votes 334 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

RECOMMENDED: Would certainly return, nice experience in-line with other comments here. Trendy hotel with courtesy staff. Large rooms, nicely styled and generally well illuminated. Windows ensure little street noise and most open to allow fresh air. Bedding comfortable. Bath area well illuminataed, a tad small, but nicely styled. Nice neighborhood (head to the left from lobby door to find a number of cute spots) and easy transit routes to the city.

A handful of negatives prevent me giving this a 5* rating though. Tepid hot water, it was warm enough but not warm enough! Second, the Hu Tong restaurant (which has a direct door from the hotel) had very rude staff, though the food was good. This restaurant is not likely owned by the hotel, nonetheless, the poor attitude reflected poorly on the hotel.

Otherwise, great experience and certainly wouldn't hesitate to book again!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mdgguy, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review, June 6, 2011
Thanks for your helpful review. We pride ourselves on maintaining a high and consistent level of service at The Cullen, as represented by our review ratings. It is always great to hear honest feedback from our guests.

We have designed the hotel with the guest in the forefront of our minds. The opening windows, extensive natural light (including to the bathroom) and quality soundproofing were important elements implemented during construction. I do apologise that the water temperature was not satisfactory during your stay, I have already instructed our Maintenance team to check and monitor this, especially during the colder Melbourne months! I have also passed along your comments to the management of Hu Tong, they pride themselves on their reputation as a premium venue and are certainly responsive to guest feedback.

Im glad you enjoyed the neighbourhood and had an overall pleasant stay. Prahran is such a diverse suburb, its possible to take a wrong turn and find a gem of a restaurant or bar. The guys on the desk will be happy to share their favourites next time you are here. We look forward to seeing you back again soon!

Kind Regards,

Matt Guy
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cannonvale , Whitsunday's
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

I had to travel to melbourne from north Queensland to go to the Alfred hospital for a procedure & the staff ( front desk , maintinence , and resturant staff) where the best I & my husband have ever had and we have traveled around the world. The staff were friendly , very helpful , I am a talker and loved that the staff would actually engage in conversation with me. I would reccomend The Cullen to everyone.
M Thanks go out to the staff
Valerie McMahan Kaden

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mdgguy, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review, June 6, 2011
Dear Valerie,

I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at The Cullen. Travelling for a hospital visit is never a pleasant experience, I hope we were able to take your mind off it while you were here. The guys on the desk certainly love to get to know our guests, feel free to drop past for a chat next time you are with us.

Wishing you well up north,

Matt Guy
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Art Series - The Cullen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Cullen

Address: 164 Commercial Road | Melbourne, Prahran, Stonnington, Victoria 3181, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Stonnington > Prahran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Prahran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Cullen 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Prahran, Melbourne, The Cullen is inspired by Adam Cullen. Daring and unique, The Cullen features lashings of original artwork and prints by Australia’s most exciting contemporary artist, Adam Cullen.Sleep soundly in your Art Series Signature bed, then block out the morning or wake up to natural light and vibrant energy of Cullen works. Prepare breakfast using in room kitchenette facilities, spectacular views of Melbourne CBD, underground parking, state of the art gymnasium and two exciting restaurants ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Splendia, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Art Series - The Cullen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Cullen Hotel Melbourne
Art Series - The Cullen Greater Melbourne/Prahran

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Series - The Cullen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.